Customer Reviews for

Perfectly Dateless (Universally Misunderstood Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

This book is so good. I just started middle school. It was so good for me and other young readers.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Sympathetic, funny heroine, but some caveats to the actual story

Daisy is Christian teenager with a perfect GPA and a heart set on college and major life goals, but she also wants to be a teensy bit more "normal," which means that she wants to socialize, go to her senior prom, and stop wearing only the clothes her mother makes for he...
Daisy is Christian teenager with a perfect GPA and a heart set on college and major life goals, but she also wants to be a teensy bit more "normal," which means that she wants to socialize, go to her senior prom, and stop wearing only the clothes her mother makes for her. It's easy to sympathize with her problems, because what she desires isn't unreasonable. Daisy doesn't need to rule her high school or date the hottest guy in town--she just wants a regular boyfriend and some store-bought jeans.

I loved reading Kristin Billerbeck's Christian chick lit back in undergrad, so I was really excited to try out her first YA novel, but though I adored Daisy and her narrative voice, the story itself went kind of wild. For a small example, there are several occasions when someone dresses up in an elaborate costume: Daisy's dad is an actor of sorts, and her mom spends the early pages of the book making over a giant duck suit to look like a goose suit so Daisy's dad can be the goose who laid the golden egg, because someone's hired him to dress that way for a marriage proposal. There's some more improbability going on, with her best friend Claire going viral on Youtube by doing a dance to "Single Ladies" in her hotdog stand uniform, and Daisy's parents doing a 90's-rap sketch about peer pressure in front of her whole school. Maybe one of these things could happen without being implausible, but even for a comedic YA, having all of them in the same story felt too slapstick for me. And without spoilering, I'll say that events get even more hugely dramatic toward the end of the story.

Mr. and Mrs. Crispin have got to win some sort of prize for well-intentioned-yet-mortifying parenting. They're not mean or oppressive, but they're clueless about thieir daughter's need to be socially accepted and they don't seem to know how to empathize with anyone younger than they are.

One other problem I had was the romantic subplot/s. I experienced a lot of confusion over whether Max or Chase was The Guy for Daisy, and it was hard for me to tell who to trust, because they were both painted as slightly too good to be true. The the "who do I trust?" question gets resolved in a very emphatic way, but I wasn't certain which way it would go for a long time.

Daisy's a cute heroine and I love her OCD tendencies, her encyclopedic knowledge of random trivia, and her meticulously reasoned-out lists of guys who might potentially take her to prom. But despite having a winning MC, a large portion of the story didn't seem realistic, which is a shame, because I feel that if the author had stuck to regular situational comedy and the great exisiting dialogue, the novel could have really soared. If you'd like a really good read from this author, check out her Ashley Stockingdale series.

posted by Tiger_Holland on October 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    First in Universally Misunderstood series is great YA Christian fiction

    Perfectly Dateless by Kristin Billerbeck is the first in the Universally Misunderstood series. Daisy Crispin wants her senior year to be different. Her parents are over-the-top about being stingy with money as well as way over-protective of their only child. She attends a Christian high school, but wears homemade clothing more appropriate for a Denny's waitress, and she's not allowed to date..ever. But Daisy wants a date for prom to show that her time in high school wasn't a complete waste, and she's sick of being perfect. Perfect grades, perfect daughter, hard working, etc. But there are cliques in her high school, just like any other, and despite attending school there for three years, she's virtually invisible to anyone with popularity, except for life-long crush Chase, who would be her ideal date. I had a hard time liking Claire, Daisy's best friend. Claire can't seem to ever say anything even remotely nice, and she refused to listen to anything Daisy had to say, regularly disregarding her feelings. But Daisy is a stand-out heroine. She is occasionally misled, but her intentions are so good and her thirst for life so strong, it's impossible not to love her. At first her parents seem like any other set in YA Christian fiction, well-intentioned but misunderstood by their children, but as the book progresses, the reader discovers that Daisy's parents are truly every teen's worst nightmare. They refuse to listen to anything she has to say or consider her point of view because they are so completely obsessed with her not repeating their mistakes. Their character growth as well as Daisy's makes the book a terrific read for teens as they realize that parents can make mistakes too, and are works in progress, just like they are. I do hope that Billerbeck writes more books using these characters, especially Claire who is in desperate need of best-friend rehab.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Slightly innapropriate

    This is a fantastic story, dont get me wrong, but it is slightly innapropriate for young readers, under the age of 14. The part about the roofies (date rape pills) was too innapropriate for my ten year old daughter. She wast interested in the constantly changing relationships, and she didnt like how un-realistic some of her parent issues like the school performance was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Good book.

    Did he do it or not though? Because i am confused.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    AMAZING

    I didnt have a single clue about what the ending was going to look like until I actual read the last words of it. Kristin is really gifted in making the reader laugh. If a Christian young lady is looking for a good book to read that isnt full of bad language or content, this is a good option for you. Even if you are NOT a Christian, I still recomend this book because it has a good moral behind it. Every teen girl should read this book.
    If you like this book then you can read the two other books in the series: Perfectly Invisible and Perfectly Rediculous. I hope you enjoy these great books. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Extremely well written and a similar point of view to others.

    I really enjoyed Perfectly Dateless it was relatable to all girls of every age that have not been able to fit in. The voice of Daisy is also relatable considering she feels like she is invisible not only that but her humorous point of view makes this book even more enjoyable. It was fun following Daisy through her senior high experience and through her experience with boys. This was an easy read because it was so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Pretty Good.

    This book is a fun way to entertain yourself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Clean comedy that resembles real life

    Having survived being invisible in highschool this is a funny look back and proofs mothers everywhere right
    Characters are relateable
    Storyline gets you hookrd
    Ending is not predictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Great perspective on teenage angst

    Well written. I wish there had been stories like this when I was in High School.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    I like the book.

    I like the book i think you should read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fun read for teen girls.

    Review by Jill Williamson

    Daisy Crispin is not allowed to date until she's eighteen and had moved far away from her parents watchful eyes. Still, she has one dream for her senior year: attend prom with a date. T minus 196 days and counting. Daisy has a list of five possible candidates. But there is one other small problem. She is invisible, wears sad homemade clothing, and her only social skill is to spout random statistics. Not cool. Still she is determined and sets off to win the prize of having a date to senior prom.

    This was a fun read. Daisy is a quirky character who tries really hard to do the right thing. And when she fails, she fails big time. I read this in one sitting because it was too much fun to watch Daisy bounce between boys, fashion, friends, parental stress, and her job. A fun read for teen girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1