Customer Reviews for

Perfection: A Memoir of Betrayal and Renewal

Average Rating 3.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Will take your breath away

Julie Metz has written a memoir that will take your breath away, from the initial, unexpected death of her husband to the postmortem revelation of his many affairs. Metz's style is both intimate and literary, elevating the central drama of her life to a meditation on th...
Julie Metz has written a memoir that will take your breath away, from the initial, unexpected death of her husband to the postmortem revelation of his many affairs. Metz's style is both intimate and literary, elevating the central drama of her life to a meditation on the nature of human need and fallibility. In exposing her own grief, rage, vulnerability and audacity, Metz allows us to connect deeply and emotionally with her story. Her need to understand what happened in her marriage leads her to confront the women in her dead husband's past, which ultimately gives her the opportunity to see herself more fully. In this powerful and empowering tale, raw grief and righteous anger finally give way to forgiveness, acceptance and new love.

posted by 1335933 on May 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Interesting At First...But Ultimately Boring!

When the story starts, one gets wrapped up in the emotion of losing a spouse and what a person goes through. I actually felt sorry for Julie at that point. But, mere WEEKS after the funeral, and BEFORE Julie finds out about her husband's infidelities, she starts acting...
When the story starts, one gets wrapped up in the emotion of losing a spouse and what a person goes through. I actually felt sorry for Julie at that point. But, mere WEEKS after the funeral, and BEFORE Julie finds out about her husband's infidelities, she starts acting like a dog in heat with the pursuit of sex as her main focus. I was disgusted as this continued throughout the book, until the end. I would not recommend this book unless you want to hear about Julie's sexual exploits which turn out to be very boring!

posted by EllesusaintGirl on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    could not put this down

    The author is so open about her marriage, her loss and her subsequent
    discovery. I found this to be honest and admire her for the path that she took in confronting her dead husband's many liasions. My mother-in-law had a similiar experience 20 years ago but chose to keep her head in the sand. I am hoping that if I give her this book, she will recognize her own narcissistic husband and will stop blaming herself for his
    behavior.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Great read!

    I was bonding with the characters and it kept my attention throughout the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Too disjointed!!!

    Easy read, but not very stimulating, seems to be the topic of the times, "Marital Infidelity". Really somewhat of an exhaustive book. Sort of who really cares how many affairs he had ?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational

    Julie Metz is unapologetic and spreads her raw emotions all over the pages of this book. My first night of reading I couldn't stop and until my sleepiness kicked in I got through the first 140 pages. It is addicting...you want to know what happens next and next and next while cheering Julie on. It's umami!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful Inside and Out

    I really loved this book. It is all about the death of Julie's husband, who was writing a book at the time of his death about umami--meaning Perfection in a way that you savor food. Anyway, I thought the writing was so beautiful and felt intellectually stimulated, as well as entertained by Julie's ability for story-telling. I have to admit that I loved the cover, I just thought it was gorgeous. Great read--fast and easy, but worthwhile.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    Perfection, an astonishing novel of discovery and adventure!

    Wife discovers after husband's death that husband has been acting in his best interest and not hers. Wife is angry. Five stars if you are a women. One star if you are a man.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    My reaction... Read it! Fascinating story of how a wife comes t

    My reaction... Read it! Fascinating story of how a wife comes to grow and befriend her late husband's partners in adultery. Well-written, with a fortunate ending for this beleaguered mom of one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great

    Had a difficult time putting this book down. Beautifully written and very easy to read, it flows from one page to the next. After her husband dies and she discovers his unfaithful life thru out their life you can certainly understand the anger. She however looking back can see the signs that were there. Makes me wonder why as women we are programed to find fault with our bodies and selfs and men are not. Why are they not held to the same standards in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN

    !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    good book

    I really liked his book u should read it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Riveting

    Couldn't put it down! I was glad to see her life take a positive turn at the end and that she found peace and new love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Depressing

    I didn't finish this book. I got half way through and decided to dump it. It deals with a husband dying and the stages of grief and rage following the breakup. Maybe good for women who have lost their husbands, but it was depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Impressive writing style. Delightful and unforgettable!

    Review by Stephanie: Julie Metz offers a stunning and dazzling peek into her past in Perfection with her astonishingly lyrical prose. It is tragic enough that she is widowed at such a young age, after only sixteen years with her beloved husband, Henry. But what she disastrously discovers a mere several months after the devastating loss, is that he was having an affair for more than a year -- with none other than her acquaintance and mother of her daughter's best friend, Cathy. Imagine what kind of betrayal you'd feel at that sort of discovery. A man you've loved, a man who's loved you deceiving you like that -- and finding out AFTER he's dead. The anger Metz portrays is not malicious, and not even vengeful. It is only full of desperation and the distress every heartbroken woman is apt to feel. However, it certainly does not end there. By sifting through Henry's old email records, Julie yet again discovers, Cathy was not the only one. There were more women before and after Cathy. Yes, women. Women Julie has only once met at social events, women Julie was unaware of in existence, women Henry lightly joked about when he was alive. Women who haven't corresponded with Henry through email that Julie still doesn't know about.

    I was astounded by Julie's courage. After a bit of research, she contacts all the women in Henry's email account, and surprisingly, develops platonic, even friendly, relationships with them. Henry is a common ground for Julie and those women, and after his passing, it was the only place Julie can find true comfort in. It takes an unbelievable strength to get the guts to do that. To face one's fears directly. And for it, I commend Julie greatly.

    Perfection is a remarkably personal novel that makes me want to by the end, get to know Julie better. I can't even refer to her as "Metz", I just want to call her Julie! Her story will rather than fill you with pity, bring a sense of understanding and admiration toward her, for her strength, endurance, and unwillingness to give up. She could be your best friend. She could be your sister. She could be your mom or that nice lady who smiles at you every time you see her at the park. She could even be you.

    I am deeply impressed by Metz's incredible writing style. Her words have the ability to both depress and delight the reader, making Perfection an unforgettable read in which every single page is worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    9 out of 10 stars!

    Julie Metz offers a stunning and dazzling peek into her past in Perfection with her astonishingly lyrical prose. It is tragic enough that she is widowed at such a young age, after only sixteen years with her beloved husband, Henry. But what she disastrously discovers a mere several months after the devastating loss, is that he was having an affair for more than a year -- with none other than her acquaintance and mother of her daughter's best friend, Cathy. Imagine what kind of betrayal you'd feel at that sort of discovery. A man you've loved, a man who's loved you deceiving you like that -- and finding out AFTER he's dead. The anger Metz portrays is not malicious, and not even vengeful. It is only full of desperation and the distress every heartbroken woman is apt to feel. However, it certainly does not end there. By sifting through Henry's old email records, Julie yet again discovers, Cathy was not the only one. There were more women before and after Cathy. Yes, women. Women Julie has only once met at social events, women Julie was unaware of in existence, women Henry lightly joked about when he was alive. Women who haven't corresponded with Henry through email that Julie still doesn't know about.
    I was astounded by Julie's courage. After a bit of research, she contacts all the women in Henry's email account, and surprisingly, develops platonic, even friendly, relationships with them. Henry is a common ground for Julie and those women, and after his passing, it was the only place Julie can find true comfort in. It takes an unbelievable strength to get the guts to do that. To face one's fears directly. And for it, I commend Julie greatly.
    Perfection is a remarkably personal novel that makes me want to by the end, get to know Julie better. I can't even refer to her as "Metz", I just want to call her Julie! Her story will rather than fill you with pity, bring a sense of understanding and admiration toward her, for her strength, endurance, and unwillingness to give up. She could be your best friend. She could be your sister. She could be your mom or that nice lady who smiles at you every time you see her at the park. She could even be you.
    I am deeply impressed by Metz's incredible writing style. Her words have the ability to both depress and delight the reader, making Perfection an unforgettable read in which every single page is worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good and then you find out its true....

    Interesting how Ms. Metz turns out to be just as amoral as her dead husband was. I feel sorry for the daughter - wonder how many one night stands she had to meet while they were still in bed in the morning. Nice role model Julie.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Perfection

    I have been a member of a book club for 9 years and of all the books we have read this book provoked the longest amount of discussion time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Perfect

    The books were easy to find, and were delivered in time. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    Couldn't read it fast enough!

    I loved how she wrote this book! I felt like I was having a conversation with a girlfriend and couldn't wait to call her back to hear more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book resonated with me

    I related to so much of Julie's story and found it to be enlightening and well written. There are many women who will identify with some part of her story, and many will find her story compelling. I know i did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Good Reading

    This was a good book, by the first chapter you kind of knew what was going to happen with this family...just not to the extent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8