BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Perfect Mate

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Lycanthropes, and Vampires, and Zombies, Oh My!

I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked up this book as I've never read anything written by Mina Carter ("Carter"). After reading "Perfect Mate," and thoroughly enjoying it, I can tell you that she's got a new fan.

Unlike the familiar themes associated with parano...
I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked up this book as I've never read anything written by Mina Carter ("Carter"). After reading "Perfect Mate," and thoroughly enjoying it, I can tell you that she's got a new fan.

Unlike the familiar themes associated with paranormal novels, Carter pulls in the paranormal elements (lycans, vampires, and zombies), creating something a little off the beaten path. In doing so, she successfully keeps the reader engaged and intrigued by the story.

A secret group of scientists, deep with the government, have been conducting insidious experiments on military soldiers and on other unwilling participants who have been misled about the "project". The "project" consists of injecting test subjects with one of three strains of virus turning them into lycan, vampire, or zombie. Once turned, more experiments are conducted, all the while making sure the test subjects never leave the premises, ever. The only way out is with a bullet in the back of the head.

After a year of acting and displaying in accordance with what the project scientists expect of them as lycans, Captain Jack Harper and his platoon, executing their plan of escape, are now battling their way out of the facilities. In the midst of their fight to leave, Jack grabs Dr. Lillian Rosewood, whom Jacks claims as his mate.

What I really like about this novel is the way Carter utilizes the other men in the platoon, not centralizing only on Jack and Lillian. This also includes Antonio, whom I find to be a very intriguing and complex individual. She was once a soldier but is now a vampire. Her directive is to find and destroy the lycans using soldiers and zombies (I know. Sounds odd). There's more to Antonio than meets the eye. All of this is what make the story even more enjoyable.

Why 4 stars, not 5? Others may disagree after reading this book, but I felt there was a little lull in the buildup of the battle between the lycans, vampires and zombies. Also, the one factor I find very irritating that I find in a majority of books, this one included, is the declaration of love between the hero and heroine in a matter of hours. In less than 36 hours of meeting, Jack and Lillian profess their love for one another. I understand these stories are works of fiction. However, this quick declaration of love taints my enjoyment of the story. I've got nothing against the protagonists saying "I love you," but let's at least make it seem more realistic.

Otherwise, this is a novel that should be read by all paranormal lovers. I look forward to the next book in the series.

posted by ChiefsLadyLove on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Meet friends @

The tour bus of doom only res.

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Instant mating with an Alpha Male hero One of my favorite genre

    Instant mating with an Alpha Male hero

    One of my favorite genres is instant mating with an Alpha Male hero. I was so excited I found this book on a whim while finding another book. I bought it based on some good reviews with Alpha Male heroes and was compared to Lora Leigh and Laurann Dohner. Two of my favorite authors. What I like the most with this series is the only thing similar to The Breeds and New Species is the characters are experienced on with another species DNA and sexy alpha male heroes. What I enjoy most it that aside from the 2 similarities with the Breeds and New Species series is that Mina Carter opens up a whole new world with Lycans, Vampires and Zombies mixed in one book.

    Jack is your Alpha Male hero who has been experienced on with an animal DNA. He is very protected of Lillian who is his mate. When any harm is being done to Lillian the beast in him loses control and she is the only person who can soothe the beast in him. The beast in him is usually angered and resentment but being around Lillian calms it. Jack does not hold anything back, when anything or anybody hurts Lillian. That man can kick some serious Zombie and human butt. The scenes where he is out of control are graphic and you feel like you are there on the sidelines watching the brutal beatings this man gives. He is also a loving hero who is sweet and I love when a hero will caress the heroine. Logan does not disappoint in the caressing department.

    Lillian does not know why but she has been drawn to jack since he came to the hospital on a gurney. I was not big on the way she thought of poor Jack while he was bloody and beaten up. She is basically drooling how sexy he is, but then has to stop herself because she should be thinking about how to help is wounds.
    ¿
    I did want more teasing between Logan and Lillian. The first kiss is like around 14% and love scene was like 66% in the book. There was more fighting off the zombies, others out to get Logan and trying to escape the hospital. I love a good mixture of romance and action but this book did not have it.
    ¿
    For me I was more interested in Antonia (Toni) and Darce. I really hope they get their own book. Darce should not be interested in Antonia. For the reason you really will have to buy this book to see the fun scenes they have.


    “Or I’ll rip your head off and dance in your entrails.”


    “Sure you will, sweetheart.” He blew her a kiss his words light and joking. “And I’ll put you over me knee and spank that luscious backside of yours.”


    She snarled a wordless sound of anger and frustration. He beckoned her on, his eyes as hard as amber stone they mimicked.


    “Come on, gorgeous. Let’s Dance.”


    I hope this is a series as it left me wanting to know more about the secondary characters. I will definitely buy more books by Mina Carter as I seen already that were interesting.

    Originally posted at Wickedly Delicious Book Blog

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    It freaked me out!!!

    The writing was good however it freaked me out!!! The descriptions were very detailed and zombies are not something I want that much detail about. Had to stop reading it because my imagination was in overdrive and it was a little scary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Umm ok....

    This book has the alpha i love byt thats about all it has going for it....there are multiple stories taking place there us not a hea! Sorry this was not for me! Way to much blood and gore... very little romance

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book, it had a great plot line and rich ch

    I really enjoyed this book, it had a great plot line and rich characters. I realize that as a foundation book in a series you have to get the driving force of your plot across to the reader but I felt that all they did was keep running from Project. Sure it had great scenes and very well developed characters but zombies have no place in a paranormal romance in my opinion. It left off with a real cliffhanger and cant wait to read the next installment. Overall I'd rate it a B-, a good read but not my favorite werewolf book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    Pink Skulls Book Reviews I loved the concept of the book. This

    Pink Skulls Book Reviews

    I loved the concept of the book. This is a world where a virus made by the government can turn you into a Blood, Lycan or a Zombie. Right up my alley and it has romance. For me though, this book fell short in the romance department. Half of the book was spent in a huge battle against the government and I really don't know how the hero and heroine even fell in love, lust that I got but not the love. Lillian was also the most understanding and accepting girl, in the space of a few hours she completely accepts all the super natural creatures that are popping up.

    The writing was very good and did keep you engaged. There were funny and quirky moments all though out the book. One of favorite's from the book.

    "Oh, don't be so damn stupid! You've seen zombies ready to snack on your brains. He's a werewolf, for heaven's sake. Probably buttering you up for dinner later!"

    I gave this book a 3 because I did enjoy it and it was a fun read. The writing is good and the bed room scenes are hot and well let's just say Cpt. Jack is HOT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    It was ok

    It set up the series more than it told their story though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1