Customer Reviews for

Perfect Timing

Average Rating 4
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The perfect rainy day read....

Well, it was a crappy, grey day and I was feeling crappy too. My plan - to hunker down on the couch and try to feel better, but with a book of course. As I perused my TBR pile, I just knew which book would do the trick - Jill Mansell's latest North American release from...
Well, it was a crappy, grey day and I was feeling crappy too. My plan - to hunker down on the couch and try to feel better, but with a book of course. As I perused my TBR pile, I just knew which book would do the trick - Jill Mansell's latest North American release from Sourcebooks - Perfect Timing.

Poppy Dunbar is out on her hen night, celebrating the night before her wedding to Rob. When she accidentally falls and is helped up by an attractive man named Tom, she is speechless. The attraction between them is instantaneous and undeniable. Tom voices it out loud" I wish you weren't getting married tomorrow."

And she doesn't - calling off the wedding for her own reasons. She runs away to London to start over. Once in London, she starts a new job, meets new friends, has madcap adventures....

Poppy is warm hearted, a bit of a scatterbrain, but infinitely lovable. Her new friends include a gorgeous painter who loves every woman he meets - literally, a jealous flatmate pining for love, the shy boss who can't seem to express himself, and older characters full of wit and wisdom.

Perfect Timing is full of Mansell's trademark style - missed cues, misunderstandings, lots of humorous situations and of course romance. And the best part of all - happy endings.

Really, Mansell is the queen of Brit chick lit. Her stories are addicting, the characters are people you'd like to know, and the settings places you'd like to live. (I wouldn't mind working in the Portobello Road market) You're guaranteed a feel good read, without question.

And yes, I forgot about how crappy I felt, lost in this fun filled, entertaining tale!

posted by Twink on November 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A lot of fun...

A light hearted, fun read that will be perfect for your Summer beach bag. You will want to read more Jill Mansell books.

posted by BookWormJH on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 480 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The perfect rainy day read....

    Well, it was a crappy, grey day and I was feeling crappy too. My plan - to hunker down on the couch and try to feel better, but with a book of course. As I perused my TBR pile, I just knew which book would do the trick - Jill Mansell's latest North American release from Sourcebooks - Perfect Timing.

    Poppy Dunbar is out on her hen night, celebrating the night before her wedding to Rob. When she accidentally falls and is helped up by an attractive man named Tom, she is speechless. The attraction between them is instantaneous and undeniable. Tom voices it out loud" I wish you weren't getting married tomorrow."

    And she doesn't - calling off the wedding for her own reasons. She runs away to London to start over. Once in London, she starts a new job, meets new friends, has madcap adventures....

    Poppy is warm hearted, a bit of a scatterbrain, but infinitely lovable. Her new friends include a gorgeous painter who loves every woman he meets - literally, a jealous flatmate pining for love, the shy boss who can't seem to express himself, and older characters full of wit and wisdom.

    Perfect Timing is full of Mansell's trademark style - missed cues, misunderstandings, lots of humorous situations and of course romance. And the best part of all - happy endings.

    Really, Mansell is the queen of Brit chick lit. Her stories are addicting, the characters are people you'd like to know, and the settings places you'd like to live. (I wouldn't mind working in the Portobello Road market) You're guaranteed a feel good read, without question.

    And yes, I forgot about how crappy I felt, lost in this fun filled, entertaining tale!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect.

    I wanted something light and easy to read--of course chick lit would be my first choice! Perfect Timing did not dissapoint. It was good from start to finish. Read it if you want something good and refreshing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Quick read, good for a bit of lighthearted fun

    This is the second book by Jill Mansell that I read. While I didn't think this one was quite as engaging as the first (Millie's Fling), I found this to be a snappy fun read, that even made me laugh out loud in spots. Perfect for some light and fun summer reading. One note: Ms. Mansell is British, and uses quite a heavy dose of English slang in the books, which can be a bit of a challenge for American readers at times, but I did not find that to be an insurmountable challenge.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    loved this book!

    very cute book! quick read! i couldnt put it down! cant wait to read more of her books!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Great read

    This was a nice easy read but the plot kept me interested. I'm American so I was a bit lost in some of the British references but I would still reccommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Okay

    Ok storyline and characters. The character's POV would change too frequently for me and would get confused as to who was talking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Good read.

    Laugh out loud funny at times, good easy read. The ending is predictable but knew it was s good trip getting there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Too long!

    I definitely got my money-worth with this book. Cute storyline, but extremely overwritten. Tons could have been eliminated and I found myself not reading, but skimming thru after awhile. I wanted to see how the story turned out but felt it was taking forever to get to a relevant point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great chick lit read

    I enjoyed this book. It was funny and lighthearted with enough "action" to keep me interested throughout.

    I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Awful

    The one thought i had reading this book was 'my gosh is it over yet?' The plot was barren and unfocused. The author spent so much time switching character point of views that i was unable to connect or sympathize with any of their stories. In fact, the lack of a strong and likeable female throughout the entire story left me annoyed. Do not waste your time reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I was excited to read this book and was not disappointed. great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Shallow

    Not as fun and entertaining as I expected. Did not live up to the reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Was charged more...

    When i bought this book it was only 1.99. But when i looked at my charges online it charged me 9.99...be careful!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Jills best novel

    I've read plenty of Jill's books and have become a fan of her characters. They are true characters and make a fantastic read with a predictable plot but enjoyable none the less!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    love love love these books!!

    just breezed through my third one! please keel writing jill!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A lot of fun...

    A light hearted, fun read that will be perfect for your Summer beach bag. You will want to read more Jill Mansell books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Bummer

    It wasn't as good as her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Jill Mansell's books are so much fun - light and enjoyable readi

    Jill Mansell's books are so much fun - light and enjoyable reading with the British sense of dry humor.
    I enjoyed her books tremendously!

    Joan Robinson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Fine but she's written better

    Not bad but not her best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    55

    One of Jill Mansell's best books. Great from beginning to end. Love her style, the story lines and all the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 480 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24