Customer Reviews for

Percy Jackson and the Olympians 5-Book Boxed Set

Average Rating 5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT!!!

AWESOME!!!!! love this set!!!!!!

posted by Balina on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very good series,the writing style is unique,but not entirely or

Very good series,the writing style is unique,but not entirely original.Still,I'm a BIG fan of the half-bloods!

posted by BookFanaticMB on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT!!!

    AWESOME!!!!! love this set!!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!!!

    I loved the Percy Jackson series!! I saw the movie first and couldn't get into the books at first but once I got through the first one I was hooked! It's very exciting and compels you to keep reading. When I finished the last one I was so sad (but I hat ending any series.)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Very entertaining!

    The book series starts out with Percy Jackson, a young man who lives with his mother and abusive stepfather (he has never known his father). While on a field trip, he is attacked by his teacher turned monsteresque creature. He defeats her, but soon finds himself being attacked by all types of 'mythological' creatures. In a desperate attempt to save him, his mother and best friend bring him to a camp called, Camp Half-Blood, where Percy learns that he is the son of the Greek god Poseidon. This series details the adventures of Percy, his friends, and his enemies, as they struggle with being a demi-god (half god, half human) in a world where monsters are all too real.
    This is a very entertaining series. It teaches the reader about Greek Mythology, but brings the characters into a modern perspective. The one complaint I have is that the Greek gods and goddesses tend to ignore their demi-god children except when it is convenient for them. The gods and goddesses brush it off by saying that they have "duties" but never explain what those are. They have been around for ages; they know what makes babies and yet they still have children with no intention of taking care of them. They use the same excuses all deadbeat parents use. I would like for them to step up and change a bit or for them to at least acknowledge that they are being irresponsible. After all, they're deities! Would it be too much to ask that they pay child support?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    Currently I am almost 17. I have read the first novel at least t

    Currently I am almost 17. I have read the first novel at least two times. When I fist started to read the series, I couldn't get into it. I believed that
    I was a horrible reader. My mother read them to me with my little sister who was about nine at the time. That means I was 13. I repeat I hated school, and was a horrible student, I started to believe that I couldn't read at all. After my mom read the series out loud to me and my sister, I couldn't help my self but read it again. Since then I have picked up multiple novels and teenage books. Surprisingly I now even enjoy the novels they make us read for school!
    I love Greek Mythology now. I even have my best friend who wouldn't dare under normal circumstances to pick them up. She couldn't stop reading it. I recommend this book to anyone. By the way, I was tested for dyslexia when I was in fourth grade, it turned out I was negative, but it also turned out that I had ADHD. Who knows maybe I am a demigod. (Just kidding). My mom thinks I think that. (Not kidding).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!! Best series I have read in ages

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!! Best series I have read in ages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Recommend

    It was a great read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Great Read!

    I bought this book series for my 10 year old son. He absolutely loved the movie and decided to read the series. Its a wonderful way to get your kiddos to read and learn to love to read. I might even read it myself. He is absolutely excited about reading just to see what happens. I recommend it to anyone who is struggling with reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Fantastic!!!

    I bought the whole series for my little sister's birthday and I ended up reading the whole thing myself. Absolutely love this, a MUST read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I got these books for my 17 yr. old son who is not fond of reading but can not put these books down. If your child is intested in greek mythology would highly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    The book series is GREAT!!! READ IT!!!

    The box came to me a lot damaged... The books are in a great condition but the box is a LOT damaged and "bruised".. that made me kind of sad... :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Very good series,the writing style is unique,but not entirely or

    Very good series,the writing style is unique,but not entirely
    original.Still,I'm a BIG fan of the half-bloods!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Must-Read for all ages!

    One of the best series I have ever read.
    Page-turning books that leave the reader wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    THIS IS AN AMAZING BOOK SERIES. Unlike other books where the fir

    THIS IS AN AMAZING BOOK SERIES. Unlike other books where the first book would be good but the rest are boring, this series is amazing the whole way through. NONE os the books were boring. They were all good and i just finished the last book and now I'm onto the lost hero. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2014

    I'm an 8th grader and I first read the Percy Jackson books 2 yea

    I'm an 8th grader and I first read the Percy Jackson books 2 years ago in 6th grade. We read the first book and I fell in love with it. Before 
    that I hated to read, never wanted to do it. My parents tried to make me read Harry Potter a few years before (which is a series I now love)
    and I wouldn't do it. These books opened me up into the world of reading. I remember having to wait for House of Hades and Blood of 
    Olympus( which are part of the sequel series) and just wanting them to be out. Blood of Olympus is the final book involving the characters
    and their adventures and I remember crying once it was over. Just because these books that I had grown with had ended. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    I am a High School teacher that advises a book club at my school

    I am a High School teacher that advises a book club at my school.  We read this entire series one year and had a great time.  Fantastic writing and story.  I cannot recommend this book enough for young adults and adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    The first book got me into the PJ series. You will be addicted.

    The first book got me into the PJ series. You will be addicted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great gift choice

    My 10-year-old cousin screamed with joy when he opened his Christmas gift! He just loves this series - had already read one but was eager to read the others. I am happy with the Barnes and Noble age-appropriate recommendations. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Anyone who hasn't read this series missed out on a lot!

    All five books are really great! After my child started reading books from Rick Riordan, she developed an interest in mythology. The first time she read is books, she was in third grade. Now, three years later, she's waiting for The House of Hades to come out. The set is only the start of an endless story. Also, culture and mythology is put in the series, so kids learn too! Really get these if you haven't, and they'll be great for your kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    LOVE!!!!!

    LOVE!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Awesome Series!

    I read this series because some of my students were and I loved every page of it! A must-read for Harry Potter fans. I bought the boxed set for my classroom and haven't seen them since because the kids are passing them around like hot potatoes. This is a fantastic series for kids and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3