BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Personal Demons (Personal Demons Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Personal Demons

Personal Demons, while it wasn't an original concept, was pretty interesting. I liked how Frannie, the M.C., thought. She was funny, and I liked her mind.
But, if I liked Frannie, I LOVED Luc (short for Lucifer). I prefer the types of novels that are written in boy/...
Personal Demons, while it wasn't an original concept, was pretty interesting. I liked how Frannie, the M.C., thought. She was funny, and I liked her mind.
But, if I liked Frannie, I LOVED Luc (short for Lucifer). I prefer the types of novels that are written in boy/girl verse, rather than just boy or girl. Really, I can't read a guy's POV because it's harder to relate to a dude when you're a girl.
Anyways, the book, if anything, is never short of action. It seemed that something interesting was going on at all times. Be it Luc visiting his demon boss, or something else, you are sure to be sucked in.
I have little complaints, but one of them is Frannie. I know, I know, I said I liked her. But, here is my pet-peeve: She has to choose between Luc and Gabriel. One minute its, "Ohh, Luc, I LOVE YOU!", two pages later, "Gabriel kissed me and ohh I loved it." Obviously, she didn't really think that (if she did, the book would've earned a spot in my burn pit with the rest of the crappy novels I've read in weeks past), but she did seem to have a wishywashy mind about things.
The writing was brilliant, and Desrochers did a great job describing situations, places, and people. I felt like I knew the characters by the time I closed the book. And hell, I'm dying for a sequel!

posted by CiciBear26 on November 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Predictable But Fun - A Guilty Pleasure Read

Personal Demons pleasantly surprised me with its take on the age old battle between angels and demons. This one isn't just about good vs. evil, it's more about the fight for a soul; Catholic school reject Frannie Cavanaugh's soul, to be more specific. And Frannie's soul...
Personal Demons pleasantly surprised me with its take on the age old battle between angels and demons. This one isn't just about good vs. evil, it's more about the fight for a soul; Catholic school reject Frannie Cavanaugh's soul, to be more specific. And Frannie's soul is worth fighting for, since there's something just a bit different about her. She has a sarcastic and fiery attitude, a no-nonsense take on love - it's not for her - and a deep-rooted belief that there is no God; that last one is with good reason though.

As much as I liked Frannie as a character, I felt the need to slap some sense into her often and with force. A pet peeve of mine is repetition in dialogue. It's different if a character has a catchphrase, but Frannie says 'whatever' all the time! It drove me crazy, but halfway through, her usage of the word dissipates. Then when the boys come around, she's a goner. For a girl who is strong-willed and independent, she tends to turn into a babbling, lovestruck girl when the dark, sexy, bad boy Luc is around and then again when the light, sweet, and gorgeous Gabe pops into her life. She's more than willing to have a 'thing' with both guys, for better or for worse. Her attitude goes from smart and spunky, to a mess of lusty emotions.

Some of it I understand, because Luc sort of forces the emotions, but most of the time Frannie can fight it off, she just chooses not to. Her flip-flopping feelings can be grating, but it's contrasted very well with steamy scenes and both the Heaven and Hell backstory, as well as Frannie's backstory regarding her disdain with God. I was more interested in some of her personal issues with religion and her family, than with her complicated feelings for both boys, but the reveal of it all is satisfying enough.

We all know that when a love triangle is present, readers pick sides and Personal Demons is no different. And even though Luc gets much more page-time than Gabe, I'm firmly on Team Gabe. There's just something about the underdog that tends to reel me in. Gabe is almost perfect too - I think it's the angel thing - so he was pretty hard for me to resist.

Personal Demons is a guilty-pleasure book with a fairly predictable plot, but stands as an addicting read nonetheless. Frannie got on my nerves some, as did Luc and a few other characters, but overall, I enjoyed how everything progressed and I'm looking forward to reading Original Sin soon.

posted by Nikkayme on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Predictable But Fun - A Guilty Pleasure Read

    Personal Demons pleasantly surprised me with its take on the age old battle between angels and demons. This one isn't just about good vs. evil, it's more about the fight for a soul; Catholic school reject Frannie Cavanaugh's soul, to be more specific. And Frannie's soul is worth fighting for, since there's something just a bit different about her. She has a sarcastic and fiery attitude, a no-nonsense take on love - it's not for her - and a deep-rooted belief that there is no God; that last one is with good reason though.

    As much as I liked Frannie as a character, I felt the need to slap some sense into her often and with force. A pet peeve of mine is repetition in dialogue. It's different if a character has a catchphrase, but Frannie says 'whatever' all the time! It drove me crazy, but halfway through, her usage of the word dissipates. Then when the boys come around, she's a goner. For a girl who is strong-willed and independent, she tends to turn into a babbling, lovestruck girl when the dark, sexy, bad boy Luc is around and then again when the light, sweet, and gorgeous Gabe pops into her life. She's more than willing to have a 'thing' with both guys, for better or for worse. Her attitude goes from smart and spunky, to a mess of lusty emotions.

    Some of it I understand, because Luc sort of forces the emotions, but most of the time Frannie can fight it off, she just chooses not to. Her flip-flopping feelings can be grating, but it's contrasted very well with steamy scenes and both the Heaven and Hell backstory, as well as Frannie's backstory regarding her disdain with God. I was more interested in some of her personal issues with religion and her family, than with her complicated feelings for both boys, but the reveal of it all is satisfying enough.

    We all know that when a love triangle is present, readers pick sides and Personal Demons is no different. And even though Luc gets much more page-time than Gabe, I'm firmly on Team Gabe. There's just something about the underdog that tends to reel me in. Gabe is almost perfect too - I think it's the angel thing - so he was pretty hard for me to resist.

    Personal Demons is a guilty-pleasure book with a fairly predictable plot, but stands as an addicting read nonetheless. Frannie got on my nerves some, as did Luc and a few other characters, but overall, I enjoyed how everything progressed and I'm looking forward to reading Original Sin soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Personal Demons

    from Murphy's Library

    Lucifer Cain wants Frannie's soul. But so does Gabe.

    Coming in a mission, Luc needs to claim Frannie's soul because of her skills. The King of Hell himself set the mission for Luc, and he must be successful, but what will he do when Gabe, coming directly from Heaven, wants to claim the soul too? And is the soul what is really at prize between the two of them?

    Frannie is a plain girl-well, not so plain-who finds herself in the hard place of choosing between the two hot new guys. And, seriously, she couldn't be more confused and undecided! We see her flirting with Luc and Gabe, thinking about one and then the other one, without deciding who she likes more. Each one of them has special characteristics that draw her attention, and she has no clue at all why they're both interested on her.

    Truth be told, we don't know exactly why they're so interested on Frannie's soul for pages and more pages-so if you think that's the key on this plot, sorry to disappoint you. Personal Demons brings a battle for her soul-but also her heart. She falls for both of them, and it seems they both fall for her as well, as it's easy to predict from reading the synopsys.

    We see during the pages how the characters grow to win her heart. Luc, the typical bad boy, starts to show a side that really cares about Frannie, but we need to tell that we liked bad Luc better. Gabe is the good guy, the one we would like to see with our daughter-but not so much with us. Yeah, good guys don't always win.

    The narrative alternate points of view between Luc and Frannie and we thought it was a good resource used by Lisa Desrochers. Frannie, like all main characters, is often tiring and the lapses we see of Luc are a bless-if something to do with Hell can be a bless. The book is good, it is good to pass time, but don't expect a wonderful and intrincated story. It is easy to read, fast to read and fast to forget too.

    The fact is, you finish reading this book and you don't know what possibily could come in a sequel-Original Sin comes out this summer-, but you want to read because you got to know these characters and want to see more of them. The battle between good and evil isn't the main plot, it gets blurred by the fact that both end up with just one reason to be on Earth: the love of Frannie.

    Lisa's created a good book, but nothing we could call fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I really wasn't sure about this book for the first time I saw. Intrigue got the best of me, and I decided to give it a shot. In the end, I still have mixed feelings for it.

    I hate to say that it didn't start out strong. I carried nothing for Frannie and half the story is told from her point of view. 100 pages into it, and really considered moving on to something else. But, it got the best of me and really had to know why Heaven and Hell wanted her so badly. She grew on me a little by the end. Her powers are especially interesting. So is her desire to not let Heaven or Hell dictate how she's going to live her life.

    I did like Luc and Gabe. Although, I don't feel we get to know Gabe as well as we should. I'm hoping the next book is partially from his point of view. He character definately has some draw to it. Which brings us back to Luc. He sure doesn't act like a demon for most of this story. It's like he's draw to Frannie from the start and can't complete his mission. Which leads me to believe that some serious mistakes were made if Hell wanted her that badly. His characters changes were very sweet. It's the ultimate girls dreams of reforming the perpetual bad guy.

    So, yeah it was a little bit strange to read a book I really didn't like in the beginning. But, I feel for it in the end. It wasn't enough to give it 4 butterflies though. I have to see what the rest of the series has in store for us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well-written, but the bad guys are pretty tame

    Luc, a 7,000-year-old demon in Hell's Acquisitions department, is responsible for winning souls to the dark side so that they can be tagged for Hell. His latest assignment is Frannie, a lapsed Catholic girl who is of great importance in the war of good and evil. But Heaven won't give her up without a fight, so they send their own messenger, Gabe, to sway her to the light side. Frannie winds up attracted to both her supernatural persuaders, one more than the other, and she struggles with a big heartbreak from her past that weighs her down as she gets more deeply embroiled in divine conflicts.

    I loved the story in the first 25 pages, and was stunned by the author's skill at writing dialogue and seamlessly introducing important information. But when things really started to get underway in the romantic department between Luc and Frannie (and Gabe, a little), I was lost. Frannie is whip-smart and likable early on, but once the guys are on the scene, I don't really like what it does to her--she seems to be acting mainly out of physical desire rather than any kind of affection or respect for either guy, and she also seems to accept their attentions as her rightful due. I don't have a problem with love triangles or with multiple handsome guys existing in the same book, but I don't like it when heroines accept all the attention without question. Frannie isn't suspicious of the fact that two male model-type guys who are both really into her have transferred into her senior class a month before graduation.

    Then there's Luc, who looks like a bad boy, but other than inspiring a lot of lust, he doesn't really do anything bad to anybody. That's great in one way because if he was truly evil, he'd be hard to like, but for an actual servant of Hell, he definitely doesn't seem like someone who's seen eternal torture and is actively trying to send people to it.

    Unscary villains cropped up in other places, too: when the devil himself appears on the scene, he blusters a lot and it didn't have much of an effect. The divine struggle feels more like a conflict between Zeus and Hades, and I had a hard time taking it seriously when a demon seduces a girl over an English outline, and an angel and a demon butt heads over who gets more study dates with the girl that holds their interest. The story takes place in high school, so I don't know what I was expecting, but I felt some incongruities between the seriousness of the stakes and the ordinariness of the school scenes.

    Keep in mind that these are just my reactions, and I'm definitely in the minority. Most bloggers are loving this book, and if you're already interested in reading it, don't let me dissuade you. It's a pretty good example of a supernatural love triangle story, and the writing itself is high quality, even if the characters didn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2