Customer Reviews for

The Perfect Husband (FBI Profiler Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(535)

4 Star

(388)

3 Star

(237)

2 Star

(105)

1 Star

(89)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

A taut suspenseful thriller

This is my first novel by Gardner and it was worth the all nighter I pulled too finish the book! Gardner knows how suspence works-taut pacing makes a thriller.
It is called the PERFECT HUSBUND because Jim Beckett thinks he is. As a handsome charming Police Officer, Th...
This is my first novel by Gardner and it was worth the all nighter I pulled too finish the book! Gardner knows how suspence works-taut pacing makes a thriller.
It is called the PERFECT HUSBUND because Jim Beckett thinks he is. As a handsome charming Police Officer, Theresa (Tess) can't believe he's interested in her. For years, she lives with an abusive father and unwitting leaps into the marriage bed of the worst sociopath, she can imagine. Jim swore he'd kill his 'perfect wife' for helping the police putting him, Jim Beckett perfection personified (especially in his killing), onto death row. He escapes, killing 2 guards. And, he is looking for his perfect wife. Jim has molded young Theresa into perfection that only he can see, and therefore Thersa must die for her ultimate betrayal.
Tess leaves her daughter in police custody and seeks out J.T. Dillon, a burntout ex-Marine and ex-mercenary. J.T. is battling his own demons and is not too receptive to Tess and her plight, until his sister Marion abruptly appears. As an FBI agent, she is suspicious of Tess and is also very dismissive of J.T. Their history is not that nice. The Colonel has seen to that. But, cool, aloof Marion may have screwed up-she's discovered Tess' true identity and Beckett may already know where she is.
J.T. knows he has to help Tess, and is fighting to control past and present emothions. J.T. has just finished his annual drinking binge to mark the anniversary of his 'perfect' wife. Marion wants J.T. to go seee their father. He's dying. She's been the good girl and good wife and the perfect FBI agent. Why then is everything unraveling now. She must not disappoint the Colonel, but she must help save Tess from the worst serial killer, FBI profiler Quinn has seen. Beckett was one of them, he knows police procedure, murder protocol, and forensics.
Gardner puts together a beautiful patchwork quilt, because of the subplots in THE PERFECT HUSBAND. Just make sure you have a pot of coffee and your your favorite comfort food, because you have to finish this page turner in one sitting. And the book will haunt your dreams for a few nights.

posted by Molinarolo on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

suspenseful, but lacking in details

I enjoed the suspense factor and the twist in the story, but I selected this book because it was said to be the 1st in an FBI profiler series and the book was extremely lacking in the details and the prospective of the profiler. The history of the brother and the siste...
I enjoed the suspense factor and the twist in the story, but I selected this book because it was said to be the 1st in an FBI profiler series and the book was extremely lacking in the details and the prospective of the profiler. The history of the brother and the sister seemed out of context with the major plot of the story, (maybe added for character development), but should have been minimized for more details on how and what the FBI was doing to catch the bad guy. It will be awhile before I read another Gardner novel.

posted by mrsreaderLL on February 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1370 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 69
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A taut suspenseful thriller

    This is my first novel by Gardner and it was worth the all nighter I pulled too finish the book! Gardner knows how suspence works-taut pacing makes a thriller.
    It is called the PERFECT HUSBUND because Jim Beckett thinks he is. As a handsome charming Police Officer, Theresa (Tess) can't believe he's interested in her. For years, she lives with an abusive father and unwitting leaps into the marriage bed of the worst sociopath, she can imagine. Jim swore he'd kill his 'perfect wife' for helping the police putting him, Jim Beckett perfection personified (especially in his killing), onto death row. He escapes, killing 2 guards. And, he is looking for his perfect wife. Jim has molded young Theresa into perfection that only he can see, and therefore Thersa must die for her ultimate betrayal.
    Tess leaves her daughter in police custody and seeks out J.T. Dillon, a burntout ex-Marine and ex-mercenary. J.T. is battling his own demons and is not too receptive to Tess and her plight, until his sister Marion abruptly appears. As an FBI agent, she is suspicious of Tess and is also very dismissive of J.T. Their history is not that nice. The Colonel has seen to that. But, cool, aloof Marion may have screwed up-she's discovered Tess' true identity and Beckett may already know where she is.
    J.T. knows he has to help Tess, and is fighting to control past and present emothions. J.T. has just finished his annual drinking binge to mark the anniversary of his 'perfect' wife. Marion wants J.T. to go seee their father. He's dying. She's been the good girl and good wife and the perfect FBI agent. Why then is everything unraveling now. She must not disappoint the Colonel, but she must help save Tess from the worst serial killer, FBI profiler Quinn has seen. Beckett was one of them, he knows police procedure, murder protocol, and forensics.
    Gardner puts together a beautiful patchwork quilt, because of the subplots in THE PERFECT HUSBAND. Just make sure you have a pot of coffee and your your favorite comfort food, because you have to finish this page turner in one sitting. And the book will haunt your dreams for a few nights.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    suspenseful, but lacking in details

    I enjoed the suspense factor and the twist in the story, but I selected this book because it was said to be the 1st in an FBI profiler series and the book was extremely lacking in the details and the prospective of the profiler. The history of the brother and the sister seemed out of context with the major plot of the story, (maybe added for character development), but should have been minimized for more details on how and what the FBI was doing to catch the bad guy. It will be awhile before I read another Gardner novel.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    Perfect Husband

    I read a lot of books and this is by far the best book I have ever read. It just felt so real, the people seemed like normal people with real life problems. The hero (J.T.) wasn't perfect which I liked. and Tess was srong willed, but also not perfect and you could really feel their pain. Jim was scarry and you could really see it happen. You have got to read this book. I cried which is very hard for me to do in a book.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite.

    I liked the suspense part of the story. There was a very good premise and for the most part it was believable and kept you waiting for the next turn. I thought the characters were overly dramatic and I most definitely could live without the graphic sex. All the smoldering and heat etc belongs in a Harlequin Romance, not this type of story. I may or may not read this author again.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    Excellent writter

    This is the first book of hers I've read and it was great. I didn't want to put it down. Some books get boring in parts but not this one. It was exciting from beginning to end.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    This book is rated R for sex

    This is the first book I've read by this author and I won't read another. I enjoyed the story line, but the sex scenes were a distraction. The book would have been better without them.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    disappointed first time reader

    At first I found the story interesting. About 200 pages in I found myself skipping parts due to tacky sex scenes. Thinking about the characters in this book and feeling sorry for themIf this is typical of Gardner I will pass on adding her books to my library.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    I'm done with Bestseller Lists!

    I don't seem to see eye to eye with Bestseller Lists anymore. I find that more often now I have to dig around for the kind of books that hold my interest these days. I found this book to be nearly painful to get through. I felt like I was reading a thriller/romance. Is that what they call this?

    All too predictable. I need more from a sentence these days. I need more from a paragraph to keep me going. I flipped through this as quickly as I could and went back to scouring the internet for something to quench my thirst. I'm no scholar by any stretch of the imagination, but this was just too much.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    Say Goodbye is a great book.

    It keeps you in suspense. I really enjoyed this book. I enjoy all Lisa Gardner's books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Great book, but rough sex!

    Lisa Gardner has done it again with a real page-turner. Only problem is that this one goes on and on with graphic sex acts where the partners take out anger and frustrations on each other during the act. Way too much 'plunging' 'screaming orgasms' and 'shooting sperm'. This could add to the story with one or two episodes, but the sex goes on and on.....for no reason that adds to the climax (pardon the pun!)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    GREAT BOOK...But, don't listen to the audio version

    This was a great book. But I listened to the audio version. The reader did a lousy job with the MA accent for Tess! Jennifer Wydra tried to hard to get the accent right. She made Tess's voice sound Nasal and whinny at times when pronouncing words with the dropped "R's". She often paused before pronouncing....It was very annoying to listen to. ( from MA so familar with this accent)..LOL So my recomendation is READ the BOOK! It is one of the best!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    First book

    This is the first book of hers I have had read. Enjoyable read but I thought the romance and lovemaking got in the way a bit.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Do not recommended

    Tess is just too ignorent regarding her staying with a husband that would treat her so badly, in this day and age women have more choices on how their lives run.
    The story between Tess and J.T. is very good. However, I do believe this book is not what I would call a good FBI profiler story just not enough interaction with the FBI getting into the nitty gritty of the story.
    Not really searching for more of Lisa Gardner books after reading this.
    This could be discussed in a book club, in fact I wouldn't mind reading other reviews regarding this story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    Suspenseful.

    The book was very suspenseful. But I will not read anymore of this author because of the filthy language.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Chewing gum

    After reading this and a few other Lisa Gardner's creations I had a very strong sense of chewing gum in my mouth, probably cheaper version that loses sweetness fast and the only question you have after a few chapters is "why do I still have it in my mouth ?" I did keep "chewing" it until the end, but only because it was the only entertainment option while traveling (bad aftertaste). I found characters and problems being artificial, writing style being weak and the plot being predictable, so if you are looking for a chewing gum, then this is you book. Do not waste your time and money if you are looking for quality "meal" for your brain and soul.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Do not reccommend this book - Not one of her best.

    I found this book to be suspenseful but I had a hard time liking any of the Characters. The Agent and his sister was just too much. It wasn't necessary to have the sister so involved only to have the ending turn out as it did. I just don't get what she was trying to do with the two characters. I believe it had the makings of a great story but all the Gloom and doom of the family histories of the characters made it hard to imagine them ever getting beyond being wounded shells of their former selves. I also don't buy the instant love that makes a person want toremin with another person who is so miserable. Where was the glimmer of the foodness. Just because he married his fathers ex mistress because she was pregnant does not make him Mr. Wonderful. Hestill behaved like jerk. It borderd on the ridiculous. The fact that she could know deep down that she could nuture him out of his hell hole was ridiculous. Lisa, you let me down with this one. However I will continue to read your books because this was your first miss fo me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Only if you can borrow the book

    Predictable one dimensional characters. Love based on need, furry and shared history of abusive parents. Glad it was on ebook so I didn't even have to waste the effort of turning a page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    predictable

    Despite the temptation to stop reading it, I did finish; and not because the characters were interesting or the writing fantastic. I was very disapointed that the characters were poorly developed and predictable. The combination of a serial killer, a mercenary from a rich family (go figure), violence against female characters and vivid description of sexual encounters were not at all original, interesting or appealing. Unless one is just interested in reading about torture, aggressive sex and vilence against women, I would not recommend this bood.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    ugh!

    Gardner is horrible this time around. Dialogue is fake macho and difficult to believe. Hard to like any of these characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    I am ashamed that I bought and read this book.

    Is this the modern reading? what a low level our society has sunk to.
    language and overall theme was poor

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1370 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 69