Customer Reviews for

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Average Rating 4.5
( 3231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2450)

4 Star

(450)

3 Star

(172)

2 Star

(69)

1 Star

(90)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

398 out of 432 people found this review helpful.

Read Review!!!!!!!

I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm...
I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm... appropriate all the time, as shown in this book. The Perks of Being a Wallflower has very deep, easy to connect with characters and a plot that won't let you put the book down. Because of it's high school setting I wouldn't recommend this book for people under 13, but if you think you can handle the story without your parents flipping out too much, than go for it, cause this book will leave you with 100 hundred that aren't even yours. There are parts where you WILL cry (I guarantee it), parts where you will want to scream at the top of your lungs and not care who stares at you, and parts that will throw a smile on your face....not PUT a smile on ur face but that smile will THROW itself there. Pick up this book and read it NOW!!

posted by AGirlWhoHasFallen4Books on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Hooray for Charlie!

Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to ...
Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to draw the reader in and feel part of the story. Charlie, the hero, was a WONDERFUL character. He is so unique and loveable. You just want to be his friend. I'm glad that I read it!

posted by MrPotter07 on January 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 162
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read Review!!!!!!!

    I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm... appropriate all the time, as shown in this book. The Perks of Being a Wallflower has very deep, easy to connect with characters and a plot that won't let you put the book down. Because of it's high school setting I wouldn't recommend this book for people under 13, but if you think you can handle the story without your parents flipping out too much, than go for it, cause this book will leave you with 100 hundred that aren't even yours. There are parts where you WILL cry (I guarantee it), parts where you will want to scream at the top of your lungs and not care who stares at you, and parts that will throw a smile on your face....not PUT a smile on ur face but that smile will THROW itself there. Pick up this book and read it NOW!!

    398 out of 432 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I can't think of a title good enough to capture my feelings on the book.

    It's difficult to express how I feel about this book in a typed review. In my head, I can, but it's hard to put together on a keyboard. I can say that I loved everything about it, but it feels like an understatement. I felt like I was a wallflower in Charlie's life, rather than Charlie being the wallflower in Sam and Patrick's. Toward the end of the book, I had a hard time convincing myself that I wasn't a part of this misfit group of Charlie's friends. This book made me cry. Hard. Not only because it was sad, but because it made me care. It's impossible not to care. Its heartbreaking yet simultaneously uplifting finale is the cherry on top of this slice of Charlie's life. Everything about this book, I love. But it's still a vast understatement.

    143 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read!

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    69 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    For Charlie

    In honor of Charlie, I should read this book twice. This book never left my side.

    59 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower takes you through the life of an amazing child. A bright young man growing up observing and watching, always writing letters to a person he merely saw at a party. This book will take you on a journey you won't soon forget. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who can read. Chbosky has a talent for capturing your attention and then earning it with his wonderful characters and story line. A MUST read!!!

    59 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Perks Of Being a Walflower(:

    i LOVED this book, But what I loved most was Charlie.
    I understood him and where he was coming from I related to this book SO much which is probably why i liked it so much. My best-friend gave it too me and said "Here read this, i'm possitive you'll like it, it reminded me of you in ways." So i gave it a try and i loved it. i couldn't put it down! (:

    Read it, i'm sure you'll love it too!
    it'll make you feel.......infinate<3

    56 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Amazing

    "The Perks of Being a Wallflower" was among the most beautifully written and touching books I have ever read. Though you never learn the true names of the characters and the anonymous person to whom Charlie (the main character) is writing to, the reader is still left with a satisfied feeling.
    I loved every minute of this book and found myself crying with Charlie and laughing at the moments in this book I have expirienced and can relate to.
    This is a must read for anyone.

    49 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hooray for Charlie!

    Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to draw the reader in and feel part of the story. Charlie, the hero, was a WONDERFUL character. He is so unique and loveable. You just want to be his friend. I'm glad that I read it!

    41 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Love this book!

    I've read this book many times over the years, and recently bought it for a girl I know for her 15th b-day. It is actually good to read at any age, but as it is a "coming of age" story, teenagers in particular can enjoy it. I would highly recommend it to anyone who hasn't read it.

    40 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it v

    Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly

    33 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Ya know....everyone seems to absolutely adore this book...and I

    Ya know....everyone seems to absolutely adore this book...and I don't really get it.
    I don't hate this book, by any means. I don't think it is a bad book, in fact, I thought it was good.
    However, this book didn't capture me, like it apparently did everyone else. I didn't fall in love with the characters. I didn't feel overly attached to the story. In fact, I felt very few emotions at all while reading this story. It was an easy read, which can be nice. There were even things I related to in the story. I just did not connect the with the story as a whole. After hearing so many great things about this book, I was a bit disappointed.

    19 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Beautiful

    I read all the time and it is so rare that a book i read makes me feel so much. I can relate to this book so well considering i just compleated my first year of high school just like Charlie. This book is so real and so beautiful. At points Charlies life gets so terrible that you want to crawl on your bed and hold yourself in hopes that if you feel better, Charlie will too. And then there are the parts where this book plasters a smile onto your face. It reveals the true feelings of a teenager and the heartaches of high school. This isn't a book where everything turns out right, because this book is real, and in real life things sometimes dont turn out how we would like it. I loved this book and i thank the author for writing it because it made me feel for Charlie and it changed my perspective on high school.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    Amazing

    This is my all time favorite book. I learned so much about life and learned how to view it differently. I've read this book about 15 times and each time I read it I feel like I learn something new. I've highlighted sentences, paragraphs, and even pages that I relate to and I pass it around to my friends and they do the same. I encourage everyone to read it, it will open your eyes.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Jaded

    I do not know who would call this book either meaningful or deep. Horrible 5th grade writing at best. The author tried too hard to make it seem as if a teenager writing that it ended up sounding like a 10 year olds diary. Filled with melodrama to make it interesting (ie. Sister's abusive bf, gay friend gets caught by father, sister is pregnant, fight with girlfriend dude is not interested in, drugged...etc etc). Like other reviewers said, is this Charlie guy retarded? I suppose if he was in special ed school he would seem like an honors student... as it was, just a book that glorified bad influences, rediculous relationships, and jaded material. Seriously, teenagers, if you're reading this review, you will be very sad and upset that you spent your highschool years being experimental/spending so much effort on people you will not know by the time they go away for college, instead of getting an education and exploring interests and learning things to become cultured and well rounded. This social drama is a waste of time, both in real life and in this so-called book.

    12 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    I would not recommend this book to serious readers. The books p

    I would not recommend this book to serious readers. The books packs on a bunch of young adult tropes and ends up reading like an episode of Degrassi. I bought this book, encouraged by the favorable reviews I had gotten from friends (and Barnes and Noble reviews here online), but ended up returning it immediately after I read it. I do not usually write unfavorable reviews but the amount of praise this book is getting is, I feel, totally unwarranted. I went into this book with a positive attitude and left severely underwhelmed.

    The most obvious problem is that the main character, Charlie, is nauseatingly naive and completely unrelatable. Though the issues he experiences are promising (sex, drugs, homosexuality, suicide, etc.), they are being told from a painfully childish perspective. One chapter starts like this:

    'Do you know what 'masturbation' is? I think you probably do because you are older than me. But just in case, I will tell you. Masturbation is when you rub your genitals until you have an orgasm. Wow!'

    This is not at all how high school freshmen talk or behave. I know five-year-olds with more depth than Charlie. I know taking an extreme example out of context is unfair, but this is the most obvious example I can come up with to describe Charlie's mannerisms. Maybe the point of this book is to look at adult issues through the innocent lens of a child, but the dissonance between the situations Charlie finds himself in and his level of childishness throughout them makes Charlie an unbelievable and unsympathetic character. Chbosky has a few interesting ideas, and the film may very well end up being a hit because of them, but in the book they are simply unable to salvage the style and delivery used to tell this story.

    11 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    original

    I've loved this book for years, i lost my copy in a move and bought the ebook so i couldn't lose it again. there is so much that he is able to say in just a few words but those words go right to your heart and take ahold. The main character transcends gender lines to grasp each person who reads his story and you feel as though a mirror is being held up to that part of you that you've always wanted to understand but never quite did before. This book is superb and i've given it as gifts and re-read it yearly. It's an interesting and quick read but you'll learn what it means to feel infinite!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    mrs. o'shane

    i absolutly hate reading but i loved this book it reall kept my attention. the book actually related to me so i understood it alot better than the books we have to read in school. i really liked how it was written in letters so i could put the book down and understand it when i picked it back up later. the perks of being a wall flower had a great story and message and it was an easy read. i would deffinatly recomend it to my friends.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Thank u

    Thank you to the person who totaly ruined the book for me. While trying to figure out wether or not to buy and read this i read a review that summed up the book. A simple dont read wouldve been fine. Jerks..

    9 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    What the hell?

    A coming-of-age story? Come on. The whole book I felt like 15yr old Charlie had the mental capacity of an elementary schooler. Not an accurate depiction of a freshman year high school student's thoughts or doings - at least, not any of the ones I knew when I was 15 and all my friends were seniors.

    9 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    I loved this book!

    I have purchased this book, given it to friends, and repurchased it several times. I just feel like I always need to have a copy. I have reread it every time I need to feel what freshmnan year of highschool was all about. For better or worse this book dredges up the actual physical feelings of high school.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 162