Customer Reviews for

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Average Rating 4.5
( 3167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2402)

4 Star

(440)

3 Star

(169)

2 Star

(69)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

387 out of 421 people found this review helpful.

Read Review!!!!!!!

I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm...
I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm... appropriate all the time, as shown in this book. The Perks of Being a Wallflower has very deep, easy to connect with characters and a plot that won't let you put the book down. Because of it's high school setting I wouldn't recommend this book for people under 13, but if you think you can handle the story without your parents flipping out too much, than go for it, cause this book will leave you with 100 hundred that aren't even yours. There are parts where you WILL cry (I guarantee it), parts where you will want to scream at the top of your lungs and not care who stares at you, and parts that will throw a smile on your face....not PUT a smile on ur face but that smile will THROW itself there. Pick up this book and read it NOW!!

posted by AGirlWhoHasFallen4Books on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Hooray for Charlie!

Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to ...
Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to draw the reader in and feel part of the story. Charlie, the hero, was a WONDERFUL character. He is so unique and loveable. You just want to be his friend. I'm glad that I read it!

posted by MrPotter07 on January 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Jaded

    I do not know who would call this book either meaningful or deep. Horrible 5th grade writing at best. The author tried too hard to make it seem as if a teenager writing that it ended up sounding like a 10 year olds diary. Filled with melodrama to make it interesting (ie. Sister's abusive bf, gay friend gets caught by father, sister is pregnant, fight with girlfriend dude is not interested in, drugged...etc etc). Like other reviewers said, is this Charlie guy retarded? I suppose if he was in special ed school he would seem like an honors student... as it was, just a book that glorified bad influences, rediculous relationships, and jaded material. Seriously, teenagers, if you're reading this review, you will be very sad and upset that you spent your highschool years being experimental/spending so much effort on people you will not know by the time they go away for college, instead of getting an education and exploring interests and learning things to become cultured and well rounded. This social drama is a waste of time, both in real life and in this so-called book.

    12 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    I would not recommend this book to serious readers. The books p

    I would not recommend this book to serious readers. The books packs on a bunch of young adult tropes and ends up reading like an episode of Degrassi. I bought this book, encouraged by the favorable reviews I had gotten from friends (and Barnes and Noble reviews here online), but ended up returning it immediately after I read it. I do not usually write unfavorable reviews but the amount of praise this book is getting is, I feel, totally unwarranted. I went into this book with a positive attitude and left severely underwhelmed.

    The most obvious problem is that the main character, Charlie, is nauseatingly naive and completely unrelatable. Though the issues he experiences are promising (sex, drugs, homosexuality, suicide, etc.), they are being told from a painfully childish perspective. One chapter starts like this:

    'Do you know what 'masturbation' is? I think you probably do because you are older than me. But just in case, I will tell you. Masturbation is when you rub your genitals until you have an orgasm. Wow!'

    This is not at all how high school freshmen talk or behave. I know five-year-olds with more depth than Charlie. I know taking an extreme example out of context is unfair, but this is the most obvious example I can come up with to describe Charlie's mannerisms. Maybe the point of this book is to look at adult issues through the innocent lens of a child, but the dissonance between the situations Charlie finds himself in and his level of childishness throughout them makes Charlie an unbelievable and unsympathetic character. Chbosky has a few interesting ideas, and the film may very well end up being a hit because of them, but in the book they are simply unable to salvage the style and delivery used to tell this story.

    11 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Thank u

    Thank you to the person who totaly ruined the book for me. While trying to figure out wether or not to buy and read this i read a review that summed up the book. A simple dont read wouldve been fine. Jerks..

    9 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    What the hell?

    A coming-of-age story? Come on. The whole book I felt like 15yr old Charlie had the mental capacity of an elementary schooler. Not an accurate depiction of a freshman year high school student's thoughts or doings - at least, not any of the ones I knew when I was 15 and all my friends were seniors.

    9 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Anymous

    Just read it frpm the library and stop complaining about wasting your money!

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Ugh.

    NononononoNO. The book has less of a plot and more of a ton of horrible things happen to the main character, and he refuses to deal with them type structure.
    And in the end? More bad stuff happens.
    And he still refused to deal.

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    My Hi. My name is bob.

    I like pie and unicorns that poop rainbows and jellybeans. Bye.

    5 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    I wish that Barnes and Noble offered refunds. How did this book

    I wish that Barnes and Noble offered refunds. How did this book manage to get published? I could not even finish the book because of how poorly it is written. Had this book been offered to me for free, I still wouldn't have bothered with it. I wish I would have lit the ten dollars that I spent on this on fire, at least that would have been considerably more interesting than the meaningless drivel contained within these pages.

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Not so great

    I hated this book from start to finish. Horrible and a waste of time.

    4 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    I really wanted to write a review of this book to give potential

    I really wanted to write a review of this book to give potential reader's an insight as to what this novel is all about. I do not understand the hype surrounding this book at all. There was no climax, no rise and fall, no real series of interesting events. The story just goes on and on until it doesn't anymore, and you're at the end. I didn't even really find the ending of the book interesting because so much of it was a giant, uninteresting failure, that the ending failed to offer any sort of redemption. Do not be fooled, and don't waste your time. What an awful read.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    I found this book to be a bit on the boring side. I know it was

    I found this book to be a bit on the boring side. I know it was written as letters but still the style of writing struck me as more of a middle schooler writing. Also, there is such a lack of character development that you feel nothing for any of the characters. 

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    I don't like to leave negative reviews but this book was HORRIBL

    I don't like to leave negative reviews but this book was HORRIBLE. There wasn't really a story line, and 
    his writing style was like that of a third grader. 
    It was very all over the place. 
    It was just bad things happening to Charlie over and over; it was very depressing.
    He used the word "incidentally" in almost every single letter, and  it had a lot of descriptive
     inappropriate content. The ending was very depressing, too. 
    It was a disappointment. I would not recommend it. 

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Meh.

    Decent, but i believe the hype comes from the ideal, not the actual story. If you want a powerful novel, with excellent excecution, read The Fault in our Stars.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Answer to anonymus

    No its not ok for a 13 yr old!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!!!!!!!!!!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Too messed up

    So i tried reading this book and got about 30 pages far and decieded it was too gross. There is a lot of sex comments and some very dirty parts and i just couldnt continue reading it. I highly discourage this book if you are like me and cannot handle too much intimacy.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Not Recommended for 15 and under--unless your childrns already know alot about sex

    As my son said, this book is the teenager's 50 Shades of Grey. There shouldn't be a teenager's version; should there? Way to much info for my 14 year old boys. Unless they are already involved in sex, hope not. There is no reason to introduce kids under 17 to the circumstances or encourage it.

    Mom's couldn't even enjoy it, because it's about young kids; bring up to a story line with adults and it would be good.

    This book was on the 9th grade reading list for my kid's school and suddenly was removed. What does that tell you?
    K.Hart

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Horrible movie

    I hid underneath my swearshirt practically the entire movie. It was the most akwardest movie ever ... I am not buying the book... it seems inappropriate even for teens, but some people like that kind of stuff.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    fuck

    Jjj

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Is it inappropiate?

    I dont kno if it is inappropiate or not...

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Please read

    Does this book contain scenes of sex? Im 12, but i REALLY want to read this book.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5