BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Personal Demon (Women of the Otherworld Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Engaging Urban Fantasy

I enjoy Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series and snatch them up as they appear. Part of what makes this series different is that the books are from different perspectives--almost always female and written in first person. Earlier installments featured a fem...
I enjoy Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series and snatch them up as they appear. Part of what makes this series different is that the books are from different perspectives--almost always female and written in first person. Earlier installments featured a female werewolf, a witch, an angel, and a necromancer. Now in this book we have Hope Adams, a half-demon. I think of all of Armstrong's heroines, Adams is in the most precarious situation as she struggles with that demonic part of her, to use it without letting it use her. That lends a very palpable tension to the books featuring her, both "Personal Demon" and the next book in the series, "Living With the Dead." This book is a fun and engrossing read for those that like urban fantasy.

posted by Lisa_RR_H on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good action, plot and character build but has more explicit sex

Good action, plot and character build but has more explicit sex than I prefer. Quite a bit of violence as well.

posted by songbirdsue on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Another great addition!

    The other world series keeps getting better and better. It's nice to hear stories from the not so dominant characters while Still including the ones we love. I couldn't put this book done and was very pleased at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    spellbinding Women of the Otherworld tale

    She works for a tabloid writing articles about the supernatural a subject Hope Adams personally knows very well since she is a half-demon as her father is Lucifer, who for those who don¿t know is not Satan. She inherited from her dark side a thirst for Chaos so when Cabal chieftain Benicio Cortez, who once helped her out of a mess, asks her to do him a favor in Southern Florida, she accepts besides it is not healthy to refuse an offer from the supernatural mob leader. He wants her to infiltrate a teen gang who are rebelling from Cabal life. --- Hope passes the initiation and goes out on a job to steal from the rich. Karl the werewolf who dumped her is livid that Benico contacted her without consulting with him. He rushes back to the States to help her. While undercover Hope meets low level magician Jasper who makes it obvious that he desires her. When Jaz and his best friend Sonny disappear, she fears the Cabal got them. Karl promises her he will help her find them, but at Cabal Headquarters someone has penetrated security endangering the Cortez family. Hope and Karl work to assist both sides unaware of the peril to their lives. --- Kelley Armstrong has written spellbinding Women of the Otherworld tale that has the audience so engrossed in the plot, time vanishes until the one sitting read is finished. Hope and Karl are a magical couple whose love grows although neither has faith in that emotion because each is a loner. Fans will appreciate the spins involving the gang warfare including the murders of higher echelon members of the Cortez family as this comes together in a fascinating fantasy crime caper filled with shockers especially who is behind the mayhem. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Well done!

    Pure escapism at its finest!
    Read them for fun - these are my comic books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    I loved it as much as i did the other books!

    Really i didnt expect personal demon to be this good!but i guess i was wrong!Personal demon gave me the chance to learn more about Hope and Karl Marsten from Bitten.I think now hope is one of my favorite characters from this series and I cant wait to read livng with the dead to read about another new character!But the best part was also including Lucas and Paige and get Lucas's point of view.Just wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    kelley armstrong rocks

    thsi book is just one in an exciting line of books, i picked it up and never put it down. started fast and never let me drop. Hope has got to be one of my favorite characters and i just met her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    It was wonderful. Kept me guessing til the end.I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Women of the Otherworld Never Cease to Amaze

    A great book for any lover of the series! This book gives a deeper look into the trials and tribulations of Hope. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    Personal Demon

    Personal Demon is an enticing thriller and from the beginning to the end, it is impossible to put down. Hope's lust for chaos keeps the reader wanting to know more and also feel how she feels. The book is rich with detail and is one of most loved works of writing. Read it.
    Hope Adams is a tabloid writer and is perceived to be just another journalist looking for a story, but there is more to her than meets the eye. She is a half-demon, fathered by the demon Lucifer, and instead of having a remarkable ability, she only received every demon's hunger for chaos. To a supernatural, she is an Expisco. She is at constant war with herself because she feeds off of other's hatred and pain, murder and chaotic thoughts, and she enjoys it, only to feel regret later on.
    While Hope is in the middle of a story, someone comes in contact with her, offering her a deal that she knows promises more chaos than she can probably handle. Benicio Cortez. He offers her a temporary job in the Cortez Cabal to infiltrate a local supernatural gang in Miami, sought to take down the Cabal. She knows she should not take him on his offer but she cannot resist the lust and craving for chaos it entails.
    Just days after joining the gang, she realizes she is in under her head, but she does not have the ability to leave because the chaos is too rich. Once she sees that the gang is about to attack though, she tries to find a way to leave unscathed only when it is too late and the killings have begun.
    The book Personal Demon was tantalizing overall and every page, every chapter was perfectly written. One part in particular that interested me most was when Hope saw a vision of someone's death or actually was there before the person died. This aspect of the book was not necessarily the most pleasant, but it did help bring the reader closer to Hope and to help understand her more. She could not help but be engulfed in the chaos that radiated off these events and wishing for the person to die for her pleasure. She encounters this problem various times and each time she rides on the high of chaos, even if the person is someone she knew. But soon, the overdose of chaos starts to tear her apart. She is strong though and able to overcome it and that is why I love her character so much.
    If there was one part of the book that could be considered appalling is when the reader finds out Jasper "Jaz" Haig's and his brother Jason "Sonny" Haig's true intentions at the end. Hope finds out that Jaz and Sonny are behind the killings and are the ones who implanted their hatred for the Cabal into the gang leader, Guy. From the moment Hope and Jaz met and had explored a possible relationship, I had wanted them to be together and stay that way. Gratefully it did not because I soon despised him because of all the murders he had committed.
    Kelley Armstrong is a wonderful author and Personal Demon was nicely written; she made the story come to life. She used various literary devices to make the story realistic and to keep you emotionally attached. An example is a simile: "The tequila hit my gut like a fireball and I struggled not to gasp" (134). Various polysyndetons are also used such as, "His soul, slipping from his body, the grief and anxiety and fear of the others swirling around him, a cocktail more potent than anything I ever dreamed of" (320). (This is also a nice metaphor)In addition, there were assortments of Asyndetons: ". a nightmarish version of myself, my hair wild, lips pulled bac

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC!!

    I simply slove Kelley Armstrong. Sheis one my favorite authors, and I would recommend her to anyone. Personal Demon is nothing like the other Women of the Otherworld series. Not only are there two narrators but one of them is a guy! I have to admit that I didn't think this book would be very good and when I started reading it, I didn't really like it. However, I really fell in love with it. I was hooked by the time a certain werewolf showed up and I could put the book down. I didn't even mind Lucas narrating and I loved his POV by the end. If you like the series at all you can not miss reading this book. It's pretty big plot wise for the series and puts some interesting things in motion for the future of the series. Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Another Winner

    This latest chapter in the women of the other world had me riveted. Hope and Karl's love story was great. Love the return of Lucas and Paige and great set up for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    wish she would write them faster

    Kelley Armstrong's latest women of the 'otherworld' is excellent. The insight and character depth is fantastic and is balanced with some adventure, crime and mystery. Karl and Hopes' story did both characters justice and I enjoyed the continued exploration of Lucas and Paige's struggle with his family and the cabal. I fell in love with Elena and Clays story and look forward to the next chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6