Customer Reviews for

Perfect Match

Average Rating 4
( 397 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(202)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Not for the faint hearted.

This is the first book I've found of Jodi's that isn't for the faint hearted. It was certainly a page turner.
The story revolves around a little boy called Nathan, and his parents, his mum being a defence prosecutor or something like that. He's a happy toddler, who'...
This is the first book I've found of Jodi's that isn't for the faint hearted. It was certainly a page turner.
The story revolves around a little boy called Nathan, and his parents, his mum being a defence prosecutor or something like that. He's a happy toddler, who's speaking away, when suddenly he goes silent, grumpy, and uncooperative. His parents are desperately worried, and try slowly but surely to teach him sign language, and various trips to the doctors reveal in a shocking way that their precious son has been abused. Then he signs the word "father", at first making everyone around him think that his own dad had done it. Then it's revealed not to be him, but a Father, as in a priest.
The story snowballs from there, where the mum takes matters into her own hands, and hands up being in the wrong section of the court she's used to. There are many twists & turns, and lots of scientific dialogue about DNA, bone marrow transplants - which went straight over my head - and eventually lead to what really happened.
It is a harrowing story, and ultimately shocking. Sure, it is practically all set in a court, but for me, it is probably the best book yet by Jodi, as it's had a lasting effect on me. However, not something I read again. Definitely pick this one up first. But not for the faint hearted.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW

I JUST WANTED TO SEE IF I WOULD LIKE THIS BOOK, SO I READ THE REVIEWS/ WHY IN THE HELL DO PEOPLE HAVE TO SPOIL IT & TELL WHAT THE HELL HAPPENS AND WHO SHOT WHO IN THE COURT ROOM WHEN SOME OF US HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK?????????? THIS PISSES ME OFF TO NO END, LET US READ ...
I JUST WANTED TO SEE IF I WOULD LIKE THIS BOOK, SO I READ THE REVIEWS/ WHY IN THE HELL DO PEOPLE HAVE TO SPOIL IT & TELL WHAT THE HELL HAPPENS AND WHO SHOT WHO IN THE COURT ROOM WHEN SOME OF US HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK?????????? THIS PISSES ME OFF TO NO END, LET US READ THE BOOK & FIND OUT FOR OUR SELFS WHAT GOES ON IN THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!! SOME PEOPLE SHOULD JUST GET A LIFE & THINK BEFORE U WRITE YOUR REVIEW/ NOW I WILL NOT READ THIS BOOK THANKS TO SOME OF U WHO ALREDY TOLD ME WHATS GOING TO HAPPEN. SOME PEOPLE ARE JUST CLUELESS & DON'T THINK/ TRY THINKING NEXT TIME PEOPLE/
STILL PISSED OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jdogjojo04061956 on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 398 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for the faint hearted.

    This is the first book I've found of Jodi's that isn't for the faint hearted. It was certainly a page turner.<BR/>The story revolves around a little boy called Nathan, and his parents, his mum being a defence prosecutor or something like that. He's a happy toddler, who's speaking away, when suddenly he goes silent, grumpy, and uncooperative. His parents are desperately worried, and try slowly but surely to teach him sign language, and various trips to the doctors reveal in a shocking way that their precious son has been abused. Then he signs the word "father", at first making everyone around him think that his own dad had done it. Then it's revealed not to be him, but a Father, as in a priest.<BR/>The story snowballs from there, where the mum takes matters into her own hands, and hands up being in the wrong section of the court she's used to. There are many twists & turns, and lots of scientific dialogue about DNA, bone marrow transplants - which went straight over my head - and eventually lead to what really happened.<BR/>It is a harrowing story, and ultimately shocking. Sure, it is practically all set in a court, but for me, it is probably the best book yet by Jodi, as it's had a lasting effect on me. However, not something I read again. Definitely pick this one up first. But not for the faint hearted.

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    Very Good

    Like all of Jodi Picoult's novels, this one was a great read. It was contriversal and made you relize that even things like murder have two sides, two storys and sometimes you can even feel bad for people who are forced to resort to murder. Even though some parts were somewhat unrealistic, the novel as a whole was great and made me think about some difficult topics.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I could not put this book down. What an amazing story.

    From the very first sentence, I was intrigued by the writing style of this author. But this book was different. It caused me, as a parent to take a long hard look at myself and question how far I would be willing to go to protect my child. Murder? I just don't know. But if you are not a parent, you could probably give an answer without hesitation. But this book shakes you to your core and that I love. I want to feel, I want to cry, I want to laugh. I want to be a little unsure of my feelings. This book made me think deeply, not just about the characters, but about myself. I saw a little of myself in many of the characters. This book is a must read and worth sharing in a book club.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The mother's right

    When is that fine thread-like line between right and wrong crossed? Nina Frost, a prosecutor for Biddeford, Maine, knows this territory all too well. In court, she has represented hundreds of rape and molestation victims, all of whose lives have been turned upside down to imprison the one who caused such monstrosity; and unfortunately, 9 times out of 10, the perp walks free. But when her son, Nathaniel, is found to be victim to molestation, Nina cannot expect the justice her son deserves. With such a familiarity with the unmerited courts, the anguished prosecutor takes things into her own hands. The bitter hatred of a helpless mother drives Nina Frost to commit the ultimate act of motherhood; that of getting revenge on the man who hurt her baby. Perfect Match reveals the aches and pains of a mother's heart and the torment molestation brings upon a family. Although I'm not a mother, I felt deeply for Nina and the circumstances she was up against. Overall, I felt Jodi Picoult really captivated her readers with the realization that this could happen to anyone and raised some very ethical questions. How far should a mother go to protect her pride and joy? And just how far is that undistinguishable line between right and wrong able to stretch?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I am on my 5th Jodi Picoult book and I love them all. I would recommend any of them. My sister's keeper is still my favorite but they have all been great reads and I love her writing. It takes me a little bit to get into them because she really gives detail on all the characters and once that is over the book is so good I can't wait to get back to reading it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Unforgetable!

    This has to be one of Jodi Picoults best. I couldn't put this book down. This book was touching, dramatic, and sad. Once you start this book you won't be able to put it down until your finished...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book had me hooked from the beginning. The characters were so well developed, it was almost like I knew them. It really makes you think, about life and choices, what sacrifices a person may make for those that they love.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Amazing!

    Very gut wrenching with a huge twist at the end. One of my most favorite Jodi books.
    (Difficult topic but isnt too descriptive that you can't read it)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely One of Her Best!

    As an avid Picoult reader, I found this book to be very good, and definitely one of her best. The writing style, characters, and plot will grab you and hold you until the final sentence. This book also offers interesting ethical issues and choices that will leave you wondering what you would do in the characters' shoes. I would definitely recommend this to any and all readers (though probably better for at least high school or late middle school aged readers).

    **Picoult includes some of the same characters in 4 books that I know of, and I'm sorry I didn't read them in the right order!! I would recommend reading The Pact, then Salem Falls, then Perfect Match, then Nineteen Minutes.**

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Hooked, but...

    Loved the book, but the ending was off; so much that i had to read the ending twice to make sure it wasn't me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Great book!

    Great read full of plenty of twists.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Loved it!

    Like all Jodi Picoult books, this one is well written and full of the conflict that I can't get enough of. If you like Jodi, you need to read this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Wow

    This book was AMAZING! Stayed up late every night to finish it. I highly recommend readers to read this book and any book written by Jodi Picoult!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Great Read

    Another great book by Jodi Picoult!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW

    I JUST WANTED TO SEE IF I WOULD LIKE THIS BOOK, SO I READ THE REVIEWS/ WHY IN THE HELL DO PEOPLE HAVE TO SPOIL IT & TELL WHAT THE HELL HAPPENS AND WHO SHOT WHO IN THE COURT ROOM WHEN SOME OF US HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK?????????? THIS PISSES ME OFF TO NO END, LET US READ THE BOOK & FIND OUT FOR OUR SELFS WHAT GOES ON IN THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!! SOME PEOPLE SHOULD JUST GET A LIFE & THINK BEFORE U WRITE YOUR REVIEW/ NOW I WILL NOT READ THIS BOOK THANKS TO SOME OF U WHO ALREDY TOLD ME WHATS GOING TO HAPPEN. SOME PEOPLE ARE JUST CLUELESS & DON'T THINK/ TRY THINKING NEXT TIME PEOPLE/
    STILL PISSED OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    amazing story

    this book was quite frankly the best jodi picoult i have ever read. It was amazing. I had withdraws from not reading this book whenever I had to put it down. Picoult writes with such raw emotion and in this book she never lets you down. The plot line was one less traveled by authors and i admire her for her choice in plot. I fell in love with the very well developed characters, especially Nathaniel. I would recommened this book to whom ever needs a quick weekend read or just needs to relax for a little while. This book will truly give you something to do. And might I add that I am 15 years of age.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow

    The first book I ever read from Jodi and I will be reading them all! The way she can descibe the smallest detail is breath taking - I could not have loved this book anymore =) It was unpredictable and over all a GREAT read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    A great book!

    I thought it was a little slow getting started, but WOW! It really makes you wonder "what would I do?"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    Amazing characters engulf you in this book!

    "Perfect Match" By Jodi Picoult is a great book with amazing characters and is very well written. This book is about a child services lawyer named Nina Frost, who deals specifically with sexual abuse cases, and her family. Over the course of the book, we learn that Ninas son Nathaniel has been sexually abused by someone, but we dont know who. Nina and her husband Caleb are on a mission to find the person who hurt their son, but that proves to be easier said than done. Once they find the person, he goes on trial and Nina decides to take her own justice against the perpetrator in front of the entire courtroom, by shooting him. The rest of the book is about the course of the trial and the separation if Ninas family in the course of this tradgedy. In the end we find out that Caleb has killed the actual perpetrator, who was not the man that Nina killed, and her faily ends up back together. There are a few major themes in this book which make up the characters decisions and the course of the book. One of them is the sepearation betwen protecting your child to the best of your ability and doing something that is wrong, like murder, to protect your child. Nina is caught between these two choices and so is her husband. Caleb is trying to protect his son and Nina is also but her way of protecting him is a lot more violent then Calebs. These decisions and differences in view are what tears the family apart during the course of Ninas trial, but it is also what brings them together at the end. This is the major theme in the book that really decides the course that the characters take. Nathaniel is also a key character in the book, although he is quiet, the whole story really revolves around him, all of his parents decisions are based on him and his actions shape the story. The Frost family seems like a completely normal family in the beginning of the book but as you progress through the book, you begin to see all of the issues that surface, but the amazing part is that after this whole ordeal, they seem to go back to being a normal family and that is just amazing to me because of the huge process that has just unfolded and almost torn their family completely apart! The way that this book is written is absolutely amazing. I got completely engulfed in the characters and felt like I was in the book and going through everything that the Frosts were going through. Jodi Picoult writes with so many descriptive words and an amazing vocabulary that I almost had a movie going through my head as I was reading, I laughed when the characters laughed and cried when they were sad, I was completely absorbed in the book. The plot has stayed with me and has affected me in more ways that I thought a book could affect me. I would reccomend this book ta anyone that wants a good read!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Disturbing but Demanding Read

    Perfect Match is a disturbing book. It's theme of child molestation is unsettling as well as the idea that it could hit so closely to home. It forces the reader to question how far she would go to keep her child safe. It brings up questions of trust. Who can we trust: our husbands, our priests, teachers? I can't say that I enjoyed reading this book, but I also couldn't put it down. Jodi Picoult's protagonist is well developed and we are privy to her deepest feelings. We see her torn between her role as prosecuting attorney and mother and we become entangled in the delicate balance between sanity and insanity, and right and wrong. After reading this book, you realize that nothing can be taken for granted, and our safe little world can crumble beneath our feet at any time. This would make a great selection for a book club.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 398 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20