Customer Reviews for

Persian Fire: The First World Empire and the Battle for the West

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Vivid account of the defeat of a 'superpower'

    This fine book tells the story of an earlier war between East and West. In the fifth century BC, a global superpower was determined to bring order to what it regarded as two terrorist states. The superpower was Persia, the terrorist states Athens and Sparta. As Holland points out, ¿even the mightiest empires can suffer from overstretch.¿ He mordantly notes, with a passing hit at the British state¿s `special relationship¿ with the declining USA, ¿There was no greater source of self-contentment for a subject-nation, after all, and no surer badge of its continued servitude, than to imagine that it might have been graced with a special relationship with the king.¿

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    Very readable history of the source of East-West tension

    I found this book to be wonderfully readable and compelling, describing the Greeks and Persians of the 500 BC time period in terms that make them come to life 2500 years later. Herein lies the story of ancient sources of tension and differences between the West and Iran and the rest of the Middle East today, how great the struggle has always been, providing a clarification of how long the sides have been resisting the influence and dominance of the others. For our culture that seems to view 100 years ago as 'old' and wants to forget its transgressions against others from last year, here is a wake up call describing the basis of the point of view from 'the other side'. For good measure as well, the author describes the original development of democracy and wipes away any illusions of altruism or true equality mixed up in its origins. In general Tom Holland turns ancient history into a story readable and outlines its direct influences on our world today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    A great book among the very few bad one that make up the only englishes sources on the Persian Empire

    If you hav come to read this review i see you are looking for info on persian history. unfortunatly very few in english have been written and all but this very one, are terribly written.

    You will have to read a bunch of pages in the begining until you get into the history you are looking for. This author Spends an immense amount of time talking about persian mythology and religion in the begining but once you soldier through that... You will find the exact, clean cut foundations, emporers and heirs, along with many, many assasinations for the throne throughout persian history.

    This book is easy to rad and understand, giving a step by step story or time of the entire persian empire. This book is the diamond in the ruff because every other book on persian history gos into persian culture based on what archialogists found at excavation sites.

    You wiill only get persian culture in this book when it partains the emporers lives and their military exploits, which is the way it should be. All the great king (thats what persian kings called themselves) are fluently described during their lives until the next one come into play.

    I have searched high and low for a book on Persia that gives me wha I have been looking for and i have to say...this is all there is on the market.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Ridicolous

    Non scholarly, illinformed and malicious.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Fascinating

    Time spent reading this book is like stepping into a time machine. Well worth the price of admission.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Good, but should be better.

    Love the subject of the book. Fills in a lot of details adding meaning to the conflict. Can tell author loves the subject as well, maybe too much. Problem with the book is being verbose, could use some editing. Not an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    The language, syntax, grammar, vocabulary are all needlessly awkward, archaic, flowerly and prententious. It makes it so hard to really comprehend or get involved in the narrative. Plus, I don't think that Holland fulfilled the book jackets claim of drawing conclusion and analysis of how these ancient events help shape history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Great overview of Greek triumph over Persia.

    This is a very enjoyable and short read which chronicles Athens and Sparta's triumph against the Persian empire. We are presented with brief and interesting histories of Athens, Sparta, and the Persians. The book really picks up speed towards the end covering the Greek victories at Marathon and Salamis. We see Athens emerge as the dominant city state within the Greek realms, much to the chagrin of Sparta. Particularly entertaining is the description of the battle of Thermopalyae where 300 Spartan warriors held a mountain pass to the death led by King Leonidas. As a lover of military history I found the book a bit too brief with respect to battle descriptions and maps of troop movements. Mythology enthusiasts will appreciate the author¿s creative analysis of mythological motives behind the Persians and Greeks. There seems to be a renewed interest about the Peloponnesian Wars, and I think this book could serve as a great ¿prequel¿ to those students. I would definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1