Customer Reviews for

Perfect Scoundrels (Heist Society Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Ally Carter has done it again! I'll continue to admit that as a

Ally Carter has done it again! I'll continue to admit that as a Gallagher Girls reader I was skeptical about jumping into a totally different series from Ally, and I am so glad today that I did! Heist Society is quickly becoming my #1 favorite series and I'm looking f...
Ally Carter has done it again! I'll continue to admit that as a Gallagher Girls reader I was skeptical about jumping into a totally different series from Ally, and I am so glad today that I did! Heist Society is quickly becoming my #1 favorite series and I'm looking forward to more of Kat & Co. in the future.

Please note: Yes I realize that there is not yet a Nook version of this book available but PLEASE people, DO NOT down rate this book because of that!!! That is wrong and insensitive, this book deserves 5 stars, rather in digital or hard copy.

posted by Miastar on February 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Why isn't there a nook book? I am going crazy waiting!

Why isn't there a nook book? I am going crazy waiting!

posted by FlightlessBirdKG on February 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted April 17, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Two years ago--before Katarina Bishop put together her own heist

    Two years ago--before Katarina Bishop put together her own heist society and robbed the most secure museum in the world--Kat tried to steal a Monet. Except it was a fake. And instead of a painting she wound up stealing a boy who happily threw himself into Kat's world.

    Stolen or not, W. W. Hale the Fifth isn't a part of Kat's world. Not really.

    When Hale unexpectedly inherits his grandmother's billion dollar company, Kat realizes it was, perhaps, inevitable that Hale would eventually return to his own world of wealth and privilege--the one place Kat can't follow.

    Things get worse when Kat learns Hale might be a mark in an elaborate con instead of an unlikely heir.

    Saving Hale and his company could be impossible. But Kat's been told a lot of things are impossible in her short life. And her family is behind her all the way. The only problem is saving Hale Industries may not be the same thing as saving her Hale. And if Kat has to choose, she isn't sure there is a right answer in Perfect Scoundrels (2013) by Ally Carter.

    Perfect Scoundrels is the third book in Carter's Heist Society series. It is preceded by Heist Society and Uncommon Criminals. (There is also an e-novella featuring characters from this series and Carter's Gallagher Girls series called Double Crossed which is available online.) Set mere months after Kat's most infamous heist, Perfect Scoundrels takes a small step back from all of the scheming and planning to provide a welcome look at the characters who readers know and love from this series.

    Fear not, there are still quite a few heists, cons, and surprises to be found in this installment. The job might be personal but Kat still has plenty of tricks up her sleeve that will surprise her crew as well as readers in a reveal that makes pulling off the perfect job seem effortless as Perfect Scoundrels ticks away to an ending that readers might not see coming. Kat's singular family also features prominently in the second half of the story when the pace really picks up after a more character-driven start.

    Carter's enviably sleek writing and careful focus on characters and their relationships (particularly Kat and Hale's evolving one) make Perfect Scoundrels a page-turner with as many laughs as surprises. And it has Bagshaws, of course. Because as Kat's cousin Gabrielle will tell you, everything is better with Bagshaws.

    Possible Pairings: The Best Night of Your (Pathetic) Life by Tara Altebrando, White Cat by Holly Black, Strings Attached by Judy Blundell, From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E. L. Konigsburg, The Disreputable History of Frankie-Landau by E. Lockhart , Leverage (television series), White Collar (television series), The Italian Job (movie)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    Hiest Society

    Is Ally Carter making another book to the series?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Perfect

    I love this book!!! I litterly almost had a heart attack when they said Uncle Eddie died and I apsallotly cant wait till the 4 book comes out (hopefully but i think it will) I hope you like this series as much as me ( i kinda wish Nick was in the books more and hopefully in the next book but over all it was really good)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Prefect Scoundrels = Prefect Read

    Ally Carter does it again! Carter takes us back with Kat and her gang and this time it is personal. The case affecting one of their own Hale (Kat's now boyfriend). With twists and turns Kat is racing against the clock, and nothing is as it seems. The ending was a bit of a shocker and ties in missing pieces in a nice little bow, yet was very suspenseful I could not put it down. I loved the first two, love this one and can't wait for the next one to come out (hopefully).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Fourth book

    I saw a lot of people asking if there's going to be a fourth book, and the answer is yes! Ally Carter said that she's hoping to make the series very long, like Nancy Drew. Three cheers for her! Who came up with the stupid trilogy idea anyway? I mean, not to be offensive or anything, but three books and some side stories just aren't enough! Anyway, the next book is supposed to come out in 2015, which kind of sucks, because I know I'll devour it in a day or less! Then it's two more years of waiting... and dying... and re-reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    I absolutely love Ally Carter. With each book she writes I find

    I absolutely love Ally Carter. With each book she writes I find myself becoming even more in love with characters and the story itself. I cannot stop rereading her books. Each one has found a place in my heart. The story lines are exotic. The characters are amazing and so creative. her type of writing is like nothing I have ever read before. She definitely is one of the greats!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Loving this book!!!!

    Ok so i bought the physical book but either way it was amazing and soooo entertaing ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Name!?!?!

    Omigosh i think i might die if i dont find out hale's first name! I know it isnt very important but i cant stop trying to figure it out!!!! I reaaaaallllly hope there is a next book because i LOVED the series but i need to know his name!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Towards the beginning of the book Hale's grandmother passes away

    Towards the beginning of the book Hale's grandmother passes away and he inherits Hale Industries, passing over his father W.W Hale the Fourth, even though he is a minor. From the time the will is read, Marcus believes the will was tampered with and Hazel's wishes are not being carried out. Kat doesn't want to hurt Hale, but she believes Marcus and takes on the job of finding the real will.

    Kat and Hale later discover that Hale Industries has been working on a prototype of a new energy product that should generate a fortune for the company. The problem is, someone has stolen it and the plans and replaced it with a fake. As Hale begins to spiral out of control, Kat realizes that successfully completing this job is not just about saving Hale Industries, but Hale himself. If she wants to save the boy she loves, she needs to complete the biggest job of her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely LOVE this series! This was quite a ride. I love it

    I absolutely LOVE this series! This was quite a ride. I love it when they do their heists and cons and seeing how they do them, but this time it's personal. Hale seems to have inherited his grandmother's billion dollar company, but Kat's worried someone's making him a mark. Kat calls on her family to help Hale and figure out who could be doing this, and why, and then once they find the one responsible, out con the conman.

    Whew, like I said above, quite a ride! Every few pages had me on the edge of my seat. This was such a good story. I like that each book in this series is a story in and of itself. Sure the characters are the same and there is some character development, but each of the books revolves around a different heist or con, unlike other books with one storyline over multiple books. These books are fun but there is an element of suspense as you watch them pull the heist or run the con, wondering not only if it'll work, but how they did it. Definitely a series I would recommend. And this one is probably my favorite out of the three. I really hope there's going to be another book, I want more adventures with Kat and her crew!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Hi

    Is there going to be a 4th

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Anonyous

    Ally carter is my fave author ever! She has awesome twists in her books. They make u feels like ur in the book and part of their world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Read bottom onel.

    ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Genevive51@gmail.com

    Ad me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Astonishing!!!

    I have waited since the first book for Hale and Kat to combine their world, I just widh they had some more "cute" moments together

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Seriously it everything you could possibly want in a book!!! it

    Seriously it everything you could possibly want in a book!!! it was AMAZING!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Good ending!  I love these books but this one had a sort of slow

    Good ending!  I love these books but this one had a sort of slow, jumpy beginning.  Of course, in the end it's a great story and with fun, secret, spy tactics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Perfect Scoundrels, A Perfect Book..

    Thanks so much Ally Carter! I am in love with this series, and instantly fell in love with the characters! I love all of them; Kat,Hale, Nick, Gabrielle, Simon, Hammish & Angus: The whole crew! I especially love that Ally Carter kept this series clean and refreshing! The Heist Society got me hooked and kept me begging for more! I am crazy in love with reading, but so many books have "bad stuff" in them or is just inappropriate especially considering my age (I'm 12 turning 13) but I am so happy that I have found a new author that writes extremely well and kept my interest the whole time! I love this series so much and I hope you do too! I really hope that there are many more positive reviews than negative, I understand its a review and what we thought of the book but, I don't know, I'd rather it be respectful (even if its negative) Thank you again, Ally Carter! Goodbye... ~TrueDreams~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Will

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Read

    If you love ally carter (and all things hale), you will definetly enjoy this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5