Customer Reviews for

Perfect Family: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

entertaining thriller

In Vermont twentyish single mom Pony Carteret drowns while skinny-dipping at her affluent family¿s vacation home. While the local police investigate the drowning death, the Carteret brood back in Hartford argues over what happened to her and why and who will take in he...
In Vermont twentyish single mom Pony Carteret drowns while skinny-dipping at her affluent family¿s vacation home. While the local police investigate the drowning death, the Carteret brood back in Hartford argues over what happened to her and why and who will take in her infant son Andrew since they do not know the name of the father. Pony¿s widower father Jasper and her oldest sister Tinker are mostly interested in burying the scandal, but for now the latter takes in the child. --- That same day that Pony died, she pleaded with her older brother William to come up to the Vermont house to talk where they argued. William feels guilty that he left her there, wondering if the accident or suicide was caused by her being distraught or homicide by her lover, her family, or someone else related to why Pony met with him. He needs to know so he investigates starting from the picture of their late mom taken with another man who is not their father. Meanwhile middle daughter Mira meets Keith at the funeral and begins seeing him he persuades Mira and Tinker that their brother and their late sister were more than friendly siblings. --- Filled with plenty of twists especially when William turns amateur sleuth, the aptly titled PERFECT FAMILY is a wonderful tale of a wealthy New England dysfunctional clan. The story line is character driven by the siblings, the patriarch and William¿s girlfriend however, the key player their late mom never seems fully developed though all dynamic lines flow through her as even long dead she remains the hub of the Carteret family. Fans will appreciate Pam Lewis¿ entertaining thriller as the secrets keep on coming out. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Mystery with enough suspense to keep you reading

The book is an enjoyable read. It is a little predictable on somethings and has you wondering until last few chapters on other areas. On top of a good mystery it also makes you think twice about keeping family secrets.

posted by kdmcalester on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Awesome

    This book just makes you realize that no family is perfect but you make the best of what you have. This book was very good and will continue to buy her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining thriller

    In Vermont twentyish single mom Pony Carteret drowns while skinny-dipping at her affluent family¿s vacation home. While the local police investigate the drowning death, the Carteret brood back in Hartford argues over what happened to her and why and who will take in her infant son Andrew since they do not know the name of the father. Pony¿s widower father Jasper and her oldest sister Tinker are mostly interested in burying the scandal, but for now the latter takes in the child. --- That same day that Pony died, she pleaded with her older brother William to come up to the Vermont house to talk where they argued. William feels guilty that he left her there, wondering if the accident or suicide was caused by her being distraught or homicide by her lover, her family, or someone else related to why Pony met with him. He needs to know so he investigates starting from the picture of their late mom taken with another man who is not their father. Meanwhile middle daughter Mira meets Keith at the funeral and begins seeing him he persuades Mira and Tinker that their brother and their late sister were more than friendly siblings. --- Filled with plenty of twists especially when William turns amateur sleuth, the aptly titled PERFECT FAMILY is a wonderful tale of a wealthy New England dysfunctional clan. The story line is character driven by the siblings, the patriarch and William¿s girlfriend however, the key player their late mom never seems fully developed though all dynamic lines flow through her as even long dead she remains the hub of the Carteret family. Fans will appreciate Pam Lewis¿ entertaining thriller as the secrets keep on coming out. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    Good Mystery with enough suspense to keep you reading

    The book is an enjoyable read. It is a little predictable on somethings and has you wondering until last few chapters on other areas. On top of a good mystery it also makes you think twice about keeping family secrets.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Great family drama

    story of a dysfunctional family, & dealing with the drowning death of their sister Pony at the familys lake house~was her death accidental or was someone involved after her brother William left her standing on the lake shore? The more William questions her death, dark family secrets emerge that no one could expect, especially one that their mother took to her grave-Unputdownable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    what a surprise

    When I thought I knew the secrets I found out that I did not. Parents and siblings, we all have our secrets. This family seems perfect from the outside but as we all know, no one knows what goes on behind closed doors. Do we really know someone? I loved this book and shared with my friends!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Interesting. Good, not great.

    Great buildup in the beginning, and even a twist at the end. The book wavered between trying to describe too many familial relationships and following the mystery. The 'mysterious circumstance' was interesting at first, but as the story went on, explanations were convoluted and became secondary to "lessons learned". Overall, it was a pretty good, but not great, read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Melody

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Fun, fast read

    I greatly enjoyed _Perfect Family_ by Pam Lewis. I read this for my book club. It was a fun, fast read. I flew through it in just a few days. I definitely think many of the issues in the book are worth discussing - how comfortable are people with incest? in what situations should people feel ashamed? how do you define a family? and what does a family owe its members, if anything? In addition, the characters were surprisingly well-developed. I liked how each chapter was titled with one of the character's names and then each chapter was from that character's perspective. My one point of criticism: I did think that the plot's "mystery" was quite easy to figure out, so I was more intrigued by how the characters reacted to their discoveries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    perfect family - family secrets

    This book is written beautifully. I really thought that I was reading fine literature, not a murder mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    guessed the ending

    This book was really not bad but I guessed the ending by the third chapter. I kept hoping I was wrong and would be completly surprised at the end but no such luck.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2