Customer Reviews for

Perfect Escape

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was amazing. I couldnt put it down and read it in a day it was that amazing. For those of u who havent read it yet u must read it. Its bitter sweet in some parts and funny and others. I actually have ocd but not as bad as graysons. I dont sort and count rocks, although sometimes i do count things and will not stop until i end on an even too. This book is breathtakingly beautiful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The perfect read for a lazy day, Perfect Escape gave me just tha

    The perfect read for a lazy day, Perfect Escape gave me just that. An
    escape to new characters who are in over their head. I love stories
    that really deep. The plot of this book flows from everything they went
    through and what they will face. Once your in the book, the reader is
    immediately thrown into Kendra's shoes. I like that the plot gives the
    reader the information that we want but also keeps up intrigued with
    what is coming up next. Now, the characters are what kept me on my
    toes. Their emotions and the way their life is, brings me to my knees. I
    felt for them, both of them. Kendra the child who is ignored cause she
    is normal. And Grayson, who is constantly needing attention. When both
    of them release their feelings it's amazing. To see both sides of what
    they struggle with, it gives the reader a good insight of who they are.
    Who they longed to be. And you know what? Sometimes I want to do
    exactly what Kendra did. Just get in the car and drive. Anywhere.
    Anytime. To just let go and escape, seems absolutely beautiful to me. In
    life things get so overwhelming you need the escape. Perfect Escape is
    a great story of clearing your mind. Just letting go of all what you
    hidden and deal with privately on your own. We all need those days to
    sit back and reflect. To let yourself escape and take your time in
    making any life changing decision. Perfect Escape is awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect Escape is a very different "realistic fiction"

    Perfect Escape is a very different "realistic fiction" than the most ones I read out there. Kendra, the main protagonist, is always overshadowed by her older brother; Grayson, because of his OCD. Kendra's parents always have to pay extra attention to Grayson because they're always worried something might cause him to get obsessive too much. Because of this, Kendra thinks that she has to be the "perfect" child in order to make up for Grayson's abnormality. One day, Kendra gets herself into a huge mess at school. Worried that she'll get expelled, and ruin her image for perfectionism, she runs away. Though Kendra didn't run away by herself, she decided to take her brother with her and cure him from his OCD. A different routine and different places might make Grayson anxious, but Kendra decided that she'll let him get used to it, and then eventually won't be bothered by it anymore.

    The beginning of the story was very intriguing. Jennifer Brown has made a great deal of describing an OCD patient, because Grayson felt so real to me. Kendra's feelings might seem selfish to some people, but that's how they are. I completely understand both of them, because I've got siblings, and I know what it feels like to be "jealous" sometimes. Even though this was a realistic fiction, it was a fun read because it was a road trip as well. It was fun being in the adventure with them, to get to see all the places and it actually felt like I experienced it with both of them. It was interesting that Jennifer added additional characters through the trip. That way, I didn't get bored at all.

    Overall, it was a great realistic fiction story. True that it didn't move me that much, but it was interesting and fun to read. I have to say it was sad at parts, especially because of the siblings love. It was engaging to read a novel about siblings, and not a novel about a boy and a girl who fell in love. Perfect Escape felt more... how do I say this....It felt more like I was watching a personal life. A family that has problems and issues, so that was a very different view. Perfect Escape was a great read, and I do recommend it to all readers out there!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Siblings. They're your closest genetic relative. You love them.

    Siblings. They're your closest genetic relative. You love them. You hate them. You wish they would "shut the hell up and go away". Yet when someone else hurts them, it's on. But imagine what it's like to have a sibling whose behavior controls your life. You can't take family vacations because of panic-induced freak outs. Your best friend's family moves across the country to get her away from the "crazy" boyfriend who also happens to be your brother. You aim for perfection to ease the worried strain you see on your parents' face. The pressure becomes so much that you will do anything to remain the "perfect child". This is Kendra's life and what pushes Kendra to take Grayson on the perfect escape.

    Perfect Escape was simple in it's telling, and gripping in it's realistic look at living with someone with OCD. So many of us joke about being obsessive compulsive. I was very surprised to learn that the disorder is not simply based on the compulsion, but more so on the obsession. I myself spent a lot of years with a compulsive behavior. [I counted letters, syllables, words, all the time. Even while having conversations I would count how many words in the sentences. Sometimes I just counted to soothe myself.] This was nothing in comparison to someone with OCD, and t never truly interfered with my life. I eventually trained myself to stop, though I bet I can automatically tell you the number of letters in any word you throw me. But with the true OCD, the affected has a difficult time functioning because it doesn't allow them to move on until the compulsion is satisfied, no matter how long it takes. This information in itself made Perfect Escape a fascinating read.

    You know the phrase "It's not about the destination, but the journey." ? That phrase describes Perfect Escape perfectly. Kendra thinks she's taking Grayson away to cure him, and once she fixes him, she can go home and face her own problems. But what if Grayson can never be truly "fixed"? What if he has his own issues in the shadows of her perfection? The story of the two, each longing to find their own place, was remarkable. I'm sure anyone with siblings can relate, regardless of whether they can specifically identify with Kendra and Grayson.

    I loved Perfect Escape. It's a book that taught me about relationships, understanding, and love, but mostly acceptance. It made me feel and it made me think. Perfect Escape is a beautiful book that I fully intend to share with others, to read again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2014

    Amazing book. It really looks at the stigma and prejudices again

    Amazing book. It really looks at the stigma and prejudices against those with a mental disorder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    I think it's awesome!

    This story is so funny. Lots of lovable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love books with a strong sibling relationship. Imagine my joy

    I love books with a strong sibling relationship. Imagine my joy when I found a book centered on a sibling relationship. The story didn't disappoint; in fact, it was better than I imagined. It isn't all-around happy--Kendra has her fair share of frustrations, tears, and worries--however, I was perfectly happy reading this story. I understand the complexities of a sister-brother relationship (though I'm the older one in the relationship), and I can empathize with her feelings, though I haven't had to cope with her situation. Kendra has felt overshadowed by her brother and his OCD problems. While she realzies that it's not really his fault that he has these compulsions, she can't help but feel as though her life is run by him. His return added on top of her fear of having her future ruined by a cheating scandal drive her to run away with her brother, who also has had enough with his OCD issues, far from their problems at home.

    The emotions run rampant in this novel. Kendra and her brother have their issues, Grayson dealing with people treating him as though her could have an emotional breakdown any moment and Kendra dealing with the pressures of being the perfect, normal daughter. Both think the other have an easier time and have their moments of jealousy. It is also true that Kendra has her selfish reasons for the trip and for trying to cure Grayson of his disorder. Nevertheless, she and her brother have a strong bond; they love each other and do their best to look after each other. I love them. Seriously. They're amazing siblings for all their imperfections; it is a human thing, imperfection. My eyes were tearing as I neared the end of the novel.

    The story explores the impact of OCD on a family and how their friends and others view them. Grayson is a genius and a nice guy; however, people express their disappointment on how his OCD prevents him from reaching perfection, and they don't look further than his OCD to appreciate who he is as a person. Not many characters are introduced in this novel. Each one is important in how he or she influences the major characters, especially the ones that stick around for more than a few scenes. There are fun roadstops, bad jokes that made me and my brother laugh (I shared them with him, as he was in the room with me), and there were some stormy moments that tore at my heart when Kendra and Grayson released pentup emotions.

    More than a story about two sibling on a road trip, more than a story about cheating and OCD, Perfect Escape is about family, friendship, and acceptance. It is about the imperfections that make us who we are. I wanted the story to continue, so we can find out more about what happens later. At the same time, I appreciate where this story leaves us because it's the moment of realization, and it's the point where Kendra needs to reach. This story left me feeling happy and satisfied. There's nothing more I could have asked of Jennifer Brown from this story. I look forward to seeing more books from her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1