Customer Reviews for

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Average Rating 4.5
( 3188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2418)

4 Star

(442)

3 Star

(171)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(89)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

391 out of 425 people found this review helpful.

Read Review!!!!!!!

I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm...
I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm... appropriate all the time, as shown in this book. The Perks of Being a Wallflower has very deep, easy to connect with characters and a plot that won't let you put the book down. Because of it's high school setting I wouldn't recommend this book for people under 13, but if you think you can handle the story without your parents flipping out too much, than go for it, cause this book will leave you with 100 hundred that aren't even yours. There are parts where you WILL cry (I guarantee it), parts where you will want to scream at the top of your lungs and not care who stares at you, and parts that will throw a smile on your face....not PUT a smile on ur face but that smile will THROW itself there. Pick up this book and read it NOW!!

posted by AGirlWhoHasFallen4Books on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Hooray for Charlie!

Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to ...
Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to draw the reader in and feel part of the story. Charlie, the hero, was a WONDERFUL character. He is so unique and loveable. You just want to be his friend. I'm glad that I read it!

posted by MrPotter07 on January 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3194 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 160
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is beautiful. It makes you laugh, tear up, it makes yo

    This book is beautiful. It makes you laugh, tear up, it makes you feel happy, sad, confused. It really makes you think. Everyone should read this book at least once. This is a great story about a kid experiencing high school, friends, tragedy, drugs, sex. it's just great, read it you won't regret it.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    Review for "Perks of Being a Wallflower"

    You get sucked into Charlie's life and you can relate to how he feels and some of the things he does. He's strange and relatable all at the same time. It will either completely go over your head or it'll seep in and make you think. I highly recommend this book but for a more mature reader.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    HELP

    HELP IM STUCK IN A CHINEASE COOKIE FACTORY!!!!!!!

    7 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Anymous

    Just read it frpm the library and stop complaining about wasting your money!

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Ugh.

    NononononoNO. The book has less of a plot and more of a ton of horrible things happen to the main character, and he refuses to deal with them type structure.
    And in the end? More bad stuff happens.
    And he still refused to deal.

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Unrealistic

    I agree that he acts childish. I enjoyed the book but found myself wondering if charlie was mentally retarded.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It will leave you feeling good about yourself.

    I'm always looking for a good book to read and I came across this one online.I read what it was about and then I read the reviews to it,I thought it would be a crappy book but it was pretty good.The book is about a teenager named charlie who has a hard time adjusting to life after his aunt dies.So since he can't talk about his feelings with his family he decides to write letters to an unknown person.It's also about the problems teenagers go through in High school, with their families and friends.Thrust me I wouldn't be wasting my time on writing a review for this book if it sucked.It's a definite buy.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    My Hi. My name is bob.

    I like pie and unicorns that poop rainbows and jellybeans. Bye.

    5 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    I wish that Barnes and Noble offered refunds. How did this book

    I wish that Barnes and Noble offered refunds. How did this book manage to get published? I could not even finish the book because of how poorly it is written. Had this book been offered to me for free, I still wouldn't have bothered with it. I wish I would have lit the ten dollars that I spent on this on fire, at least that would have been considerably more interesting than the meaningless drivel contained within these pages.

    5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Wow

    Omg i love this book it keeps you entertaned for hours i keep reading it over n over really awesome book



    <3 IT LOVE IT LOVE IT

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Pretty good, I must say.

    Because of good reviews, I decided to read this. I usually don't like books about high school and drugs and sex and stuff but this was a very entertaining book. You really fall in love with charlie and wish he was your best friend. Reading from charlie's perspective is very interesting. I was hooked to this book. I recommend it for anyone. it was really good.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My new favorite book!

    As a freshmen in high school i feel like i can relate to this book very much. It also has opened my eyes up to what some people at my school may be feeling inside that i just haven't noticed. Charlie is a very smart and caring boy. And im glad that my teacher let me borrow this book so i could join Charlie on his journey as a freshmen in school. Where he experiences high school stuff like sex, drugs, parties, meeting new people and losing people. It's a really good book and i reccomend it to all the hipsters and teenagers out there.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    Great Life Awakening Book

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a great book that holds a deep meaning. A comedy about friendships, influences and grief coming from the point of view from an outcast . Recommended for all young adults. This Page turner makes you want to read it over again. Four thumbs way up!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    AWESOME SAUCE!

    I LOVE THIS BOOK SO OHMYGODSITSJONAHWIZARD MUCH!!!!!! I cant wait till the movie! Even though im 11 and this book talks about stuff over my head....hey, haters gonna hate.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Amazing

    This book had me all in since the first page. It was very well writen and the author captured what it is like being an akward yet intelligent young man. I reccommend this book to anyone over13 because there was some scenes that were intense and not for younf readers. But if u think ur ready u will really enjoy wachting Charlie and his heaert capturing life.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Not so great

    I hated this book from start to finish. Horrible and a waste of time.

    4 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    The BEST book I have ever read.

    This is, by far, the best book I have ever read. I have read it literally six or seven times. Literally. I even bought two copies and I keep one out of reach so it will stay in perfect condition. It is an amazing read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic book!!!

    this is one of the best books ive read in awhile!!! theres soo many things in the story that i can relate to. charlie, the main character, is so likeable. chboskys writing style is authentic since it is told from 15 year old charlies point of view. his story is both warming and touching at the same time. i defintely consider this one of my favorite books of all time. one that i can definitely read more than once (and thats saying something for me). just read it, youll luv it!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    I really wanted to write a review of this book to give potential

    I really wanted to write a review of this book to give potential reader's an insight as to what this novel is all about. I do not understand the hype surrounding this book at all. There was no climax, no rise and fall, no real series of interesting events. The story just goes on and on until it doesn't anymore, and you're at the end. I didn't even really find the ending of the book interesting because so much of it was a giant, uninteresting failure, that the ending failed to offer any sort of redemption. Do not be fooled, and don't waste your time. What an awful read.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    I found this book to be a bit on the boring side. I know it was

    I found this book to be a bit on the boring side. I know it was written as letters but still the style of writing struck me as more of a middle schooler writing. Also, there is such a lack of character development that you feel nothing for any of the characters. 

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3194 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 160