Customer Reviews for

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Average Rating 4.5
( 3238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2455)

4 Star

(451)

3 Star

(172)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(90)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

401 out of 435 people found this review helpful.

Read Review!!!!!!!

I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm...
I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm... appropriate all the time, as shown in this book. The Perks of Being a Wallflower has very deep, easy to connect with characters and a plot that won't let you put the book down. Because of it's high school setting I wouldn't recommend this book for people under 13, but if you think you can handle the story without your parents flipping out too much, than go for it, cause this book will leave you with 100 hundred that aren't even yours. There are parts where you WILL cry (I guarantee it), parts where you will want to scream at the top of your lungs and not care who stares at you, and parts that will throw a smile on your face....not PUT a smile on ur face but that smile will THROW itself there. Pick up this book and read it NOW!!

posted by AGirlWhoHasFallen4Books on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Hooray for Charlie!

Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to ...
Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to draw the reader in and feel part of the story. Charlie, the hero, was a WONDERFUL character. He is so unique and loveable. You just want to be his friend. I'm glad that I read it!

posted by MrPotter07 on January 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Depressing for young adults

    l would not recommend it and cant imagine a movie being any better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    :(

    This was a well written book but i couldnt get into it. It seemed that something was wrong with charlie. And he never understood anything... he was never himself and it seemed he got into the wrong crowd and when everything is about to be okay it goes downhill. It was way to depressing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Disappointed

    I must say I am very disappointed in this book. After reading all the stellar reviews I was looking forward to reading it. I dont get what was so amazing. I kept reading thinking it was gonna get better...it had to, Just read the reviews. Disappointing!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Ok?

    This book was kinda nasty. I wouldn't recommend this book to younger readers.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Maybe I'm crazy...

    I actually picked this book up because my school's book club was reading it. At first, it sounded like a pretty good read and the reviews were stellar! Yet, I couldn't help but feel disconnected the whole time I was reading this novel. The writing style didn't flow nearly as well as it could have and I kept getting the feeling that maybe Charlie was autistic? If you've ever read Flowers for Algernon, this book might remind you on a smaller scale of Charlie Gordon (not because of the name!) You really want to love him, but it's hard to put yourself in the character's frame of mind. Of course, maybe I'm just crazy and you should give this book a try anyway! My opinion may be totally different from yours, who knows?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    predictable

    Essentially, this book touched upon every high school social cliche there is, so it made it pretty predictable and unenlightening.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Glad im done

    Do not see how movie will b a comedy the book is not humorous in nature and i had to force myself to actually finish the book

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    read th Read this review

    Ok wll the book is alright but the kid writing the letters sounds like hes about 10 and makes it super unrealistic.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Uuuuuhhhhh

    I saw the movie preveiw and thouht it would match up with other coming of age book. I t didn' the first chapter made me assuame he was mentally retarted, and it is all contreveral topics thrown on a rubbery plot. Look for another book if you want a healthy, exciting, and ispirational coming of age book( which the movie trailer makes it out to be)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Perks of Being a Wallflower

    Because this book got such good reviews (and is coming out as a movie soon) I wanted to try it out. Honestly, I didn't really enjoy the book. I expected an interesting, happy book about the trials of high school. I was astonished by all the dark topics: abortion, drugs, rape, homophobia, the list goes on and on. The book was interesting to read, but I wouldn't recommend it. If you want to read it, get it from the library, don't waste your money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Boring

    Boring booook! I thought charlie was really weird.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Rambling

    I really didnt enjoy this book. The format is interesting but its not well written. It seemed like a lot of rambling and nothing ever "happened".

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Best book of all time!!!!

    The Perks Of Being A Wallflower, was the most Sad, Happy, Moving, Funny, Crazy, Heartbreaking, and blissful book all in one. The first time I read it was a few nights ago and I finished it that night. The book drew me in so much I couldn't put it down. I loved feeling like it was my story. Like I was in Charlie's shoes. It was like a movie and I was on the edge of my seat just waiting to see what happened next! I love when he said “And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.” because to tell you the truth I felt infinite as well. Charlie's letters about his freshman year meeting new people, discovering new things, and learning how to deal with life was very inspirational. Read this book and I guarantee you won't regret it.
    Love always, Abby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    Not My Favorite

    I just kinda hated this book. I didn't even read the last ten pages because I was just DONE. It made me feel really depressed. I thought it was cheesy and predictable.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    Great literary style, not so great story

    2 1/2 stars there is both great and not so good qualities to this book. I loved the way it read and was told through the eyes of a teen not quite sure exactly how to take in his surrounds. Its somthing we can all relate to either having been there or dealing with it now. With that being said I felt like this book ended just as you were really getting into it. The way it ended too was more like finding yourself dazed rather than satisgied. I found myself saying 'ok were did that come from'. When i hit the end another question came to mind. 'Was that it?' While it had great potential and reminded me as a sort of modern day Catcher In The Rye, In the end though it was not a memorable read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Terrible Characters.

    I found the characters in this book to be very unrealistic and almost impossible to relate to. If you're going to have a character-driven book, you have to have characters that you can relate to or that are at least bearable.

    Charlie, the main character, is the worst of them all. He is a high school freshman who smokes, drinks, and does drugs yet still manages to get straight A's. It seems like Chbosky was more concerned with stuffing in as many controversial topics than he was about whether it was believable or not. (And on a side note: Charlie gets his driver's license in the book. Since when are high school freshmen 16 by Christmas time?)

    With so many different characters and so many different problems crammed into one book, you would think the likelihood of relating to at least one character would be guaranteed. This is not the case, and I just found myself getting more and more annoyed with the characters as the book progressed.

    So unless you're a 16-year-old high school freshman savant who drinks, smokes, and does LSD, I would not recommend this book.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ehh it was alright

    This book was okay. But there was no conflict or anything. Charlie was just telling a story of his first year of highschool and the many experiences that came along with it. I thought this would be an excellent book because my friend said so but when I got to the end it was kind of dull. Many people liked it I think, but I didn't.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    Not what I thought

    I had heard that this was a really good book so I read it and it turned out nothing like I thought. It had like no point and wasn't very interesting.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2001

    What was this!?!

    I saw MTV advertising it and it seemed interesting, but when I actually spent $12 on it and read it, I was very disappointed. 'Charlie' must be realy incoherent to the world around him and the events in the book were too fictional for real lyfe. Hopefully Stephen Chbosky'd next effort will be better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4