BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Perfect Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Real Gem of a book

Best book I've read in a long time and I am always amazed how well Paul Evans writes. I am a real fan of his .

posted by 997030 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A not so perfect book

This is the first book by Evans I have read. Are all of his characters so stupid? After the book's success all Allyson can do is whine that she never sees enough of her husband. What if he was in the Navy or Army and gone for 6 months to a year? Her father did not r...
This is the first book by Evans I have read. Are all of his characters so stupid? After the book's success all Allyson can do is whine that she never sees enough of her husband. What if he was in the Navy or Army and gone for 6 months to a year? Her father did not raise her that way, and her early behavior is not that way. So this character is extremely inconsistent. Robert is no smarter. I started out feeling sorry for him having to put up with Allyson's behavior. But then he starts thinking about 6 bedroom houses on the east bench. Get real. He sells 1 book for 125K, has no idea for a second book, has no job, was fired from his last full time job, and he is thinking of investing in a million dollar house. I quit reading at this point. Just couldn't handle the stupidity of the characters.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Real Gem of a book

    Best book I've read in a long time and I am always amazed how well Paul Evans writes. I am a real fan of his .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    A perfect book for long flight

    I started reading it on a flight to Asia from LAX. I could not put it down as pages turned so smoothly and the story went right thru a long 14 hours flight journey on a tight space for me. Unfortunatelly a bit lacked of exciting twists or turns I was hoping for, though his plain, easy, simple style suited right well with the characters. Lots of repeating news for his famed book-tours/interviews that I thought it was a bit old. Not sure if I could pick it up again I will leave it to my old pile of a small book mountain. Or, I will find a new home for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    A not so perfect book

    This is the first book by Evans I have read. Are all of his characters so stupid? After the book's success all Allyson can do is whine that she never sees enough of her husband. What if he was in the Navy or Army and gone for 6 months to a year? Her father did not raise her that way, and her early behavior is not that way. So this character is extremely inconsistent. Robert is no smarter. I started out feeling sorry for him having to put up with Allyson's behavior. But then he starts thinking about 6 bedroom houses on the east bench. Get real. He sells 1 book for 125K, has no idea for a second book, has no job, was fired from his last full time job, and he is thinking of investing in a million dollar house. I quit reading at this point. Just couldn't handle the stupidity of the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of Evans' best books!

    I really enjoyed this book, as a short light read about a struggling author who finds fame and success and yet changes his personal life and is about to lose it all. Makes you think about those things which are precious and dear to your heart. Robert has a wonderful wife, daughter and gets fired from his job and unable to find a job, (feels as though he has to prove himself, based on his relationship with his father) and turns to his love of writing. After many rejections, he finally catches a break with much success; however, in the process he lets down his family, until a stranger appears with a mysterious message which changes his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Another good one from Richard Evans!

    I loved this book! It was another one of his books that I didn't want to put down. I laughed and cried. I thought it really touched on how people really act and feel about life. Very touching and clever book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended= yes you must check it out?

    I started reading his books about 2 months ago now I can't put them down. I loved this book. Make sure you have a box of tissues though when you read it. I read this book in about six hours. Loved it so much. Read the rest of them also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Terrific book!

    This was a great book! I highly recommend it to all. It reminds us how short and precious life really is and that we should all count our blessings for each day that we are here to share those special moments together. Enjoy, for God has blessed us with family and love ones that are only here for such a short time. Tomorow is not promised to any of us whether we realize it or not. MRS.D.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Another thought provoking book

    This is an excellent book. It allowed me to open my eyes to using my passion for writing in a way that allows me to not lose my other passion for family. I enjoy everything Richard Paul Evans writes and every year I give 6 or more of his books as gifts. This has to rate as one of my all time favorites. It reminds us, that we can discover our passion and lose what is most important to us or we can balance our lives. Take a peek in the life of promoting a book and step into another great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    Predictable

    A synopsis of this book is included in the other reviews so I will forgo repeating it. I do see by reading the other reviews that I am in the minority regarding my opinion on this book. All story lines have the potential to be exciting reads if the story and the characters are richly developed. Unfortunately, neither is in this book. This leaves it being nothing more than a fine book to read on the beach. However, I read it as a book to discuss and, quite frankly, found nothing to discuss. The story was quite predictable. Average couple totally in love, couldn't be happier. Then, circumstances lead him to write a book which becomes more successful than anything he could have imagined and brings him thousands of (mostly female) adoring fans. (oh, oh, looks like I'm including the synopsis anyway). He's now paying attention to everyone except his wife, so he's no longer the greatest husband to have ever lived. She's no longer the greatest wife to have ever lived because she's complaining about it, so he goes searching elsewhere. It was also obvious where the 'angel', the stranger who knew all about him, was getting his information, and take my word for it, I'm not that smart. Besides a predicatable story, the characters were not well developed at all. The best way I can describe it is actually included in this book. Mr. Evans notes that a review given to his fictional author describes his book as '...'trite, poorly written and an unabashed yank of emotional strngs.'' I was not surprised later in the book to learn that the fictional author's favorite group is Styx--a band you might listen to with some degree of satisfaction but has no real emotional depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Great read!

    I love a book I can't put down and also where the characters seem to become a part of my life. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    SO REALISTIC

    Picked this up at the Library and read it in 3 nights. I haven't read a book this engaging in years. I had to read every book he has written and was not disappointed in any of them. Each one was better than the last. It's best if you read them in order given, but not necessary.Mr Evans really knows how to hold you interest! They were all fantastic. How will I ever wait until Oct, 2005 for the 'Sunflower'?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    A 'Perfect Read'

    Wonderful book about love and how fame and fortune are not all they are cracked up to be! We all hope for that kind of love in our lives and once found sometimes we forget what we have...thank goodness someone reminded him! I think I actually shed a tear!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    New Year, New Birth

    What a rivoting book. I started it last night and couldn't put it down. Got up first thing this morning to finish it. One I won't loan out as I will read it again. This book makes one stop and think about their own life... What if we only had 40 days? How would we spend them? The writings of Evans makes you feel as though you know him personally. One Author I would love to meet and talk to. He truely has a gift with words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    His best since The Christmas Box!

    I lost my husband a little over two years ago and didn't think I could cry any more when reading a book or watching a movie. Somehow I felt that I had cried all my tears. This book gave me a good cry and I felt so refreshed. It has such a message for us all. The twist at the end was wonderful! My final tears were tears of happiness! This is a wonderful read, I couldn't put it down and read it in a day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    a great book!

    This was the first book I read by this author and I was not disappointed! I saw all the great reviews by others that had read this book, so I decided to give it a read....I couldn't put the book down! I finished it in 2 days. I am anxious to read another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    I COULD NOT PUT THIS ONE DOWN

    RICHARD PAUL EVANS LURED ME IN WITH THE VERY FIRST CHAPTER OF THIS BOOK . I LOVE THE WAY HE DESCRIBES THE SETTINGS , AND THE CHARACTERS . I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANY ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2004

    Beautiful

    I thought this novel was breathtaking. It took me three short days to consume this novel. I loved the whole story. The angel of death thru me a little but in the end I understood it. I thought the love between Allyson and Robert was something rare and amazing. This novel made me smile, made me mad, and made me cry...everything a great novel should have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    Kind of dissappointed.

    Gee, really enjoyed this book til the end. Good story, but the ending just made no sense, could of been done in a more realistic way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    A Highly Recommended Novel

    I was quite impressed with this novel. This novel is my first experience reading Evans. However, it will not be my last. This novel was a quick read. It is very moving and thought provoking. It is easy and light reading, but the message in this novel is not. Great novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    I'm ready for the next one!

    Discovered RPE with his last novel...A Perfect Day was a beautiful novel...as beautiful as its cover! I was mesmerized by every chapter; I wrestled to put the book down! I'm already awaiting the next RPE novel..this book makes you think about the brevity of life and love. It depicts all that we are about-fear, love, life, success, failure, our past and our future...truly an awesome novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3