Customer Reviews for

Perpetual War for Perpetual Peace: How We Got to Be So Hated

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    If Only This Opinion Were More Popular

    Trust someone living outside the U.S. to be truthful about our arrogance and hypocracy. You'll laugh, but hopefully, you'll get mad enough to demand change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    Alternative to Corporate Media!

    FANTASTIC! Vidal cuts through the hypnotic propaganda waves of corporate media and gives Americans the real story about why others hate us and how our liberties are slowly being stripped away. He connects everything that is wrong with the country, from the squeezing out of American farmers to the mostly preemtive, perpetual strikes America wages against others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2003

    Great book.

    One of the best contemporary writers, Gore Vidal, writes a provoking book. This book gives a well thought evidence of the current administration as to why 'We' are so hated. I would definitely recommend this book because it gives you perceptiveness to things that the government has executed but yet the mass media has not informed us about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2002

    A View from the all but Silenced

    This book is a must read for all political affiliations. Vidal presents a side to current events that has been all but silenced by the media. Though many of his conclusions are based on circumstantial evidence, I believe the evidence presented in this book to be compelling. I personally did not agree with many of his conclusions in this book, but believe it is important to hear the "unpopular" opinion during this imporant time period in world history. Approach this book with an open mind, and you will look at information presented by the main stream media and our leaders with quite a different eye. Thank you Vidal for your many years of provactive and insightful inquiry into our world; old and new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    Vidal says what others won't

    I recommend Perpetual War for Perpetual Peace not because I am a WASP cynic who agrees with everything Vidal says, but instead because the information he offers sheds a certain amount of light on the events we are living through today and their historical background. I have to respect Gore Vidal just for the fact that he will say and write things about the United States government that others would never dare utter. At times he oversimplifies certain events, and it's an historian's nightmare that he does not include footnotes or endnotes for reference when he covers over a half-century of related events in one paragraph. But Vidal does make key points in that the American media has extreme spin control on news coverage (I have mental images of the movie 'Wag the Dog'), and the government is limiting certain 'unalienable' rights of it's citizens - wire taps, writ of habaeus corpus, and so on - while going after the 'Axis of Evil,' or whatever name George W. has decided on for this week. I can see how this book might possibly offend certain people, especially those closely affected by the World Trade Center or Oklahoma City federal building bombings. But it seems that Vidal is not trying to offend, or even to detract from the significance and grief of the events. He instead is giving rational (of course still up for debate) reasons why things like this have happened to the U.S. and why it can be argued they were warranted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Provocative, Sometimes Offensive, Always Intriguing

    I picked this book up on the fly while visiting a bookstore by my job while wandering around with some co-workers during our lunch break. I'm glad I did. While Vidal's opinions seem to be farfetched and largely based on conspiracy theories, no one can deny the little feeling you get inside while reading that makes you think, 'What if he's right?' While I disagree with much of Vidal's opinions, his arguments are solidly backed up and, to the open-minded reader, are soaked in profound possibilities. The only people who would not appreciate this book are the people Vidal talks about. People must stop accepting ridiculous reasons for our nation's most horrendous atrocities, and start looking for the true reasons. If we do not explore other (yes, even extreme) possibilities, we will doom ourselves to repeating our worst mistakes and worst histories. Give the book a chance, unless you are happy living in a bubble of media lies. If you live by the mantra of 'Ignorance is bliss,' you'd probably be better off reading the TV Guide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1