Customer Reviews for

Perfect Timing: A Harrigan Family Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ!

I was selected to be a part of this review team for Catherine Anderson's new book, therefore I received it early. This book, like the rest of her books, captivated me from the beginning sentence. It took me on a fabulous journey in the life of Quincy. She has outdone he...
I was selected to be a part of this review team for Catherine Anderson's new book, therefore I received it early. This book, like the rest of her books, captivated me from the beginning sentence. It took me on a fabulous journey in the life of Quincy. She has outdone herself again, with new twists and turns, showing what a remarkable talent she has as an author to draw you into this story and keep you there throughout the entire book! There is not a dry moment to be had throughout the story!

posted by sunnyray59 on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

At first I didn¿t want to read this book simply because this is

At first I didn’t want to read this book simply because this is the last of the Harrigan’s and I really don’t want it to end. I have read all of her books and can honestly say that Perfect Timing is not one of my favorites, simply because of the time travel. However; ti...
At first I didn’t want to read this book simply because this is the last of the Harrigan’s and I really don’t want it to end. I have read all of her books and can honestly say that Perfect Timing is not one of my favorites, simply because of the time travel. However; time travel aside, Perfect Timing made me laugh, cry and laugh some more. It may not be one of my favorites, but it is not even close to being on my worst reads ever list. I did like the way the author took modern day conveniences that we take for granted and make them foreign and confusing to Ceara. Items such as an electric stove versus a wood burning stove, running water, electricity and “the little box” called a phone.
I loved to read of the “Hen parties” since me and the women in my family have been having these for some time now. We were just never smart enough to name it. However, in all of the time that the women in my family have had these parties, we never talked about sex to that extent. There is just something about having that conversation with your mother, step-mother or mother-in-law in the room.
One thing is for certain, I can’t wait to read her next creation. I hope that it is another family that I can spend the next thirteen years getting to know. (“Baby Love” is the first in the series, released in October 1999)

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    I. LOVE! Catherine Anderson. I have for years ever since I foun

    I. LOVE! Catherine Anderson. I have for years ever since I found a copy of 'Keegan's Lady'. Since then I've read everything she's written. Her stories suck you in at the very beginning and her characters instantly find their way into your heart. They make you laugh, they make you cry, they leave you happy and content.

    I was fortunate enough to get an advanced copy of 'Perfect Timing' and let me tell you, it's no different. From the moment you start, you're sucked in and find yourself turning page after page after page to find out what happens.

    I won't go into detail on the book -- I don't like spoilers and I don't want to spoil this one for anyone. I will say at first I was a little disappointed. 'Perfect Timing' is different than anything Catherine's written before. However, once I let myself go, it was a non-stop read for me -- as her books always are. Lately I've had a hard time sticking with a book -- I'll get bored, put it down and come back to it off and on. NOT with this one. It's a wonderful story that will keep you, the reader, glued to the pages. Catherine has yet another winner with 'Perfect Timing' -- I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    I have read this book twice already. It is a good book.  It wasn

    I have read this book twice already. It is a good book.  It wasn't my favorite of the series but I still enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    good book!


    This book is classic c.anderson at her best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    I have read everything Catherine Anderson has written and I have

    I have read everything Catherine Anderson has written and I have absolutely LOVED every single book. BUT, this one I didn't loved AS much. Don't get me wrong, it still has the author's excellent writing and ability for you to go thru many emotions...crying, laughing, contentment and more. What I didn't care for was the time-travel fantasy of it. I also hated that I can read a book really fast, but having to read the heroine's "accent" made me have to read slowly to understand it. I also had this annoying thing where I would read her name and pronounce it CEE ERA and then correct myself to KEE ERA, which also slowed down my reading. Overall, it took longer to get thru the book.

    It's better if you read the books previous to this to get a sense of all the characters. I love the family. I really loved Quincy in this one. I love the women's Hen comraderie, the way the families are heartfelt, caring and loving.

    I HIGHLY recommend her books. She writes with heart and emotion...she always brings you on a roller coaster of emotions and feelings. She creates and introduces you to characters that have a way of creeping into your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    interesting

    Ms. Anderson is one of my favorite authors. Her stories are always readable with interesting characters. This was a fast read as usual with a different plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    a good read

    like the irish settings in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    This book is really worth reading. If you like this series you w

    This book is really worth reading. If you like this series you will like this book. You have to keep reading to see what Quincy's woman will do or say next. Again a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    What a great book. 4.5 stars. This is the last book in the Harri

    What a great book. 4.5 stars. This is the last book in the Harrigan series and it's different than anything Mrs. Anderson has done before. This one is "outside the box." I was a little worried about hints of the paranormal sneaking into a much beloved series, but Mrs. Anderson pulls it off flawlessly. This book, like all the others, centers around love, family, and faith. You need to read the previous books of the series to fully appreciate this one. I'm sad to see the end of the Harrigans, but so happy it ended perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I received a copy of Catherine Anderson's Perfect Timing to read

    I received a copy of Catherine Anderson's Perfect Timing to read and review. I found Catherine's work last year when I read Lucky Penny and I made it my mission to read everything of hers that was available at my local libraries. I especially love this series; I love the families and the individual characteristics of each member. Perfect Timing is full love, tears, sacrifice, fun and laughter. My only objection is that as this is the final chapter of the series, I wanted a more thorough recap. I'm one of those people that likes to know what happened to everyonhe else, and although they touched on it for all family members, not all where mentioned. Otherwise, I cried, laughed and felt all of the emotions brought forth in the story, especially that of a husband's courage to stand back and support the selfish act of a mother's love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Catherine Anderson is one of my favorite romance writers. Havin

    Catherine Anderson is one of my favorite romance writers. Having said that I was worried when I saw the plot involved time travel, but was happy to see that she moved the story along seemlessly. Although this is not one of my favorite books by her, it was a good book and I was satisfied with the end result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    I loved the heroine who is from another century and looks at the

    I loved the heroine who is from another century and looks at the modern world in a way that may help everyone see what is good and bad in the current century.  Rich in emotion and keeps you reading until the very end.  Being a good little mormon girl, I was put off by the sex toy references and It made me ponder that I might be more prudish than a catholic girl from another century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    This was another great Catherine Anderson book. The last book in

    This was another great Catherine Anderson book. The last book in the Harrigan family series. We get to know Quincy. I love this series and am so ssd to see it again. I will keep this book and read it over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    I am a huge Catherine Anderson fan, and really enjoyed much abou

    I am a huge Catherine Anderson fan, and really enjoyed much about this book. It is very different from her normal work, and I found that to be a positive. Although I am not a fan of time travel memes, this one worked okay for me. I definitely would recommend to buy Perfect Timing to read over a spring break vacation or brighten a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    I was lucky enough to receive an advance copy of this book in ex

    I was lucky enough to receive an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. If I had not received this book for free,
    I would have bought it because I have read all of the other books in the series and I had been waiting for this one to be released.
    I have read and enjoyed nearly all of Catherine Anderson's books and I enjoyed this book also. Although it is not my favorite book
    in this series, it is still one that I will enjoy rereading. I laughed a lot and then I cried. Although parts of the story are a little
    farfetched and difficult to believe, Catherine makes it work and draws you into the story because she is such a skilled writer. I thought
    the vocabulary lessons that Quincy had to give Ceara were very entertaining. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who
    enjoys a good romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    I I received an ARC with my promise to review PERFECT TIMING.



    I I received an ARC with my promise to review PERFECT TIMING. I have read all of the Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan books and I am sorry to know that Perfect Timing is the last in this great series.

    When I realized that there was some time travel involved in the story, I was a little disappointed, as I usually steer clear of fantasy romance. But it was essential to the story and played out very well in other parts of the story.

    There was quite a lot of humor throughout the story, which is a big plus in my book. I smiled and chuckled throughout the book.

    Because Ceara was from the year 1574 I felt Catherine Anderson did a wonderful job portraying Ceara's confusion with our modern English language, electronics, etc. It made her more credible and the storyline more credible, too.

    It was fabulous having all of the Harrigan's present in this book and I especially loved the "Hens".

    There was conflict and sacrifice and difficult decisions made by both Ceara and Quincy. It was a wonderful romance, with a HEA. Thank you Catherine for this gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    I was given an advanced copy to read, which was a blessing as I

    I was given an advanced copy to read, which was a blessing as I couldn’t wait to read it!

    Catherine Anderson has taken a step out of her comfort zone. She has written a unique plot that I’ve never read before, and I read a minimum of 3 books a week! As usual her storyline is well written, with an easy flow, and has distinctive characters that pull at your heart. Catherine writes love stories with true romance. I fall in love with the hero every time, and Perfect Timing is no exception. It’s one of those books you finish and still think about later. Most important it played on my emotions, I both laughed and cried.

    Perfect Timing is part of the Harrigan Family Novels and but it is not necessary to read the previous books. However the entire Keegan/Coulter - Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan series is a MUST READ and ALL of my Catherine Anderson books are on my keeper shelf I would prefer to give this book 4½ stars but this rating system doesn’t allow for it. (I reserve 5 for the best book I’ve read this year)..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Great book! Not my favorite one in the series but still truly en

    Great book! Not my favorite one in the series but still truly enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Love it!,,,

    As always catherine anderson delivers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    I was so excited to receive ARC of perfect timing. This book bro

    I was so excited to receive ARC of perfect timing. This book brought was wonderful, brought out any emotions. Loved Quincy and Ceara. The only sad thing was to say good bye to the Coulter/Harrigan/Kedrick families. It was nice to revisit with them though. They have been around for many years. I have read everything by Catherine. She will not disappoint you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was such a feel-good book! (Though I *was* a teensy bit con

    This was such a feel-good book! (Though I *was* a teensy bit concerned toward the end--had to keep telling myself, "It's a romanace. There HAS to be a HEA! It's a requirement!") I've only read one other in the series so far--My Sunshine, which I loved--and I wasn't more than 3 chapters in to this one before I was checking to see if the others were available at my library. (They are, thank goodness. I'll be very busy for quite a while now--and no doubt re-reading this one when I finish!) I thought this one worked well as a stand alone--I quickly figured out who everyone was and wasn't a bit lost--and I'm sure regular readers of the series will be thrilled to see their favorites back for this latest novel.




    I read this in a single day--I just didn't want to put it down. Quincy and Ceara are wonderful characters, and once I managed to wrap my head around everyone's quick acceptance (except for Quincy, and with good reason--I totally sympathized with his point of view, poor guy) of their need to get married and have a wedding night IMMEDIATELY, I really enjoyed the ride this book took me on. Watching Ceara adapt to life in the 21st century was particularly amusing. Anderson did an excellent job of keeping her in character while at the same time showing her growth. Watching Quincy adjust to his wife's--peculiarities? (I don't want to spoil anything here)--was just as fun. Honestly, it was just all so darn cute, I could have overlooked a lot of sins. Fortunately, I didn't have to. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2