Customer Reviews for

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Average Rating 4.5
( 3238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2455)

4 Star

(451)

3 Star

(172)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(90)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

401 out of 435 people found this review helpful.

Read Review!!!!!!!

I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm...
I would give you a summary of this fantastic book, but I don't want to give too much away. It's basically about a boy and his first year in high school. That's the one thing young readers need to watch out for because (I'm sorry to say) high school isn't exactly... uhmm... appropriate all the time, as shown in this book. The Perks of Being a Wallflower has very deep, easy to connect with characters and a plot that won't let you put the book down. Because of it's high school setting I wouldn't recommend this book for people under 13, but if you think you can handle the story without your parents flipping out too much, than go for it, cause this book will leave you with 100 hundred that aren't even yours. There are parts where you WILL cry (I guarantee it), parts where you will want to scream at the top of your lungs and not care who stares at you, and parts that will throw a smile on your face....not PUT a smile on ur face but that smile will THROW itself there. Pick up this book and read it NOW!!

posted by AGirlWhoHasFallen4Books on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Hooray for Charlie!

Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to ...
Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to draw the reader in and feel part of the story. Charlie, the hero, was a WONDERFUL character. He is so unique and loveable. You just want to be his friend. I'm glad that I read it!

posted by MrPotter07 on January 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hooray for Charlie!

    Why is it that "good" books for teens are always so heavy? This is a book that contains themes of suicide, depression, abortion, etc. Even though it was so dark and dreary, I did like it. It had an interesting format that I've never seen before that really helped to draw the reader in and feel part of the story. Charlie, the hero, was a WONDERFUL character. He is so unique and loveable. You just want to be his friend. I'm glad that I read it!

    41 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Unrealistic

    I agree that he acts childish. I enjoyed the book but found myself wondering if charlie was mentally retarded.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It will leave you feeling good about yourself.

    I'm always looking for a good book to read and I came across this one online.I read what it was about and then I read the reviews to it,I thought it would be a crappy book but it was pretty good.The book is about a teenager named charlie who has a hard time adjusting to life after his aunt dies.So since he can't talk about his feelings with his family he decides to write letters to an unknown person.It's also about the problems teenagers go through in High school, with their families and friends.Thrust me I wouldn't be wasting my time on writing a review for this book if it sucked.It's a definite buy.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Concept, Mediocre Execution

    This book was on my personal list of books to read by the end of high school. Judging from how my friends described the book, it seemed like it would be one of those books that you read and it changes your whole perspective on life. After finishing this novel, I don’t understand the appeal. Sure, it was very uniquely written, it had some great moments, but it didn’t live up to its reputation as “one of the best books for teens ever” as some people describe it. The book didn’t seem to have a real story. There was no flow between chapters, and the end left me extremely disappointed and expecting more, but not really wanting it. The book could have been amazing, but failed to deliver.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Hmm

    This is a well-written book but definitely offers a look into a much darker side of teens and especially drugs. I give it a 2 1/2 stars. Definitely not for young readers under 14 at the very youngest, no matter the reading level.

    A good book for high schoolers but again, not a great book for anyone younger than 8th grade.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I feel infinite...

    This book is written in a way where the reader doesn't know the basics about the main character, but could possibly know more than needed to know about his life. Charlie, a ninth grader at a typical highschool. He doesn't understand girls, and keeps to himself most of the time. He befriends Patrick and Sam, who loosen him up and get him to interact. Throughout experiences learning about drugs, sex, and trustworthy, Charlie also learns more about himself. The book is good for any highschool or older reader because they can relate to the story in so many ways. The book walks through his normal days of school and parties. He also deals with some serious things such as abortions, physical and sexual abuse, peer pressure, and several others. His experiences are both exhilarating and depressing, just like a normal teenagers life. I liked this book because it was an easy read and didn't take much thinking to it. There were many references to the media which also grab the readers attention. A playlist, several books, and many movie/t.v references were refreshing to see, it made the book more relatable. I liked the writing style of the book. The author wrote it like letters to an anonymous person. In that way, the book feels more personal and helps you connect with the story. The book cover is really contempory and kind of out there, which is exactly how the book is itself. One thing i didn't like about the book was how, even though, he received several books from his teacher, his writing skills never improved. He often talked about how he wanted to be a writer but his writing skills were primary. He used big words, but often used quotations and said he just learned those words. It made me feel bad for Charlie that he just wasn't good at what he really wanted to be. Charlie is one of those characters in a book that you instantly fall in love with. I wouldn't say it was the best book i have ever read, but i did thoroughly enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2000

    Final pages worth the whole book

    Mr. Chbosky's novel successfully relates his story in the form of letters written by Charlie, the fifteen-year-old protagonist, to an anonymous 'friend,' a nice change from a more conventional diary format. The first half of the novel seems somewhat unfocused, but this also reflects Charlie's state of mind as he enters his first year of high school. Events from his past are sporadically mentioned, but the principle concern is his present feeling of isolation from peers and family. Charlie finds some acceptance with a small company of older students preparing for graduation. They are present or participate in his adolescent rites of passage - drugs and alcohol, first loves, dating and sex - all of which are chronicled with almost painful accuracy. He has always been more concerned with the feelings of others but their advice is for him to participate in life, not merely observe from sidelines, a goal he cannot seem to achieve. Dealing with his sisters pregnancy, supporting a gay friend after a broken love affair, even the death of a schoolmate are situations that leave him unfazed. Only the crush he has on an 'older woman', Sam, leaves him devastated. The reason for this, as well as his overall withdrawal from the world around him, is finally explained in the final dozen pages of the book. All of the meandering plot and small story lines come together in a compact and unforgettable conclusion, making the whole book well worth the reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Classic coming-of-age story

    The novel is a good and soon-to-be classic coming-of-age novel. Shorter than most other novels but still longer than a novella, 'Perks is a dramatic story surrounding the events of Charlie's freshman year of high school. For those of you that have seen the film adaptation of this work, you'll be unsatisfied as the movie has near-completely captured the story. Chbosky wrote and directed 'Perks. Despite a few small occurrences in Charlie's life, the book isn't much more than movie so do not expect to explore a bigger story at hand; expect re-reading the same story again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    ?

    Is it worth what it is for . Age recamendation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    PLZ READ IS NOT A JOKE

    okay i seen the movie and i would really like to read the book i got the sample amd liked it but i dont hav any money so if amy one who is a fangirl \ boy an would like to help me i would really thank you but as for the movie i loved it. I watched it with my friend and she had already read the book and at the end when SPOILER charlie is in rhe hospital about to go home she cries and i asked her y she said that because charlies aunt helen raped him and i started crying and i was wondering if that was true? Well if u would like to reply an plz do reaspond by in the thin box abov this one write MAYMAY and i will know u are talking about me thx again and plz reply

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    R

    It is a ok book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Ok

    One of those instances where the movie was just better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Is this ok for a 13 year old?

    It metioned sex in the overview and i dont think im redy to read that kind of stuff yet...if someone who read the book please tell me tht would be awesome. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Add me as a friend please i need friends

    I need friends bad please friend ME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will love it PLEASE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    Shy, awkward but highly intelligent Charlie tries to cope up and

    Shy, awkward but highly intelligent Charlie tries to cope up and blend in the wild and outrageously crazy days of teenage life and growing up. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    It was ok

    I had heard a lot about Perks before I read it. So i pretty much knew the plot and everything. To me the book was just ok. Not the most amazing book ive ever read. But it was good. I was exspecting more because of all the hype. I read the book before i saw the movie. The movie was great. But mabey im bias because i LOVE logan lerman. So yeah. Back to the book. Like i said...its wasn't bad by any means. Just not my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Roleplay anyone?

    (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    I read this book about a week ago and at first, this book seemed

    I read this book about a week ago and at first, this book seemed interesting to me bacuase a lot of people have been talking about it and calling it a great book. Once I picked up this book and actually started reading it, it wasn't too bad. I like that the
    main character,Charlie, speaks directly to the reader. He is a freshman in high school and you learn all about his ups and downs of life. It is a cute little book to read when you are bored, but I wouldn't call it the best book ever. Like I said, when I first started reading it, I liked the book a lot, but as I got further and further into the book I lost interest. Once Charlie explains how he spends his days with his friends, the rest is just a repeating cycle. I felt like I was reading the same chapter over and over a couple of times. The twist at the end of the book that reveals why Charlie acts the why he acts caught me off guard so I do have to give props to Stephen Chbosky for throwing that plot twist in the book. I don't think anyone was expecting it. As for the ending of the book, I'm not going to give anything away, but I think Chbosky could have done a better job finishing off the book. The ending pretty much ruined most of the book for me. Although I only give this book 3 stars, I think everyone should still read this book. It gives the reader a different perspective on life and teenagers. Overall, this was a good book. It had its good parts and it had its boring parts. I'm glad I read this book and if you read it, you'll be glad too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay but didn't live up to all of the hype. Did I enjoy

    It was okay but didn't live up to all of the hype.

    Did I enjoy this book: That is a difficult question. I would have to say that overall, yes, I did enjoy this book. But it did not, in my opinion, live up to all of the hype that it received. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but it didn’t meet those expectations. The reason I say I did enjoy it overall is because I kept thinking about it after I finished reading it. It didn’t leave me right away.

    Charlie was an interesting character and narrator. The style was different being that the entire story was told in a series of letters addressed to “Friend”. I still want to know who “Friend” is and what “Friend” thought when he or she received these letters from some kid he or she did not know. I want to know what is up with Charlie. There is something not quite right about him. I understand that a lot of it comes from what he has been through but I also have to wonder if it isn’t an undiagnosed disorder or something. But there is something. I liked Charlie. I felt bad for him. I felt happy for him. I felt sad for him. There was a large range of emotions that I felt while reading this book. Charlie experienced just about everything that can happen to a teen in the course of one school year. He was very emotional throughout the book and his language did not sound like a 14 or 15 year old boy. In fact, when I started reading the book, I thought Charlie was a girl.

    The friends that Charlie meets during his freshman year of high school were an interesting bunch. I grew up in this era so some references were familiar. My favorite thing was that the two main friends, Sam and Patrick, befriended Charlie despite him being “weird” or kind of out there. I don’t know that that would happen in today’s world. I’d like to think that it would and I would hope that this book would inspire that type of friendship (at least the type of friendship that occurred in the beginning…some of it towards the end was inappropriate) today. Sam and Patrick were fun, caring, popular but not in the conventional sense. They were teens of the late 80s trying to find their place in the 90s. I also loved Charlie’s English Lit teacher. He really reached out to Charlie and helped him. He challenged him because he saw something in him.

    I loved that the book was set in Pittsburgh. The tunnel descriptions were spot on. If anyone has ever experienced going through the Fort Pitt tunnels and seeing the city appear before you as you exit, you know how awesome that it. No matter how many times I see that, it still gets me a little bit.

    I can honestly say that this is one of the few books that I actually liked the movie so much better than the book. I watched The Perks of Being a Wallflower after I read the book. And besides the not so good American accent by Hermione, and the lack of the yinzer accent by all of the actors in this film, the movie was, dare I say, better than the book. It really helped me to visualize what was going on in the book. While reading the book, I could hear the yinzer accent. I really wish the actors in the movie had taken a course in how to speak Pittsburghese. It would have made the whole movie.

    Would I recommend it: I would recommend this book. It is a different read in some respects. If you are from Pittsburgh, you will totally get the tunnel scenes. If you like edgy YA, then read this.

    Will I read it again: I will not unless my kids read it when they are older. If that’s the case, I may reread it to refresh my memory so I can talk to them about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Slightly boring

    I never say things like this, but the movie was better. I am always pro-book until I read this. Boring, slow moving, and written in the form of letters which gets annoying. The grammar is terrible, but I let it slide since it was supposed to be written by a 15-yr-old boy so yes I understand that it isn't supposed to sound perfect. But since readers are generally older than 15, it would be nice to have some proper sentences. I also don't like how you find out a huge thing right at the end, so theres no room to elaborate on it. Overall not a bad read but it's not for the sophisticated reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9