Customer Reviews for

Perricone Prescription: A Physician's 28-Day Program for Total Body and Face Rejuvenation

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Practical Science

    When I announced to my son and his girlfriend that I was going to do the 3 day diet, they wanted to participate. So for 3 days we followed the plan, with no cheating. On the 3rd day, I thought my skin looked better, but also realize we can 'see' what we want to, and so discounted my opinion. Until later when my son and his girlfriend said their acne cleared up, she even had acne on her back and it was perfectly clear! After another few days of their normal diet of soda and 'fast' food, and drinking alcohol, they reported their skin was a mess. So this works. Being an analyst at heart, I appreciate the scientific explanation of why it works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    Awesome

    I really learned allot from this book. It was easy to understand and I followed it to the tee and I'm able to think better, muscle aches went away and I have more energy. I really do recommend this book to everyone - even healthy people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    TURNING BACK THE CLOCK

    Through Dr. Nicholas Perricone Perricone millions have become familiar with such scientific names as peptides and neuropeptides, which he maintains give new life to skin and hair, aid in heart health, and even decrease the risk of certain forms of cancer. 'Wrinkled, sagging skin is not the inevitable result of growing older,' Dr. Perricone has declared. 'It's a disease, and you can fight it. You can look your best, feel your best, and enjoy beautiful skin and optimum health every day of your life, provided you start right now. And you don't need expensive, invasive plastic surgery to do it.' The host of several well-watched PBS programs, Perricone's credentials are impressive: a degree in Medicine from Michigan State University, an internship in Pediatrics at Yale University School of Medicine, and certification by the American Board of Dermatology. After more than two decades of study Dr. Perricone emphatically declares that 'a high protein, low carbohydrate diet full of salmon, fresh blueberries, cantaloupe and spring water can help slow and even reverse the aging process.' In other words the clock can be turned back. Is there an accompanying product line? Of course. Among his best selling items are his 'Advanced Face Firming Activator,' long a favorite of beauty editors and celebrities, and 'Ceramic Skin Smoother,'a proprietary finishing serum treatment formulated by Dr. Perricone that helps to protect against the visible effects of environmental stresses while preparing your face for makeup' Similar in tone to his later books, Perricone's offers pretty straight forward stuff, a bit like a lecture. Robin Webb gives an able, distinct reading. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2006

    Wow!!! What a difference!!!

    My husband and I saw Dr. Perricone on ETV and were impressed enough to go immediately to B&N to purchase this book. My husband is a physician and read it cover to cover and pronounced it sound. After 10 days, we attended a family Christmas party and had so many compliments from family members who had no idea we were on this eating plan. My Mother exclaimed that she had never seen us look so well-rested and happy. One of my uncles, who hardly says a word to me other than hello, proclaimed to one and all that I was as beautiful as the young Liz Taylor! Nothing else had changed in my life but following the Dr. Perricone prescription. This book has a few recipes but the Perricone Promise has many more. The Ultimate New York Body Plan by David Kirsch has the same concept and has many wonderful recipes which I bought to supplement this book. Hurry!! You could look amazing by Valentine's Night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    Good food & a lot of it!

    I followed this plan and lost weight and felt & looked so much better. This book works. I didnt really acknowledge how much junk I let slip into my regular habits. It was work to follow the menus (careful shopping & planning) BUT it was worth it. It was a TON of food - more than I am used to eating but I felt better and lost weight. By the way, I didnt buy the expensive vitamins or creams. I skipped that part. Still, this was a solid common sense plan of eating that worked for me. Seriously, you should try it - it's simple chemistry. It improved my energy levels helped me get back into exercising more. I keep buying copies as gifts (its worth the risk of offending friends).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    3-day Plan

    I am on my 3rd day of the 3-day plan and I totally feel and see the difference in my face and skin. Its amazing what proper eating can do for you. I had been eating a lot of junk food lately and was getting a lot of headaches. I actually feel lighter and look forward to the 28 day plan for maintaning this look. I plan to look great for the holidays....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    Who said what?

    I just watched the Perricone Prescription on TV and want to but the book. I really think he has a good thing here. I am a little put off by the reviews though. I read the exact same review from two ( supposedly different) people. Also, two to the reviews had the same exact last line. Obviously the guy who is writing these reviews should read what he has written in the previous one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    BOOK IS GOOD, BUT SOMEWHAT OF AN 'INFOMERCIAL'

    This book has a lot of useful and practical skin care information, but it is also a literary 'infomercial' for Dr. Perricone's very expensive line of creams, lotions and vitamin supplements. 90 bucks for a very small jar of face cream is outrageous. Check out 'skin care' caplets (e.g. 'Natures Bounty' line) containing Ester C, Alpha Lipoic acid and DMAE at your local drugstore. Mix contents in with quality inexpensive face cream (e.g. Neutrogena, Olay) for an affordable alternative! (You may have to experiment with ratio of powder to cream. Mix well).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    It really does work!

    I am a confirmed lover of sweets, ice cream, and all of the things that Dr. Perricone reports is not good for your skin. I was able to stick to the restrictive 3 day diet and almost 'fell off the wagon' after only 12 hours on the program, which is when I realized how dependant on excess sugars and starches my body was. Honestly after the first 24 hours I could see and feel the difference in my face. My skin was brighter, and smoother the pores on my face were dramatically reduced. I highly recommend trying the three day plan. The results are amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    Life Changing

    Finally, a plan that makes sense and really does what it says it will. After many years of trying numerous diet and health plans, I had grown extremely skeptical. I was looking for something to put my body back on track after years of improper eating habits. And to reduce my cholestrol, in particular. This book did everything I wanted it to and more! Plus, my husband joined me in the Perricone plan. We both lost weight, reduced cholestrol significantly and gained an overall healthier feeling. We'll never go back to our self-destructive ways!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    Perricone Prescription: A Physician's 28-Day Program for Total Body and Face Rejuvenation

    After the three-day "trial" diet, I returned to carbs and felt terrible. So after four days of that, I started the 28-day diet. 14 days into that, and adding the previous week that I'd done 3 days--in three weeks time, I lost 10 lbs. And it was easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    IT WORKS!

    I've been following Dr. Perricone's plan for 5 days, I've lost 4.5 pounds. A persistent rash has all but disappeared (four months of antibiotic treatment did not help). I feel and look 10 years younger. Thank you Dr. Perricone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    THE PROGRAM ROCKS!!!

    This is NOT a modified version of the Atkins diet, as you get to eat fruits, berries, various salads, legumes such as black bean soup/salad and more. The foods are delicious, but more importantly you can't eat any healthier than this. This program ROCKS. This is optimal nutrition for anti-aging and for preventing diseases such as cancer, heart disease and Alzheimer's. A fantastic effect for me was the surprise discovery that elimination of high glycemic index food also eliminated my cravings for them. After years of yo-yo dieting, I no longer crave sweets, breads or high fat foods. This is miraculous for me, and I would be on this program if that was all I got out of it. I didn't expect this to be such a fantastic program, but it is and it is easy to follow. I turned 40 this year, and while I like the way that I'm aging, I see a visible difference since I began this program two weeks ago. It must be visible to others as well, because I am being flirted with and looked at like I haven't been in a while. This program is really fantastic. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    Perricone Prescription: A Physician's 28-Day Program for Total Body and Face Rejuvenation

    OK, the wattle was only just starting, but it bothered me so much, when I saw this book featured on this site, I decided to check it out of the library. There's a three-day menu that the author recommends you try before plunging into the 28-day diet. I liked everything on the menu and thought, I can do that. I even got off coffee, something I've loved for 33 years. I was shocked to see my wattle begin to fade, and I am not a relative of the doctor. It seriously worked. But more than that, my craving for sweets evaporated. There was a night not too long ago that I consumed nearly an entire box of some nasty sugary kids' cereal, and I tell you this only because you do not know me. I've loved bread all my life. I have doughy jowls to prove it. I crave it no more. Well, almost. It's kind of like the craving I get for cigarettes. I smoked for a couple of years in the early 70s, so I've been away from Marlboros for a very long time. But I get a thought every once in a while of how much I used to enjoy it and wouldn't it be nice to have one right now. Then I come to my senses. I feel that way about bagels now. The energy I had those three days and how good I felt convinced me, and, of course, there was the missing wattle. To make a long story short, it works. After the three days, I went back to eating the way I normally do, and I could immediately feel the difference. Another major bonus--well worth the lifetime change I plan to make--my brain is much sharper. I'm 53 and the memory thing is happening in an embarrassing way. I work at a job where it really helps to think clearly. The change here was stark. As far as the doctor's explanation of what happens physiologically... he probably dumbed it down as much as his conscience would allow and I actually understood some of it. I came here just now to order the book. I can't renew it because there are several hundred people signed up for it. (Maybe this guy appeared recently on Oprah.) When I placed my request initially, there were only 86 people in line ahead of me and four copies for a very large county (St. Louis) with a lot of branches. When I checked on it today, they had a page full of copies listed, at least a dozen, and at the bottom it said, more copies available. So the word's getting out. Thank you, Dr. Perricone, and I promise, we are not related.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    If you take pride in your appearance, then this is a MUST read!!

    This book not only discusses different skin types, but also what to do to best take proper care of it for life. It contains excersizes, essential foods to eat to ensure and maintain the health to your skin and body, and necessary products to apply to your skin. He has a three-tier program to better health and skin and it is described in complete and brilliant detail. Topical creams are not the only way to improve the look and texture of your skin. To keep your appearance at its most beautiful, one needs to include supplements and a healthy diet as well as topcials. The Before and After pictures displayed in the book are proof of how the Three-Tier Program is so effective. If you are willing to put the time and patience into looking your best, this book is essential reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    Getting Younger Every Day

    I received this book as a gift for my recent birthday - turning 30! While it may have been a semi-joke, I find what it says fascinating. I have already started the diet (one week and counting) and see an amazing difference in my skin and feel an amazing difference in my energy. I am enjoying it so much, I bought I second copy to give to my young at heart mother! It is written for those who have minimal medical knowledge and keeps me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    Easy and applicable

    Should I talk about the way this book reads? I would rather just say the content really works. This is one of those real things in life that actually does do what its says it will. The routine is all to easy. Can't go wrong. The book,,,it is very fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    Confusing Errors

    This book is an entertaining read, and the program may even work. But did no one edit it? A few things I noticed: The shopping list for the 3-day diet calls for 8 oz. sliced chicken or turkey; the diet itself calls for 12. The supplement recommendation for alpha lipoic acid is 200 mg on page 78, but 100 mg on page 107. Most glaringly, the 28-day program calls for a bedtime vitamin supplement which is *never specified* -- at least not where the morning and lunchtime doses are listed! This author's last book was a bestseller. Surely they could have spent a few bucks to make sure this one checked out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    An excellent book!

    I thought this fast reading book was very interesting and informative. It made a lot of sense to me. Dr. Perricone's 28-day program is clearly layed out and is easy to understand and follow. I'm very excited to start the program and begin on my way towards great looking skin and a healthy body!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2002

    Just a protein diet

    I found the diet that Dr. Perricone prescribed here very extreme. It's basically Atkin's protein diet with caution. For every meal (and snacks) he has you eating Salmon,Cod, Tuna, and Grilled Chicken etc. Salads all day is not a realistic approach to a healthy diet. I need to have my carbs to have the energy to exercise. Invest your money elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2