Customer Reviews for

Perfect 10 Diet: 10 Key Hormones That Hold the Secret to Losing Weight and Feeling Great-Fast!

Average Rating 3.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

The Most accuarte Book Ever Written

I have 50 pounds to lose and have failed on every diet. I've had my fair share of low-fat and low-carb diets, but the Perfect 10 Diet gave me the answer; they all disruped my hormones and slowed my metabolism. This book has changed my life. I really mean it, and in 1 we...
I have 50 pounds to lose and have failed on every diet. I've had my fair share of low-fat and low-carb diets, but the Perfect 10 Diet gave me the answer; they all disruped my hormones and slowed my metabolism. This book has changed my life. I really mean it, and in 1 week. I lost 4 pounds already and feel so much better. I have more energy. I can't believe how I was poisoning myeslf. I was eating all the wrong types of foods that I thought were healthy, but are REALLY dangerous. I have a lot of weight to lose but think I can do it now that I have the right information. I simply can't find anythig wrong with this book, it is getting excellent reviews all over the internet and in diet websites reviews. And I can see why. I highly recommend it for weight loss or health improvement.

posted by jimfisher on January 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Need money for this

I liked his ideas very much but implementing them is another story-organic food at every meal gets expensive and it doesn't last long. What he says makes a lot of sense but it's the money. Being on a VERY tight budget just will not allow all the food to be organic-as m...
I liked his ideas very much but implementing them is another story-organic food at every meal gets expensive and it doesn't last long. What he says makes a lot of sense but it's the money. Being on a VERY tight budget just will not allow all the food to be organic-as much as I wish it could be.

posted by 9765776 on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Do not buy the sample!

    58 pages of thanks, acknowledgements and useless words. Waste of your money

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Interesting, good information...

    Recommended to me by a friend fighting cancer. She highly recommendes the diet for life not for weight loss.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Best book I ever read for life changing results

    Am almost finished reading this... all about balancing your hormones. The scientific research makes so much sence. I trully value this information and wish everyone would read it and realize how easy it is to use. Already lost 3 pounds in 1 week! Thankyou Dr Aziz!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    TO CLARIFY "ReeseP"

    This ingrate neither read nor owns the book or the CD. He/she/it originally posted under the book, then, when attacked by SEVERAL readers, switched his/her/its "review" to the audio.
    Repeat: He/she/it neither owns, read or bought the book or the CD, but has an negative agenda to slander Dr. Aziz. Please go to the BOOK version of The Perfect 10 Diet to see what others have to say about the book and about "ReeseP"---originally posted as "Anonymous" on March 20, 7:15 PM.
    WE CAUGHT YOU!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Basic Advice

    For an author who opposes unnecessary additives in our food, this book contained a lot of filler!

    It had good basic advice and the diet did help me feel fuller, while losing weight, but much of what was written could've been left out while maintaining the diet's integrity, and, in fact, more practical day-to-day menus would have been more helpful.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Easy diet to adopt

    I purchased this book because I have severe headaches that no medications seem to help. I liked his idea of eating to balance hormones. I guess I've known for a while that I should give up processed foods and have tried to a couple of times without success. On this diet it was easy. I think because you're encouraged to eat natural fats so you feel full. I started wanting to drop about 20 pounds. In three weeks on the first phase, I lost 8 pounds. I haven't weighed myself in a couple of weeks, so I don't know the progress, but my clothes are looser. I do feel more energetic. My only complaint with this book is that he tells you you need to eat a 40-20-40 ratio of carbs-protein-fat (unless you exercise a lot) and states that you'll magically reach this. He is light on menus for the day that actually get you to this magic ratio. He says you don't need to track your intake, but I do and it is very hard for me to reach that ratio. With decreased bread, potatoes, sugar, it's just difficult to reach the ratios. I'm also nervous about the recommendation to eat full fat dairy (such as milk). I'm having my cholesterol checked. All in all, though, it's a diet that keeps you feeling full and allows you to eat a wide variety of foods, with only a few "evils"--white flour and sugar. I've been on this plan for about a month and it's been very easy to stick to so far. It does turn a lot of conventional advice on its ear, so be prepared to shake up your thinking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Interesting Approach, But Is Anything Perfect

    I decided to buy this book and finished reading it two weeks ago. I have been on the "diet" for two weeks. I put quotes on that word, because I do not feel as if I am on a restrictive type of a diet. I also like the recipes. I changed a few around, but they meet my needs. I did not go on the scale yet, but I can tell I have lost weight. It was difficult at the beginning. I have about 50 lbs. to lose, so I am in no hurry to either be disappointed or happy by a number on a scale. I can tell I lost by my clothes and energy level, things like that, not numbers. What are number anyway?

    I am not interested in being a perfect 10 in looks, that would require plastic surgery, but this doctor does touch on valid points in terms of being in perfect 10 health. The hormone concept is a new one. As I said, it is an interesting approach, but can anything be perfect. If your health is pefect, does it change your life. Heath-wise, yes, other ways, no. We all more than our health.

    To conclude to those that consider reviews of books to be helpful or not helpful, (and what is the point if you make up your mind indpendent of any review from a stranger, right?), I would say to you all: yes, I would recommend the book. I seemed to have taken the doctor a long time to write and do it, so what is my rush?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Not so much a diet book, rather a book filled with valuable info

    Not so much a diet book, rather a book filled with valuable information regarding the effects the foods we eat have on our bodies. With the knowledge in this book you will know what foods are good and which are bad - allowing you to make intelligent decisions when you need to about what you put in your mouth. For me, it's more about knowing what not to eat - eliminate those and everything else is 'on the list'. Most straightforward "diet" book I have read to date. Bottom line is to eat wholesome food and get up and MOVE, it really is the only way!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Really loved this book. I thought it was very interesting to lea

    Really loved this book. I thought it was very interesting to learn about these 10 hormones that control so much more than just fat and wrinkles. It was educational and inspiring all at the same time. I like how the author, who is also a doctor, tells his patient's stories so that we have proof of how this diet has changed people's lives in more ways than just weight. Their health, well being and overall future health is improved from this diet. Very good book that i have recommended to all my friends and it has changed my outlook on food and so many processed ingredients. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Recommended

    A very easy diet to follow, just don't eat anything that is processed. Very similar to the paleo diet. A good portion of the book is devoted to the reasons why certain foods should be avoided. Like all diets you are the one that can make it work or fail. A lot of good info even if you choose to follow a different path.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    The book has some interesting and very good information about our current sources of food affect our chemical balance and hormones. Much of it eye-opening and little known. Advocates organic when at all possible.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    Spread the word!

    Working in the Cardiac Cath Lab and "fixing broken hearts," as we like to tell people, I found myself in the position of a hypocrite, telling my patients that they needed to take care of themselves while I was eating pizza, cookies, and candy, just to name a few. Having a medical background, I found Dr. Aziz's information very intriguing; it all made sense, so I decided to give it a try.

    While I'm only a week in, I've already lost four pounds and FEEL GREAT! Organic food just tastes cleaner and better, and I can completely tell a difference. My palate is actually acquiring a taste for raw, organic vegetables (something I thought would NEVER happen). While organic can be a bit more expensive than conventional foods, it sure beats the heck out of potential medical bills.

    I would recommend this book to everyone! I hope it catches on, because I'd really love to see people live their best lives possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    It makes sense and I can live with this diet!

    I am not a big diet follower, but I am a bit overweight and I have tried a few diets like Atkins and South Beach. Even though I lost some weight (never my target), i always ended up bored out of my mind on these diets. As I read the Perfect 10 Diet, I felt like it was really common sense and addressed a more balanced health goal and menu rather than the extremes of "no carbs!" I also liked that it promoted good fats as part of a healthy diet because I always felt that "low fat" diets were a fraud. Lastly, the section on hormones and their role in health was spot on for me since I have hypothyroidism and getting my thyroids back in balance through medication has made a BIG difference in my ability to lose and keep weight off. So I think this book is worth your read. Thanks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Of Course!

    This book is great. I recommend this to anyone who is concerned about what they eat and how it affects your total body and mind.
    I'm so glad to eat whatever I want and not feel guilty about it.
    I have also said farewell to cravings, something that has plagued me for much of my adult life.
    This is a smart, practical guide to health and smart eating.
    Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    This diet worked for me and my husband far better than any diet

    This diet worked for me and my husband far better than any diet we have tried. It really does boost your metabolism. We were losing almost a pound a day during the first three weeks of the diet. It was easy, we were never hungry, and we had energy and felt great. Giving up wine for three weeks was our biggest challenge (we love wine), but we did it. In the second three week period, we lost even more. And then in the maintenance phase, we never gained back a pound for two years. We learned how to eat better for life and gave up a lot of bad stuff we had been eating. And we don't miss it anymore. This is training on how to eat for life and health and weight loss as needed. Nothing else worked like this. We learned why we should eat the way we should and totally bought in. This is for intelligent people who will get the rationale for how to eat. Follow it to the letter and you will lose so much so fast you won't believe it. And keep it off if you eat the right way from then on. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Worked for 1 week only

    I read this book cover to cover, and I was so happy to begin the program/diet. I went shopping to buy organic fruits, veggies, chicken, fish, and recommended fats. I highlighted the grocery list in my Nook, and I only bought was on the list, never cheating once. The first week I lost 5 pounds, and I was very excited, however, with any diet, the first 5-10 pounds lost is excess water weight.

    In this second week, I still followed the diet religously...never once cheating. On day 2 of week 2, I gained 1-1/2 pounds, and I thought how? On day 3 of week 2, I gained another 1-1/2 pounds, and again I asked myself how? Today, I gained another pound, and I'm rolling mad.

    I swear, I have followed the diet religously, and I have re-read all of my highlighted bookmark and note pages to try to figure out how all of the weight came back. I know it's not from excess eater due to time of month because I don't have these anymore.

    I take Synthroid due to radiated thyroid gland. I do not use excess salt except for a pinch of seasalt on my eggs.

    I cannot for the life of me understand how I can lose 5 pounds on week 1, and gain it all back in week 2. I'm ready to throw in the towel, and just eat organic fruits, veggies, chicken, turkey, fish, and gluten free brown grains to see if that is better than this plan.

    If any of you who have read this book had the same experience as me, I'd love to hear your thoughts.

    Overall, this book was very informative, but too much repitition on many subjects. I would give it 5 stars if it actually worked, and if you could convert the ebook to .pdf format so that you could actually print out the grocery list, daily food log sheets, and recipes and menus. I've tried to convert this book to .pdf format with a successful conversion program I have on my computer, but this ebook must be locked so that it can't be converted.

    Once again, this is another one of the latest and greatest lose weight quickly books that will lose people's interest after they've tried it and spent a small fortune buying all organic food and supplements from various health foods stores only to find out it's yet another scam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Great idea

    Some great ideas in the book, will not be able to do everything expected but can give parts of it a try for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Tayler

    Okayy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Jax

    "See ya there"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Read This!

    Really makes you question everything we've been taught!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7