BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Perfect Mistress

Average Rating 3.5
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Clever and Spirited Good Fun!

After 3 years of widowhood, the little money her husband left Lady Julia Winterset is fast dwindling down to nothing, but when her uncle dies she's given an opportunity for salvation in the form a diary containing her great-grandmother, Lady Hermione Middlebury's shocki...
After 3 years of widowhood, the little money her husband left Lady Julia Winterset is fast dwindling down to nothing, but when her uncle dies she's given an opportunity for salvation in the form a diary containing her great-grandmother, Lady Hermione Middlebury's shocking memoirs... Now to save herself and her elderly grandmother from financial ruin, Julia's resolved to ignore convention and polite society and have the scandalous memoirs published. She's been assured that scandal does, indeed, sell a lot of books. So she's quite determined to sell the memoirs, even if those memoirs would reveal wickedly naughty indiscretions and the intimate details of her great-grandmother's affairs with various gentlemen. Secrets, perhaps, best left untold and allowed to remain in the past, but what other choice does she have?..... When the pompous and haughty Earl of Mountdale comes to her and dares tell her she can't publish the shamefully outrageous book because the memoirs included details of his now 76 year old father's amorous dalliances with the lady in question, and insists she sell it to him so he can destroy it. He angers Julia and she flatly refuses..... But Harrison vows he won't allow scandal to touch his family name, and he'll use every weapon at his disposal to stop the book from being published. If he can't buy it outright from Lady Winterset or charm it out of her, he'll just have to come up with another brilliant plan..... *****Harrison and Julia will soon discover LOVE is what sometimes happens while you're busy making other plans. *****One of the things I've always loved about reading New York Times Bestselling author Victoria Alexander's novels is that I know tantalizing romance and wonderful humor will go hand in hand; and I can always count on her stories to lift my spirits and make me smile. Her latest novel, THE PERFECT MISTRESS, the delightful first book in her new series called The Mistress Trio, was no exception... Fans old and new will be sure to enjoy this enchanting tale. If you love clever and witty verbal sparring and an enticing build up of sensual tension between the hero and heroine, as I do, then you will love this story because no one does that better than Ms. Alexander. Her writing was fast paced, smooth, sharp, and funny, and storyline was painstakingly plotted with several surprising twists and turns that made for a thoroughly engaging, imaginative, and refreshingly creative book. The hint of paranormal, I felt, was a charming addition to the story and the nocturnal visits from the charismatic and completely irresistible Lady Hermione, the friendly ghost, and her captivating entourage of spirit escorts made the story fun and quite different from your average historical romance... I loved how the story explored several different themes: second chances at Love and to make amends, strong family ties, the powerful bonds of friendship and the possibility of spirits and Guardian Angels among us, in an entertaining, and yet, thoughtful, positive and effective manner. The closeness, sincere camaraderie and gentle teasing shared between the widows Julia, Veronica and Portia was heartwarming and a pleasure to read. I'm definitely looking forward to the next book in the series... The Perfect Mistress is a tale well told and a wonderfully engaging novel. It's Victoria Alexander at her most delightful and wittiest, and lighthearted Historical Romance storytelling at its very finest.

posted by Irene_M on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great book if you can handle the epub problems

Almost every page has a name with a hyphen between two syllables in the middle of a line but it's almost never the same name. Whatever software produced the epub is smart enough not to hyphenate regular words but not smart enough to not hyphenate names. Sigh!

posted by JHines on February 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Clever and Spirited Good Fun!

    After 3 years of widowhood, the little money her husband left Lady Julia Winterset is fast dwindling down to nothing, but when her uncle dies she's given an opportunity for salvation in the form a diary containing her great-grandmother, Lady Hermione Middlebury's shocking memoirs... Now to save herself and her elderly grandmother from financial ruin, Julia's resolved to ignore convention and polite society and have the scandalous memoirs published. She's been assured that scandal does, indeed, sell a lot of books. So she's quite determined to sell the memoirs, even if those memoirs would reveal wickedly naughty indiscretions and the intimate details of her great-grandmother's affairs with various gentlemen. Secrets, perhaps, best left untold and allowed to remain in the past, but what other choice does she have?..... When the pompous and haughty Earl of Mountdale comes to her and dares tell her she can't publish the shamefully outrageous book because the memoirs included details of his now 76 year old father's amorous dalliances with the lady in question, and insists she sell it to him so he can destroy it. He angers Julia and she flatly refuses..... But Harrison vows he won't allow scandal to touch his family name, and he'll use every weapon at his disposal to stop the book from being published. If he can't buy it outright from Lady Winterset or charm it out of her, he'll just have to come up with another brilliant plan..... *****Harrison and Julia will soon discover LOVE is what sometimes happens while you're busy making other plans. *****One of the things I've always loved about reading New York Times Bestselling author Victoria Alexander's novels is that I know tantalizing romance and wonderful humor will go hand in hand; and I can always count on her stories to lift my spirits and make me smile. Her latest novel, THE PERFECT MISTRESS, the delightful first book in her new series called The Mistress Trio, was no exception... Fans old and new will be sure to enjoy this enchanting tale. If you love clever and witty verbal sparring and an enticing build up of sensual tension between the hero and heroine, as I do, then you will love this story because no one does that better than Ms. Alexander. Her writing was fast paced, smooth, sharp, and funny, and storyline was painstakingly plotted with several surprising twists and turns that made for a thoroughly engaging, imaginative, and refreshingly creative book. The hint of paranormal, I felt, was a charming addition to the story and the nocturnal visits from the charismatic and completely irresistible Lady Hermione, the friendly ghost, and her captivating entourage of spirit escorts made the story fun and quite different from your average historical romance... I loved how the story explored several different themes: second chances at Love and to make amends, strong family ties, the powerful bonds of friendship and the possibility of spirits and Guardian Angels among us, in an entertaining, and yet, thoughtful, positive and effective manner. The closeness, sincere camaraderie and gentle teasing shared between the widows Julia, Veronica and Portia was heartwarming and a pleasure to read. I'm definitely looking forward to the next book in the series... The Perfect Mistress is a tale well told and a wonderfully engaging novel. It's Victoria Alexander at her most delightful and wittiest, and lighthearted Historical Romance storytelling at its very finest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Great book if you can handle the epub problems

    Almost every page has a name with a hyphen between two syllables in the middle of a line but it's almost never the same name. Whatever software produced the epub is smart enough not to hyphenate regular words but not smart enough to not hyphenate names. Sigh!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    My cup of tea

    I have a new author to add to my list of favorites. It was an interesting story, regardless of the e-publication's errors which aren't the writer's (or story content's) fault. There were some true laugh-out-loud comments and some touching reminders that we all need to keep in mind when dealing with love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Entertaining

    The Perfect Mistress has several funny entertaining sections. I liked the close friendship and support between the three intelligent widowed females. The plot was interesting, but definitely not new to this genre. The primary male characters are one good but boring man, one morally and ethically corrupt man, and one confused, moral and ethical man who falls in love with the heroine. As a side note his father's is able to reunite with the love of his life who disappeared thirty years ago. The other reviews are correct in that sections of this story are boring and drag on. Skim over those fast and the rest is entertaining. I hope there are stories planned about the two widowed friends. I look forward to reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Witty Entertaining Good Read

    I like this author and would buy other books written by Victoria Alexander. Text was very interesting with a combination of past and present. Story kept my interest and was easy to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Wnderfu Wonderfully written

    What a great book!! It is witty, fun, and had a perfect message. That life is too short and to live it with no regrets. I look forward to reading more from this author!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Boring

    Thankfully this was not a purchase, but was lent to me. I have been plodding along through it, waiting for the story to be interesting, but with a hundred pages left, I'm giving up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Quick, fun read

    Nothing crazy or new, but it was a fun read. Didn't expect the supernatural bit in it, but it just made the story more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    not great

    It started out good but by the middle was just a chore to get through. Disappointing - sorry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Absolutely Awful

    Poorly written. This story (?) coud have been told in 10 pages. Lots of repitition. Save for money for a better book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    great

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Entertaining

    This book was just a fun read. It had me laughing several times. Not great literature by any means, but worth the time and money. Its been a while since a book actually made me LOL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Not Impressed

    I have only read about half of the book and do not think I will finish it. It has not grabbed me and I had to force myself to finish even half. There is not any excitement in my opinion. Also the spelling/grammar glitches in the NookBook are annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it

    There were a few iffy parts, I guess, parts that I wanted changed--but it was pretty good :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Terrible-Couldn't finish it

    I don't know what the other reviewers are talking about.
    I have read her books before and have liked them but this book was so terrible I couldn't even finish it.
    The whole plot and story telling was boring and unimaginitive.
    My recommendation...pass it by

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book!

    This is the first book that I have read by this author and thoroughly enjoyed it. I recommend this for anyone who loves romance and funny banterinf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Made me laugh; I had to read it in one sitting.

    This is a wonderful romance story. The characters are warm and the situations utterly believable. Ms. Alexander has a wonderful sense of humor, and it comes through in her characters without making them seem ridiculous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    True Romantic

    This author is one of my favorites....and I am pleased to say...this book was another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Great Escapism

    I was quite engaged in the characters which I rarely can say on what I call my "fluff" reads. I actually found myself at work looking forward to reading more and I rarely do that with these historical romances. The hero is just so...real. His foot in mouth issues and his arrogance make him so. I know men like him. Really.

    Also, I enjoyed the plot. It is one I hadn't come across yet and I found it refreshing and fun.

    The only frustrations I had was trivial and that was the way the E-book translated certain words. There are very oddly placed hyphens throughout that I tripped upon several times. On occasion the same word has them, but in different spots. As a beach read, I give it a 5 but I am rating this a 4 as compared to the best of the archeological fiction and mystery fiction I also read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fantastically Fun Read!

    Dear Readers: This #1 New York Times Bestselling author has proven many a time that her amazing intelligence and wonderful wit appeals to millions and millions of readers. This newest offering is no exception. With the thousands upon thousands of romance, historical, and British novels, Ms. Alexander is still the only writer that can weave all the genres together to form a perfect literary quilt. In this new novel we're introduced first to Lady Hermione Middlebury, who is penning her memoirs in order to leave the slightly scandalous story of her life to the generations coming up behind her. She knows for a fact that her own children will not be interested in hearing about their Mom. After all, she was a bit too free with her love and laughter in a time when women were supposed to be quiet, calm, and the perfect wife for a well-to-do Lord. Lady Hermione, however, makes no apologies for the life she's led. In fact, she's grateful and somewhat triumphant with the choices she's made and the life of romance and adventure she's led. Thirty years later Hermione's great Granddaughter, Lady Julia Winterset, finds herself with full ownership of Lady Middlebury's memoirs. Julia is a lovely woman whose beloved husband passed on at an early age and, unfortunately, didn't leave any finances behind to support Julia and the household staff. So Julia embarks on trying with all her might to get her great grandmother's memoirs published. In that way, she can receive royalties for the rest of her days and support herself without taking a husband for purely financial reasons. Her best friends are Portia and Veronica, two other widows who, unlike Julia, are women with money and want to give her some to keep her head above water. But Julia refuses. she has been told by the handsome publisher that the old memoirs are extremely scandalous and will definitely sell big. However, Veronica's brother-in-law Harrison, a very strait-laced man who reminds the reader of Mr. Darcy, does not want the book on the market. His father is mentioned in one of Lady Middlebury's slightly...hot chapters, and he wants to spare his father and the family any embarrassment or pain. When he enlists the help of his annoying sister-in-law to get him "in" with Lady Julia so he can find a way to keep her from publishing, the fun and romance really begin. The conversations between the characters are extremely charming, and watching Harrison turn from a pompous, egocentric, dull man to one who engages in sarcasm and jokes when he's around Lady Julia is beyond entertaining. Add in a ghost who wants nothing more than to set Julia up with Harrison, and a grandmother who pretends to be insane so that others will leave her be, and the story takes off in all different directions keeping the reader on their toes the whole way. This romance is a book that will appeal to everyone...Victoria Alexander has, most definitely, struck gold again! Until Next Time, Amy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11