Customer Reviews for

Perfect Crime

Average Rating 3.5
( 767 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(206)

3 Star

(183)

2 Star

(111)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

A Good Read!

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!

posted by 7142666 on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Click me D;

Alright. This book was wayyyyyyyyyyy too short. I got engrossed and then it was like Bam! Books over and i was like -.- screw you. Love the author. Looking forward to a sequel.

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    A Good Read!

    VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!

    41 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    great free short story!

    short read but really enjoyable

    37 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    great

    awesome book for free and very short. definitely worth my time.

    30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    I really liked this. Since I'm familiar with all the locations mentioned, it was an added bonus.

    13 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    :o

    I thought this was a great book!! It was short, but this book had me hooked right from the beging!! I would recomend this book to anyone who likes crime stories. Can't wait to read other books!!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Really Really Good

    Excellent short story!!! Well worth taking the time to read. Looking forward to more from this author

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Great short story!

    The story gets very intense and keeps the suspense throughout its 50 pages.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Good

    I thought it was a little too short though

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Intresting

    This book sounds great mmmmm

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Crime Does NOT pay

    excellent but to short

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    The Perfect Crime is the second short story I have read by Jack

    The Perfect Crime is the second short story I have read by Jack Erickson (the first being The Stalker) and I was not disappointed. The author has a remarkable gift for taking a small narrative and turning it into an exciting page turner. While the story is only about 20 pages in length, the author portrays the essence of the characters and engages the reader in a stimulating account of murder, turmoil, and mystery.
    The Perfect Crime, written in first person by the main character, delves into what happens to a woman scorned and how she chose to handle her angst against a philandering husband. I was very impressed with The Perfect Crime. It takes a lot of talent to take a small chronicle and expand on the story so the reader is not left with many questions. The reader does not get a lot of information on the background of the characters. However, I have to say that the lack of extraneous information made the story more enjoyable. The author captured the emotions of the characters perfectly, and I could experience Mrs. Harding’s point of view through the author’s writing. I was impressed by the final and surprising twist.
    Mr. Erickson has a talent for taking what could be a long, drawn out novel into a succinct and intriguing mystery that needs no further explanation. I recommend this novella and am looking forward to reading more from the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Highly recommended this book

    I enjoyed the plot. Can't wait to read more from this author.Note why to they always get caught!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Nice, Quick, Thrilling Read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Hey

    I need a nook friend text me yur email adress at 6789012602

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    I liked it !

    I'm glad she got busted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Fun read!

    A great writer always a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! This was probably one of the better murder mysteries I've r

    Wow! This was probably one of the better murder mysteries I've read in a long time. It's a short story but you can not put the book down! It starts off with the clinical mindset of an intelligent engineer. I'm embarrassed to admit that by the way the introduction was written, I expected it to be a male character. I was pleasantly surprised to find out it was a female character.

    From the beginning the tone of the reader is very logical and cold in describing how she planned to murder her husband. Set in San Francisco, Cheryl is a UC Berkeley engineering alumni who works for a high powered software firm. She suspects her less than successful husband of cheating and sets out to drive from Burbank, CA to Marin,Ca to confirm her suspicions. For those who aren't familiar with California, it's basically a drive from Los Angeles (southern California) to San Francisco (northern California) which makes it about a 12 hour drive! She trucks out the drive and what she does when she gets there is shocking. Trust me, it's important to the plot.

    The detail of the murder is described and explained in everyday terms and it helps that there is really very little dialogue. It is mainly a short story monologue. The end of the book is shocking and nerve wracking and had my heart pounding. The only thing I probably would have preferred would be that there was a greater amount of time that passed between the murder and the climax. I felt that it was a bit too fast as far as the chronological time frame for me in that sense. It manages to be both heart pounding and coldly sterile in the way that only a murder mystery can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    like it

    this was one of the thing that i thought of but she was so good about the perfect crime and the way she have done it had been devessse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Nice

    Nice story and plot line. Interesting, quick read without language or sex. Well written and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Short and sweet

    Amazing short story. Ending was pretty basic, but a 5 overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10