Customer Reviews for

Period: A Girl's Guide to Menstruation

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

This is THE book to give your daughter!

This is absolutely the best book for your daughter. My sister gave it to me after she used it as a tool to help her daughter and I passed it to my daughter and then to my neice. It covers all those difficult questions we couldn't ask our moms. A must have for moms of...
This is absolutely the best book for your daughter. My sister gave it to me after she used it as a tool to help her daughter and I passed it to my daughter and then to my neice. It covers all those difficult questions we couldn't ask our moms. A must have for moms of daughters.

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

To megan k

Is there any signs of your period coming?

posted by Anonymous on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    This is THE book to give your daughter!

    This is absolutely the best book for your daughter. My sister gave it to me after she used it as a tool to help her daughter and I passed it to my daughter and then to my neice. It covers all those difficult questions we couldn't ask our moms. A must have for moms of daughters.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    To Megan k

    Its normal that didnt get your period yet, every girl gets it at a different age. Your body knows when your ready. A few signs you get before you get your period are 1st. There might be more discharge in your underware. Discharge is a a fluid that comes out of your virgina opening. 2nd. Girl usually get amotional for silly reasons, like cry or yell because you lost something you didnt care about. And......... yea thats some simtoms. Good luck

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    helpful. i am in 5th grade. if you have any questions about gett

    helpful. i am in 5th grade. if you have any questions about getting your period,ask me. when asking questions, write 'to megan k'

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Help

    When a girl gets her period for the first time should she start to douch right after it's over?

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    To bubbles and help:

    Bubbles: that is perfectly normal as each girl gets hers at different times. I got mine in 5th grade and my mom got hers in 8th. Some girls dont get theirs till 16 or 17! So dont worry and enjoy your time without it while you can!
    Help: douching is actually an un-needed process and can sometimes be harmfull. A womens vagina is a self-cleaning organ that unlike our mouths gets rid of the crud in it by itself which is disposed of as discharge in your underwear ( i know, tmi right?) and the soaps in douches can cause irritation or infection, please consult your doctor before douching if you are still convinced you need to.
    Good luck,
    Iris*

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    To help

    Your period is coming soon the discharge is not bad its just one of the signs. Other sign is when your breasts start to hert. I eould suggest buying a bra, my friends wear sports bras because they are smaller than me i wear a regular 32a bra i think. Moose23

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    To megan k.

    My mom thinkes that i will start geting my period in hyschool. What if i get it sooner and whow do i tell her? What if i start myn in school?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    This book rocks

    Good

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    A good book

    You should read this book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    I love this book

    this is an awsome book you should get it!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    To please help me asap and if you need help from me

    You're first question: What is puberty? Puberty happens between the ages 10 and13. This happens because you are now becoming a women! Some things that happen are: stinky armpits, crying for no reason at all, mood swings, and acne which are little red wars that keep poping up on your face. Next question: What is a period? Your period happens between the ages of 11 and 14. This happens because you are becoming a women! Before your period you will go to use the toilet and what do find white gooey stuff in you underwear. This means that you will have your period about six months later. Then one day you go use the toilet and you will find blood in your underwear this answers another question that blood is called discharge. When you find white gooey stuff or blood in your underwear scream for your mom immedeitly. If you hold it till' last miniute will only things worse. Your period will last for about a month and a half. The next questions are not appropiate to be asking me so ask your mom about sex. If anyone ever needs help with puberty, periods, boys, school, or fashion I'm your girl. I will answer questions or give advice for all of those things EXCEPT FOR SEX!!!! For me to respond to you have to write @southernbravegirl and your question(s). I LOVE TIPS!!!!!!!! THANKS!!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Everything you want to know about your period right here

    First of all, im gonna tell you that i just got my period on the 9th of july, 4 days after my b-day. I turned 13. The signs that tells you your period is right around the corner, are just the basic puberty signs. AKA you grow taller, your breasts develop, you start to develop hair around your vagina (called pubic hair) and under your arms, your hair gets oily, you start to sweat a little more, and then you find discharge in your underwear. Just because you start to notice discharge, does not mean that you are going to get your period the very next day. You will just have to wait and be pacient. When your body is ready you will start your period. For the first 2-3 years after you get your period, it won't be normal. This is because your body has to get regulated into a cycle. This cycle is called the menstration cycle. That means your period has become normal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    To Period

    Yes. Thats normal! You usually dont get your period till a few months or weeks(or years) after that gooey stuff(discharge) comes....hope this helped! If you have more questions ask me, Savannah!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    To Glittergirl 9000

    The signs that your period are you develop boobs you get vaginal hair under arm hair and you get vaginal discharge and when you have to talk to your mom just keep telling yourself i can do this reply to softball gal

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    To help plz

    Don't be so scared. If you get stressed, take a few deep breaths. If you get your period at a friends house, calmly tell the mom. She will get you a pad and whenyou get home, tell your mom and the next time you go to the store, get some ads to keep at home, and even in your backpack. Remember, you don't have to tell anyone. Unless you want to. Well, hope that helped! Reply to AET

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Hi

    This is really helpful i started my period last week wat u feel ..next to ur hips it starts hurtingvand cramping

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    To to period

    So thats what that is i just got my period yesterday~girlpower

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Ashlee

    Omg im 121/2 no period or discharge...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    To below

    That means your period is any day now~glam girl

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    2 training bras is ok

    You can wear 2 training bras. Thats actually somewhat normal. My 16 year old cousins do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4