Customer Reviews for

Percy Jackson and the Olympians pbk 3-book

Average Rating 4.5
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Just For Kids! !

    I heard about this story and how amazing it was but I was hesitant to pick it up because of the age range. Most of the reviewers say from 10-13. While of coarse it wasn't a challenging read I felt the language and writing of the book did not feel overtly simple or in any way distracting, in fact, the writing was better than a lot of novels I've read with a higher age range! So I just wanted to let people know the story defies age! Fascinating read! The story is completely enthralling, suspenseful and humorous to boot! One of my favorites!

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    Loved every minute reading this. Hope there will be more.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Great book for my son

    Bought for my son he loved it finished the whole series in less than a month.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    this was a great book!!

    im 17 yrs old and i found my sister reading this(shes i8n the 5th grade) and she introduced me to the series it was very smartly written. i have studied ancient greek gods and monsters and i loved the whole spin it was so thrilling. lots of amazing and thrilling adventures in this series. it is very educational and fun. if your a parent looking for a book to give to your child this is it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Reading!

    Anyone interested in Greek mythology, adventure, or fantasy will enjoy these books. I highly recommend this series to Harry Potter fans of any age. I know people age 11 through 62 who have enjoyed these magical books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Out of this world!

    This is an absolutely fantastic series. My 11 year old devoured it and my 7 year old loves it as well. I must confess that I read the series and I truly enjoyed it. We can¿t wait for the next book and the movie! There is fast action and adventure, while all along learning about mythology. Wonderful!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Books!

    Books like these are great for the young and old. They speak to the reader and include you in on their adventure. Anyone who loves Mythology will love these books. Definitely two thumbs up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series!

    I bought this set for my son for Christmas as he asked for them by name. For a child that gives us trouble because he doesn't want to waste his time reading when he could be playing computer/Wii/iPod games he LOVES this series. He read all three within the first month of getting them. Bonus: These books are on his school's Accelerated Reader list for which he gets graded on and can earn extra credit. It's a win-win situation! He will be very sad when he completes the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Masterful blend of fantasy and mythology

    This is truly one of my favorite book sets ever. I love the tale of young man discovering his father is a god let alone lord of all water Poseidon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book!

    I read the first book and loved it! It has a huge twist toward the end and 100% makes you want to read the second one. Percy Jackson isnt the nice already knows everything hero he is unpredictable and enjoyable along with this wonderful series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great for Middle School Boys

    My son loves these book. He has read all five and after re-reading the 1st book to refresh for his required summer reading, he continued a 2nd read on the entire set. I have to force him to put the book down at night.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Charming and captivating

    If you have any love for the Harry Potter series, you'll definitely enjoy this series. It parallels, just instead dealing with the Gods instead of magic. Though I admit I didn't finish each book in only one sitting like some Harry Potter books, it didn't take me much longer. Safe for children while still enjoyable for adults.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    This is a great series!

    We started out by buying the first one for our daughter and she loved it so much that she asked her father to read it, then I read it. We have read the whole series except for the last one, of which we are waiting for it to come out in paperback. We bought the boxed set as a gift for my daughter's friend. This series is totally enthralling! Could not put the book down. The end of each chapter made you want to continue to the next chapter and so on. Highly recommend!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    Bought for my son - I finished the series before him

    We picked the Lightning Thief up at the beginning of the summer for my son. Thought it would be a good series to start while he waits for the next Sisters Grimm book. I read the first page and was also hooked. He is now on book 4 and I actually finished the series before him!

    The writing is quick paced, funny and full of adventure. I love learning about the Greek mythology. You are learning without even knowing it with these engaging stories. I didn't realize how much I was picking up until I heard a program on mythology and found out how many stories were familiar from the Percy books.

    Looking forward to the movie next spring!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An incredible journey into Greek mythology

    I am major when it comes to Greek mythology. So far, I am two books in the series and getting ready for "The Titan's Curse". I am diagnosed with ADHD, Riordan saying that having either ADHD or dyslexia means that I might be a demigod, makes your imagination wider and more bigger. I enjoy this series, and I recommend this to those who enjoy Greek mythology. I cannot wait for "The Last Olympian". It is gonna be Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series

    This was a great story. One of those ones you just don't want to stop reading. The author does a wonderful job describing people and places, so it's easy to actually picture it in your mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Best way to spend winter break....10 year old son.

    My 10 year old son loved loved these books! I just love that he loves to read, but seeing him immersed in the books over his winter break was just a thrill for me as a mother. He stayed up late just to read was done with ALL 3 books in less than a week! I hope I can read them too someday from what he says they sound like a thrill a minute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Awesome series for kids

    I bought these book for my son and I to read together. He loved the movie and I thought I could interest him in reading with these books. He's really enjoying them and I love the quality time!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    best read in a long time

    i found this series very interesting and i am a teenager. it had easy to understand but a twisty and turny plot that keeps you coming back. riordan has a way with words that just makes you want to read his books over and over again. GREAT SERIES!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful read!

    How can you go wrong with this boxed set? The books are great and if you are a Percy Jackson fan, or not, you will soon be entertained with these incredible stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9