Customer Reviews for

Perfect Poison: A Female Serial Killer's Deadly Medicine

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Profile of Death

It is a blood-curdling page turner. But it is also a meticulously researched study of the inner recesses of the mind of a psychopathic narcissist. The incredible story of Kristen H. Gilbert, a VA nurse who murdered her patients, probably to show off, especially to her p...
It is a blood-curdling page turner. But it is also a meticulously researched study of the inner recesses of the mind of a psychopathic narcissist. The incredible story of Kristen H. Gilbert, a VA nurse who murdered her patients, probably to show off, especially to her paramour, the facility's security guard. The book is a parallel anatomy of the disintegration of a personality - and the merciless slayings of veterans, young and old. It also provides a breathtaking and intimate view of how ER and ICU operate in modern medical facilities and how vulnerable these are to manipulation and worse. The book is refreshingly politically incorrect. The author makes no secret of what he thinks of his subject and her unspeakable acts. But, like a good detective, he never loses track of the scent. The plot thickens, the tension mounts, the reader is constantly kept guessing and on the edge of his seat. The only regrettable thing is that this superb thriller is based on real events. Sam Vaknin, author of 'Malignant Self Love - Narcissism Revisited'.

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

interesting but dragged on and on

The whole story was very interesting, and while I realize the whole process took so long to get an arrest and conviction, it just dragged. Even though the woman in here was a true psychopath, the author was clearly biased when he wrote it instead of just sticking to th...
The whole story was very interesting, and while I realize the whole process took so long to get an arrest and conviction, it just dragged. Even though the woman in here was a true psychopath, the author was clearly biased when he wrote it instead of just sticking to the facts.

posted by Kashenka20 on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    interesting but dragged on and on

    The whole story was very interesting, and while I realize the whole process took so long to get an arrest and conviction, it just dragged. Even though the woman in here was a true psychopath, the author was clearly biased when he wrote it instead of just sticking to the facts.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    A Real Page Turner

    This is what I call a 'one-more-page' book; I swear I'll read just 'one more page' before I put the book down & do something else. However, 'one more page' easily turns into 15 or 20 more. This is a chilling profile of a psychotic narcissist in the guise of Florence Nightengale. Very well written & a must for all true-crime fans.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2003

    The Profile of Death

    It is a blood-curdling page turner. But it is also a meticulously researched study of the inner recesses of the mind of a psychopathic narcissist. The incredible story of Kristen H. Gilbert, a VA nurse who murdered her patients, probably to show off, especially to her paramour, the facility's security guard. The book is a parallel anatomy of the disintegration of a personality - and the merciless slayings of veterans, young and old. It also provides a breathtaking and intimate view of how ER and ICU operate in modern medical facilities and how vulnerable these are to manipulation and worse. The book is refreshingly politically incorrect. The author makes no secret of what he thinks of his subject and her unspeakable acts. But, like a good detective, he never loses track of the scent. The plot thickens, the tension mounts, the reader is constantly kept guessing and on the edge of his seat. The only regrettable thing is that this superb thriller is based on real events. Sam Vaknin, author of 'Malignant Self Love - Narcissism Revisited'.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Well done!

    Medical mysteries can be difficult to follow, but the author did a brilliant job in laying out enough information to make it easily understood. There was just enough background information on the participants to provide relevance without unnecessarily weighing the story down. Note to readers: don't start this book unless you have the time to finish...you won't be able to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read!!

    Wow-this is a really good book and it is superbly written! I could not put it down in anticipation of what would happen next. I love the detail and the way the writer presents the facts in a non-prejudicial manner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    shocking, a true serial killer in the realm of ted bundy

    Kristen Gilbert may appear to be well-liked soccer mom and caring nurse, but she manipulated just about everyone in her life--including her helpless victims, US veterans. It's hard to believe this is Phelps's first book. He writes better than Ann Rule, one of my favorites. I highly recommend PERFECT POISON, which is sure to be a true crime classic right along side the best!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Phelps has done it again! He continues to hold my attention beyo

    Phelps has done it again! He continues to hold my attention beyond bedtime. Very good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Great book

    And another well written hard to put down book by phelps

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Good Book

    I like it. Read very well. I am a true crime fan it may not be for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Keeps your attention

    I found this book to be very good. Was hard to put down. What a sick and evil person Gilbert is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    Perfect Posion was a incredable story!

    This book is a must read for those that read true crime books. He tells all, no holding back when it comes to just how horrifying this women was it keeps you on the edge of your seat!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    A MUST READ for any True Crime Lover!!!

    PERFECT POISON flawlessly tells the story of Kristen Gilbert, a narcissistic woman hell-bent on getting what she wants -- at any cost! M. William Phelps delves into the before and after of the story giving the reader a well-rounded view from the inside. With his use of thoughts of characters, he makes the reader the fly on the wall that we've all wanted to be at one time or another. After such a dramatic and horrible tale, this reader hopes to never enter a hospital again. Phelps' insight reminds the reader that any person could be a serial killer! Without Phelps, much of this story would have gone untold, possibly forever. A MUST-READ!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    !

    !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Fan of true crime; not of this

    I am a huge fan of true crime books, but reading this book felt like a chore. It just dragged on for ages. The chapters are all extremely short so there are over 90 of them! I've read other books by this author and I'm not really a fan of his. It's a shame really since the subject seemed so interesting. I believe she was mentioned on "Deadly Women"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2