Customer Reviews for

Personal Demon (Women of the Otherworld Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Engaging Urban Fantasy

I enjoy Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series and snatch them up as they appear. Part of what makes this series different is that the books are from different perspectives--almost always female and written in first person. Earlier installments featured a fem...
I enjoy Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series and snatch them up as they appear. Part of what makes this series different is that the books are from different perspectives--almost always female and written in first person. Earlier installments featured a female werewolf, a witch, an angel, and a necromancer. Now in this book we have Hope Adams, a half-demon. I think of all of Armstrong's heroines, Adams is in the most precarious situation as she struggles with that demonic part of her, to use it without letting it use her. That lends a very palpable tension to the books featuring her, both "Personal Demon" and the next book in the series, "Living With the Dead." This book is a fun and engrossing read for those that like urban fantasy.

posted by Lisa_RR_H on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good action, plot and character build but has more explicit sex

Good action, plot and character build but has more explicit sex than I prefer. Quite a bit of violence as well.

posted by songbirdsue on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Engaging Urban Fantasy

    I enjoy Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series and snatch them up as they appear. Part of what makes this series different is that the books are from different perspectives--almost always female and written in first person. Earlier installments featured a female werewolf, a witch, an angel, and a necromancer. Now in this book we have Hope Adams, a half-demon. I think of all of Armstrong's heroines, Adams is in the most precarious situation as she struggles with that demonic part of her, to use it without letting it use her. That lends a very palpable tension to the books featuring her, both "Personal Demon" and the next book in the series, "Living With the Dead." This book is a fun and engrossing read for those that like urban fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    A fun story.

    Hope is a interesting character and very unique. Exploring her world is alot of fun and worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    A lot of fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    My favorite Urban Fantasy !!!

    I love the Women of the Underwold Series and this book is no exception. Exciting, interesting, a great addition to the series. My favorite character is Elena, but Hope is a close second, especially since we got to know better in this book.
    Try it, you won't be dissappointed !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Personal Demon (Women of the Otherworld

    I loved this book! Keeps your interest from the minute you open it till you are done. I was disappointed when it was over, I wanted more. The complete series is gripping, enjoyable, exciting, with a twist of humor. I have enjoyed it very much and look forward to the future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Personal Demon

    If you have read the first 7 books then the plot is more or less the same as the others. Just different characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    Great Series

    I really enjoyed this book, I have read several of the books from the Women of the Otherworld Series, but have missed reading some of them. However the ones that I have read I have enjoyed reading. In this book Hope a Half Demon goes undercover as a mole to find out all she can about a gang. She starts to fall for one of the gang members Jaz and goes out on jobs with him, but Jaz may not be all that he seems to be. Lucas and Paige appear as well as Karl. There is lots of action in this book and it is very fast paced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    Kelly Armstron is my number one. I am deeply in love with all of her characters, and i literally mean all of them. Except the bad guys, some of them. And Personal demon has One of my top five Karl Mastern. CANNOT WAIT! And Hope has her story now. For those of you who hevnt' read any of her stories . Do So Now. Her Women of The Underworld series are all about kicking ass supernatural girls , who won't take bull.....Trust me i have AAAAAALLLL of her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5