BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Perfect Mate

Average Rating 4.5
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Lycanthropes, and Vampires, and Zombies, Oh My!

I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked up this book as I've never read anything written by Mina Carter ("Carter"). After reading "Perfect Mate," and thoroughly enjoying it, I can tell you that she's got a new fan.

Unlike the familiar themes associated with parano...
I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked up this book as I've never read anything written by Mina Carter ("Carter"). After reading "Perfect Mate," and thoroughly enjoying it, I can tell you that she's got a new fan.

Unlike the familiar themes associated with paranormal novels, Carter pulls in the paranormal elements (lycans, vampires, and zombies), creating something a little off the beaten path. In doing so, she successfully keeps the reader engaged and intrigued by the story.

A secret group of scientists, deep with the government, have been conducting insidious experiments on military soldiers and on other unwilling participants who have been misled about the "project". The "project" consists of injecting test subjects with one of three strains of virus turning them into lycan, vampire, or zombie. Once turned, more experiments are conducted, all the while making sure the test subjects never leave the premises, ever. The only way out is with a bullet in the back of the head.

After a year of acting and displaying in accordance with what the project scientists expect of them as lycans, Captain Jack Harper and his platoon, executing their plan of escape, are now battling their way out of the facilities. In the midst of their fight to leave, Jack grabs Dr. Lillian Rosewood, whom Jacks claims as his mate.

What I really like about this novel is the way Carter utilizes the other men in the platoon, not centralizing only on Jack and Lillian. This also includes Antonio, whom I find to be a very intriguing and complex individual. She was once a soldier but is now a vampire. Her directive is to find and destroy the lycans using soldiers and zombies (I know. Sounds odd). There's more to Antonio than meets the eye. All of this is what make the story even more enjoyable.

Why 4 stars, not 5? Others may disagree after reading this book, but I felt there was a little lull in the buildup of the battle between the lycans, vampires and zombies. Also, the one factor I find very irritating that I find in a majority of books, this one included, is the declaration of love between the hero and heroine in a matter of hours. In less than 36 hours of meeting, Jack and Lillian profess their love for one another. I understand these stories are works of fiction. However, this quick declaration of love taints my enjoyment of the story. I've got nothing against the protagonists saying "I love you," but let's at least make it seem more realistic.

Otherwise, this is a novel that should be read by all paranormal lovers. I look forward to the next book in the series.

posted by ChiefsLadyLove on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Meet friends @

The tour bus of doom only res.

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Lycanthropes, and Vampires, and Zombies, Oh My!

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked up this book as I've never read anything written by Mina Carter ("Carter"). After reading "Perfect Mate," and thoroughly enjoying it, I can tell you that she's got a new fan.

    Unlike the familiar themes associated with paranormal novels, Carter pulls in the paranormal elements (lycans, vampires, and zombies), creating something a little off the beaten path. In doing so, she successfully keeps the reader engaged and intrigued by the story.

    A secret group of scientists, deep with the government, have been conducting insidious experiments on military soldiers and on other unwilling participants who have been misled about the "project". The "project" consists of injecting test subjects with one of three strains of virus turning them into lycan, vampire, or zombie. Once turned, more experiments are conducted, all the while making sure the test subjects never leave the premises, ever. The only way out is with a bullet in the back of the head.

    After a year of acting and displaying in accordance with what the project scientists expect of them as lycans, Captain Jack Harper and his platoon, executing their plan of escape, are now battling their way out of the facilities. In the midst of their fight to leave, Jack grabs Dr. Lillian Rosewood, whom Jacks claims as his mate.

    What I really like about this novel is the way Carter utilizes the other men in the platoon, not centralizing only on Jack and Lillian. This also includes Antonio, whom I find to be a very intriguing and complex individual. She was once a soldier but is now a vampire. Her directive is to find and destroy the lycans using soldiers and zombies (I know. Sounds odd). There's more to Antonio than meets the eye. All of this is what make the story even more enjoyable.

    Why 4 stars, not 5? Others may disagree after reading this book, but I felt there was a little lull in the buildup of the battle between the lycans, vampires and zombies. Also, the one factor I find very irritating that I find in a majority of books, this one included, is the declaration of love between the hero and heroine in a matter of hours. In less than 36 hours of meeting, Jack and Lillian profess their love for one another. I understand these stories are works of fiction. However, this quick declaration of love taints my enjoyment of the story. I've got nothing against the protagonists saying "I love you," but let's at least make it seem more realistic.

    Otherwise, this is a novel that should be read by all paranormal lovers. I look forward to the next book in the series.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    More Please

    I liked this story, waiting for the next in this series. Plot keeps you reading. Good story development. Leaves you hanging for the next installment.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Tips on getting a mate. (For cats only)

    1. Get to know them very well
    2. Flirt
    3. Ask!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Good read

    It was an awsom book, put a new spin on the vampire and wolf books :)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Very different but good read

    This was a totally different take on the paranormal concept. I liked the characters it was a fun read I just hope that she does a series it would be too good to pass up. Some very good characters to explore and she needs to follow-up with Jacks story.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Loved this book by Mina, she has woven a wonderful tale of suspe

    Loved this book by Mina, she has woven a wonderful tale of suspense and shifting that makes you beg for the next book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Wow!!

    Stumbledupin this book by accident. So glad i did! Great read!! Hope theres a part 2 soon........

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Good but ended kind of short.

    I am also a fan of Laurann Dohner, so this book was along her type of stories. There was funny parts, suspense, streamy love, but also different twists too. The only thing i did not enjoy was the way Carte ended this story, it felt like your waiting for the next few pages to reflect some answers, but does not. Not even if the is another story in the making/is it a series?!?! Overall it is a good story w/over 500 pgs.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Great read!

    This was my first read by Mina Carter but will certainly not be the last! Definitely worth the read =)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Loved it!

    This is the first book by Mina I've read and I will definitely will be buying and reading more!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Good read !

    Mina Carter has done it again. Love the characters and the story .

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly Recommended -- Love it!!

    This was exactly what I was looking for in a new book. I would highly recommend this book to everyone and I will be reading more books by Mina Carter

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    The book is very good but the ending of the story is cut short.

    The book is very good but the ending of the story is cut short.
    Wish it would be longer.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Good book!

    Love this book...havent quite finished it yet but does anyone know if this will be a series? If I should look for another coming out?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Cant wait for the next....

    Good story line....keeps your attention.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Crystalion

    My parents caught me rping. I cant rp anymore n. Post.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Zebraclaw

    :( that sucks big time.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    really good but where is #2!!! it was worth the long hours. it h

    really good but where is #2!!! it was worth the long hours. it had love, sex, ACTION!! gotta love the combination

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Amazing & action packed book!!! This book had everything fro

    Amazing & action packed book!!! This book had everything from paranormal, action, comedy, romance, sex & government experiments!! I could not put  this book down!!! I really hope this get made into a series!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Wonderful story, wonderful characters! This is the 1st book I've read by this author, and I'm looking forward to lots more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6