Customer Reviews for

Perfectly Dateless (Universally Misunderstood Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

This book is so good. I just started middle school. It was so good for me and other young readers.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Sympathetic, funny heroine, but some caveats to the actual story

Daisy is Christian teenager with a perfect GPA and a heart set on college and major life goals, but she also wants to be a teensy bit more "normal," which means that she wants to socialize, go to her senior prom, and stop wearing only the clothes her mother makes for he...
Daisy is Christian teenager with a perfect GPA and a heart set on college and major life goals, but she also wants to be a teensy bit more "normal," which means that she wants to socialize, go to her senior prom, and stop wearing only the clothes her mother makes for her. It's easy to sympathize with her problems, because what she desires isn't unreasonable. Daisy doesn't need to rule her high school or date the hottest guy in town--she just wants a regular boyfriend and some store-bought jeans.

I loved reading Kristin Billerbeck's Christian chick lit back in undergrad, so I was really excited to try out her first YA novel, but though I adored Daisy and her narrative voice, the story itself went kind of wild. For a small example, there are several occasions when someone dresses up in an elaborate costume: Daisy's dad is an actor of sorts, and her mom spends the early pages of the book making over a giant duck suit to look like a goose suit so Daisy's dad can be the goose who laid the golden egg, because someone's hired him to dress that way for a marriage proposal. There's some more improbability going on, with her best friend Claire going viral on Youtube by doing a dance to "Single Ladies" in her hotdog stand uniform, and Daisy's parents doing a 90's-rap sketch about peer pressure in front of her whole school. Maybe one of these things could happen without being implausible, but even for a comedic YA, having all of them in the same story felt too slapstick for me. And without spoilering, I'll say that events get even more hugely dramatic toward the end of the story.

Mr. and Mrs. Crispin have got to win some sort of prize for well-intentioned-yet-mortifying parenting. They're not mean or oppressive, but they're clueless about thieir daughter's need to be socially accepted and they don't seem to know how to empathize with anyone younger than they are.

One other problem I had was the romantic subplot/s. I experienced a lot of confusion over whether Max or Chase was The Guy for Daisy, and it was hard for me to tell who to trust, because they were both painted as slightly too good to be true. The the "who do I trust?" question gets resolved in a very emphatic way, but I wasn't certain which way it would go for a long time.

Daisy's a cute heroine and I love her OCD tendencies, her encyclopedic knowledge of random trivia, and her meticulously reasoned-out lists of guys who might potentially take her to prom. But despite having a winning MC, a large portion of the story didn't seem realistic, which is a shame, because I feel that if the author had stuck to regular situational comedy and the great exisiting dialogue, the novel could have really soared. If you'd like a really good read from this author, check out her Ashley Stockingdale series.

posted by Tiger_Holland on October 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sympathetic, funny heroine, but some caveats to the actual story

    Daisy is Christian teenager with a perfect GPA and a heart set on college and major life goals, but she also wants to be a teensy bit more "normal," which means that she wants to socialize, go to her senior prom, and stop wearing only the clothes her mother makes for her. It's easy to sympathize with her problems, because what she desires isn't unreasonable. Daisy doesn't need to rule her high school or date the hottest guy in town--she just wants a regular boyfriend and some store-bought jeans.

    I loved reading Kristin Billerbeck's Christian chick lit back in undergrad, so I was really excited to try out her first YA novel, but though I adored Daisy and her narrative voice, the story itself went kind of wild. For a small example, there are several occasions when someone dresses up in an elaborate costume: Daisy's dad is an actor of sorts, and her mom spends the early pages of the book making over a giant duck suit to look like a goose suit so Daisy's dad can be the goose who laid the golden egg, because someone's hired him to dress that way for a marriage proposal. There's some more improbability going on, with her best friend Claire going viral on Youtube by doing a dance to "Single Ladies" in her hotdog stand uniform, and Daisy's parents doing a 90's-rap sketch about peer pressure in front of her whole school. Maybe one of these things could happen without being implausible, but even for a comedic YA, having all of them in the same story felt too slapstick for me. And without spoilering, I'll say that events get even more hugely dramatic toward the end of the story.

    Mr. and Mrs. Crispin have got to win some sort of prize for well-intentioned-yet-mortifying parenting. They're not mean or oppressive, but they're clueless about thieir daughter's need to be socially accepted and they don't seem to know how to empathize with anyone younger than they are.

    One other problem I had was the romantic subplot/s. I experienced a lot of confusion over whether Max or Chase was The Guy for Daisy, and it was hard for me to tell who to trust, because they were both painted as slightly too good to be true. The the "who do I trust?" question gets resolved in a very emphatic way, but I wasn't certain which way it would go for a long time.

    Daisy's a cute heroine and I love her OCD tendencies, her encyclopedic knowledge of random trivia, and her meticulously reasoned-out lists of guys who might potentially take her to prom. But despite having a winning MC, a large portion of the story didn't seem realistic, which is a shame, because I feel that if the author had stuck to regular situational comedy and the great exisiting dialogue, the novel could have really soared. If you'd like a really good read from this author, check out her Ashley Stockingdale series.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Almost like the Gilmore Girls with a Christian twist

    Have you ever seen the series Gilmore Girls? I felt like I was reading the story, only with a Christian twist.

    The main character is Daisy who has over protective parents. She also has a best friend who I would not want on my bad side. This book is meant for the young at heart and is definitely meant to bring humor when the "teenage" years are the hardest.

    I thought the book was humorous only because I kept picturing the Gilmore re-runs. In every chapter, is an allude to something that has happened in either social media or in the last few years. Again, the same with the Gilmore Girls. (I doubt my Grandma would understand half the references.)

    I would hesitate to allow young young eyes read this book without the permission of the parents. It had reference to drugs and some parts suggest other things that are for the mature audience.

    Note: I was sent complimentary copy for review purposes only. This review has not been monetarily compensated. The review was my honest opinion and views and not influenced by the sponsor in any way.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    It was a good book. It was a sweet story, but confusing at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    good

    Cute funny and chrisian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Annoying heroine, improbable story, but well-written

    I am extremely biased against stories told about teenagers in first person. The characters are typically whiny, shallow, and can't see the big picture, which makes the story hard to swallow.

    I also can't believe that any parents would be quite as austere as Daisy's in the modern age - well-intentioned but seriously clueless. Given the parents' pasts alluded to throughout the book, it seemed even less likely that they would actually behave this way.

    The resolution of the story was also quite improbable, but I don't want to give any spoilers. Suffice to say that the consequences for the main characters seemed really severe without real justification. I'm all about the bad guys getting theirs, but Daisy was just a clueless teenager. The tone of the ending was a little too moral, and the climax of the story seemed to have wandered in from a much darker book.

    In summary, this book was a teen read with morals, annoying teenagers, but decently written. I just prefer my YA reads to have a more meaningful life goal than finding a prom date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    This book is right

    Just because she is a christian doesnt make her weird her mom is right God doesnt care if your clothes are in God will not let you in heaven if you have a really good hair dye job! He will judge on your actions

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1