Customer Reviews for

Perfecting Kate

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Perfecting Kate is a quick, sassy read. Although a fun storylin

    Perfecting Kate is a quick, sassy read. Although a fun storyline, I think me being in my late 30's, I would have enjoyed it a bit more if I were in my 20's. This book is geared more towards single ladies in the dating, finding themselves stage of life.
    Kate is trying to find the man of her dreams, all the while finding herself at the same time. She does it in a fun, humorous, sarcastic way--with laugh out loud moments we can all relate to.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Pulishing Group in exchange for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    plot: At first, I really didn't like this book. I read the first

    plot: At first, I really didn't like this book. I read the first few chapters and then took a hiatus. A long hiatus. A four month hiatus. Only after resuming and realizing that the plot actually hits a lot closer to home than I would like to admit (than most women in general would like to admit) can I say that I actually really did like this book. The plot was real and relatable. Between the need to be physically perfect and the realization that no one is as spiritual as they like to think they are, this book really makes you examine yourself and your motives in life.

    characters: Kate is highly relatable, as I mentioned above. There could be something to learn from the supporting characters, I suppose, but Kate really is the one who seemingly figures it out. While she is not perfect, the journey that she takes in this story, really is one to take heart to.

    themes: There are so many themes in this book. True beauty is on the inside, trusting God and those you love, faith in God and not in yourself, and many others. Each theme, too was executed and carried out while helping the story to move along.

    emotion: On one hand, I can say that there wasn't really an emotional connection with the characters in this book. On the other hand though, the self evaluating provocations made the story highly emotional. While I didn't necessarily connect with the characters on their level, I connected in a way that made me look at my life and where I'm headed verses where I want to be.

    overall: As I mentioned, at first, I didn't like this book. Be it that I didn't think I would be able to connect or I didn't want to admit that I could connect, I'm not entirely sure. In the end, however, I did really like it.

    ---I received this book for free from the publisher for this review.---

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Perfecting Kate is an awesome read for anyone who has tried to r

    Perfecting Kate is an awesome read for anyone who has tried to reinvent themself. This is a humorous book which takes many twists and turns throughout its pages. Enter having two men vying for attention and you have the making of a great storyline. Its a love triangle of a different sort.

    Many female readers will love the story of transformation through her experiences and unusual circumstances. Transforming on the outside also requires some transforming on the inside. This gets difficult because Kate has struggled with her life so far.

    Being a fan of makeover type shows and books, I found this an enjoyable read and I'm sure more women will too! Tamera Leigh is an excellent author and I can't until she writes another book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    This book has it all. I literally laughed out loud as I read Kat

    This book has it all. I literally laughed out loud as I read Kate's story. I don't think any book has made me do that, but there is some funny stuff in here. My heart also ached for Kate to find "The One" and there is so much Biblical truth in this book as well.

    I could so relate to Kate as she struggled with appearance. She isn't perfect, although she does start to do things to change her appearance. She isn't a size two (really, who is??) and I love that she hates exercise as much as me.

    I know I have been obsessed with my appearance in the past and that really took away from my relationship with God. Kate asks the question, who is she really trying to please in looking different? Something we can all reflect on as we choose our cloths for the day.

    Overall, a great read. I would say it's light but it also has a lot of depth to it. I highly recommend this book and can't wait to read more by Tamera Leigh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Perfecting Kate introduced us to Kate who is a very talented art

    Perfecting Kate introduced us to Kate who is a very talented artist but not as confident in pretty much every other area of her life. She’s dealing with health issues that contributed to a painful broken engagement in her past. This still haunts her as she isn’t willing to trust men completely because she feels that she will be rejected in the end, again. She feels lacking physically, especially recently, because of some unsolicited comments, advice and even a makeover. Kate then begins to “perfect” herself. However, will she lose sight of the love of Christ and her trust in Him. Will she accept the truth that her true beauty shines from within?




    This chick lit book is well written and very enjoyable to read. I connected with the characters, especially Kate. I felt that I could relate to her, maybe not in her specific issues, but as a woman dealing with the ups and downs of life. The story was cute and funny, but not unrealistic or silly. I would recommend it to women of all ages!




    On a side note... I love chick flicks, so I’m not sure why I haven’t really gotten into chick lit. However, I am so glad that Tamara Leigh introduced me! Now I definitely plan to check more out of her’s and other Christian chick lit authors.




    “What is ‘chick lit’?” you ask. I searched the all knowing ;) Wikipedia: “Chick lit is genre fiction which addresses issues of modern womanhood, often humorously and lightheartedly. The genre became popular in the late 1990s, with chick lit titles topping bestseller lists and the creation of imprints devoted entirely to chick lit. Although it sometimes includes romantic elements, chick lit is generally not considered a direct subcategory of the romance novel genre, because the heroine's relationship with her family or friends is often just as important as her romantic relationships....Chick lit typically features a female protagonist whose womanhood is heavily thematized in the plot.” 




    And what a bonus to have chick lit and Christian together in titles such as Perfecting Kate!!! Then fans get to enjoy the story without having to wade through sex scenes and such, which always seem to get thrown in. (Thank you, Mrs. Leigh, for choosing to listen to God and start honoring Him with your gift of writing in 2003!)
     
    Disclosure: I received this ebook free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group’s book review bloggers program, BookSneeze. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I first cracked this book open, I was expecting it to "

    When I first cracked this book open, I was expecting it to "get good" at maybe around page 100.  However, I was pleasantly surprised when I was hooked into the story-line in the first chapter alone.  I get lots of books to review, and this is a rarity.  The style with which Leigh writes makes you feel as if you are right inside Kate's shoes.  Kate's a short and--um, er--pleasantly plump thirty-something single woman.  She suffers from infertility and was dumped pre-altar from her fiance when he discovered she could not conceive.  This artist is depressed and lets herself go.  One day, she is stopped on the street for a makeover, which will be featured in an upcoming style / fashion magazine.  She obliges and then starts to go out with the makeup artist who found her.  However, things get complicated when she also becomes interested in a local client she is painting for.  Emotions flare as Kate's boyfriend tries to change her and as Kate struggles to find her faith.  I won't reveal too much, since this is a book you'll want to savor for yourself.  While there is romance in this book, it is not graphic.  There really isn't any swearing.  This are religious undertones but nothing too pushy.  Many women will find themselves connecting to Kate at some point.  She's an average woman who yearns to be herself but isn't quite sure how.  Read this book and find out how she figures it out.  A great read.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    "Thou shalt embrace singledom and be unbelievably, inconcei

    "Thou shalt embrace singledom and be unbelievably, inconceivably happy" is the creed that Kate Meadows has set for herself. We all can relate to Kate in some fashion to think we might not be pretty, or realize that we are kind, but that its truly there.

    Kate at the age of 33 vows to be happy, even though she isn't. She is talented artist with no good prospects and she wants to be married. She believes in only marrying a Christian and breaks her rule at times to date men, which has lead to her bad relationships. She swears off dating and men altogether until, she meet Michael (makeup artist) and Dr. Clive (reconstructive surgery). Both men have their own agenda's for wanting to date Kate.



    Michael wants to use Kate on the cover of a feature magainze, but he thinks she isn't beautiful, he wants her to get professionally made over to fit the "beautiful" he thinks she could become.



    Dr. Clive wants Kate to paint a mural in the childrens hospial burn unit. He is okay with her christian symbolism painted through it, as long as it isn't obvious. He'll listen to her Christian worldviews, but doesn't particullary care to enjoy them.

    Kate wants someone who will understand and love her. Will either of these gentleman be a match for Kate or will Kate discover something different that she didn't bargain for?

    Find out! Read Perfecting Kate and you will see what she discovers...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    good book

    great Christian fiction. well-written, engaging plot, read it in one weekend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Not your typical Christian romance novel!

    I LOVE this book. At the heart of the story are the fears and longings of most women I know, with regard to our physical appearance. The book is witty and fresh at every turn of the page! Kate's journal entries are what I love most!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    Amazing book.

    I loved this book, it's one of my favorites. It's a spunky story, with a romantic twist. Kate Meadows is such a intresting character. I laughed with her and cried with her. The other charaters are all well described and they all twist through the book nicely. I loved the romance between Clive and Kate, and the horrible pains that happened to both of them. And the Sprituial aspect as well. The story keeps you turning the pages until the very last. Very great ending, all in all, a good book for a book club, rainy day, or just for the fun of it. I would most definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Great Book!

    I was drawn into Kate's world right away and couldn't put the book down. I enjoyed the romance aspects along with the real-life struggles with self-esteem, jealousy, and the daily walk with God. I wasn't sure I would like the First Person point of view writing, but it didn't take away from the story for me at all. It struck just the right balance to hit all of your emotions. I really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Perfecting Entertainment

    Tamara Leigh has done it again! Great characters, a fast- moving plot, and an inspirational message. Leigh's writing is packed with humor, page-turning entertainment, and characters you would love to have as a best friend. 'Imperfect' women of all ages will identify with Kate Meadows 'and fall in love with Dr. Clive Alexander'. I identified personally with the final scene, which celebrates families created through adoption.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Funny and Heartwarming!

    The truth is I¿m not much of a fan of chick lit. Let¿s face it, I¿m ¿ ummm, shall we say ¿ beyond the chick lit age. I generally find it hard to relate to the drama of the young, single career woman. However, after reading Tamara Leigh¿s Stealing Adda about the trials and tribulations of a romance author I was hooked on Leigh¿s style. I laughed myself silly on that one and couldn¿t wait to get my hands on Perfecting Kate. It didn¿t take long for Leigh to hook me all over again. Honestly, is there a woman in the world who hasn¿t stood in front of her mirror and felt the temptation to make a few ¿ er ¿ adjustments? Riding along on Kate¿s emotional rollercoaster while she deals with the demands of her career as an artist, the snarky remarks of her pregnant best friend¿s husband, the stack of business cards thrust on her by the famous make-up artist who makes her his personal improvement project while pursuing her romantically, and her flawlessly beautiful housemate¿s obvious attraction to Kate¿s boyfriend in spite of her own involvement with a married man is a scream! Add in Brad-Pitt handsome, mysterious, aloof Dr. Clive Alexander who gives Kate goosebumps every time he¿s around, and you have the perfect formula for truly delicious entertainment! On a serious note, I¿m impressed with how seamlessly and believably Leigh weaves the spiritual thread into the storyline. Both Kate and Clive are harboring secrets that cause complications in their relationship and severely test Kate¿s trust in the Lord. I truly felt for her as she struggled to tame her tongue and share her faith. Her stumbles made her even more endearing and realistic. Leigh does an outstanding job of bringing each of her characters to life on the page, and by the end of the book, you feel as if each of them is a good friend. I truly cared about how Kate¿s story would be resolved¿and the ending is perfect! What a joy to read a story that¿s not only funny, but heartwarming at the same time. Perfecting Kate is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    Chick Lit at its finest ...

    I easily slid into Kate's corner from the first sentence of the prologue. Her needy, yet quirky personality is fresh and delightful she's a real diamond in a world of cubic zirconium. And just when I thought I had things figured out Leigh penned another twist in the plot, and I was back to guessing. This is chick lit at its finest¿a story for both young and old. On the back side of never-you-mind, I could still relate to Kate's struggles with self esteem, and I felt her pain over her physical afflictions. And while the novel deals with some deep issues, they're delivered with humor. Devoid of predictable romantic plotting, I alternately cheered for Michael and Clive¿although I did want to slap Michael a couple of times. And then there's Maia. She was enough to test anyone's Christianity. Kate's faith journey parallels our own: two steps forward, one step back. Leigh presents an honest portrayal of a new Christian growing in her walk with the Lord. Kate fails daily, as do we all. Yet she perseveres, often leaving me smiling at her predicaments. A thoroughly rewarding and marvelous read¿the kind of book you sigh over when you turn the last page, Perfecting Kate receives this reviewer's high recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    interesting Christian romance

    Twenty-nine years old Katherine Mae Meadows and her housemate Maia are stopped on the streets of San Francisco and asked if they would like a make over as part of a future issue of Changes Magazine. Kate agrees because the transformer is kissable hunk Michael Palmer. She may have said no to agreeing if she knew Dr. Clive Alexander would run the make over like a drill instructor and she the new ¿big project¿ recruit he must mode. As he remakes Kate, they go from misunderstanding one another to falling in love only to go full circle back to misunderstanding one another. She attends church and prays to God he is at best an agnostic. She thinks he loves someone else he thinks he will write off Kate as a loss given time. She cannot give him children he wants offspring. She thinks he is attracted to the image he made and not her he thinks she wants Palmer or Stapleton. This pair allows their respective pasts to determine their present, which means unless someone takes that first leap of faith they have no future as he is still PERFECTING KATE while she wants to be the real Kate. --- This is an interesting Christian romance starring a true believer and a doubter with both having issues to contend with that prevent a permanent relationship. The story line focuses mostly on Kate¿s struggles to balance the demands of her life including her religion (her nightly Dear God journal is fascinating), but also enables insight into Clive¿s trials and trepidations. Though the ¿curing¿ of a gay friend seems absurd and in bad taste as it makes being homosexuality a disease, readers will appreciate Kate¿s efforts to be perfect. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2