BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Personal Demons (Personal Demons Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Personal Demons

Personal Demons, while it wasn't an original concept, was pretty interesting. I liked how Frannie, the M.C., thought. She was funny, and I liked her mind.
But, if I liked Frannie, I LOVED Luc (short for Lucifer). I prefer the types of novels that are written in boy/...
Personal Demons, while it wasn't an original concept, was pretty interesting. I liked how Frannie, the M.C., thought. She was funny, and I liked her mind.
But, if I liked Frannie, I LOVED Luc (short for Lucifer). I prefer the types of novels that are written in boy/girl verse, rather than just boy or girl. Really, I can't read a guy's POV because it's harder to relate to a dude when you're a girl.
Anyways, the book, if anything, is never short of action. It seemed that something interesting was going on at all times. Be it Luc visiting his demon boss, or something else, you are sure to be sucked in.
I have little complaints, but one of them is Frannie. I know, I know, I said I liked her. But, here is my pet-peeve: She has to choose between Luc and Gabriel. One minute its, "Ohh, Luc, I LOVE YOU!", two pages later, "Gabriel kissed me and ohh I loved it." Obviously, she didn't really think that (if she did, the book would've earned a spot in my burn pit with the rest of the crappy novels I've read in weeks past), but she did seem to have a wishywashy mind about things.
The writing was brilliant, and Desrochers did a great job describing situations, places, and people. I felt like I knew the characters by the time I closed the book. And hell, I'm dying for a sequel!

posted by CiciBear26 on November 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Predictable But Fun - A Guilty Pleasure Read

Personal Demons pleasantly surprised me with its take on the age old battle between angels and demons. This one isn't just about good vs. evil, it's more about the fight for a soul; Catholic school reject Frannie Cavanaugh's soul, to be more specific. And Frannie's soul...
Personal Demons pleasantly surprised me with its take on the age old battle between angels and demons. This one isn't just about good vs. evil, it's more about the fight for a soul; Catholic school reject Frannie Cavanaugh's soul, to be more specific. And Frannie's soul is worth fighting for, since there's something just a bit different about her. She has a sarcastic and fiery attitude, a no-nonsense take on love - it's not for her - and a deep-rooted belief that there is no God; that last one is with good reason though.

As much as I liked Frannie as a character, I felt the need to slap some sense into her often and with force. A pet peeve of mine is repetition in dialogue. It's different if a character has a catchphrase, but Frannie says 'whatever' all the time! It drove me crazy, but halfway through, her usage of the word dissipates. Then when the boys come around, she's a goner. For a girl who is strong-willed and independent, she tends to turn into a babbling, lovestruck girl when the dark, sexy, bad boy Luc is around and then again when the light, sweet, and gorgeous Gabe pops into her life. She's more than willing to have a 'thing' with both guys, for better or for worse. Her attitude goes from smart and spunky, to a mess of lusty emotions.

Some of it I understand, because Luc sort of forces the emotions, but most of the time Frannie can fight it off, she just chooses not to. Her flip-flopping feelings can be grating, but it's contrasted very well with steamy scenes and both the Heaven and Hell backstory, as well as Frannie's backstory regarding her disdain with God. I was more interested in some of her personal issues with religion and her family, than with her complicated feelings for both boys, but the reveal of it all is satisfying enough.

We all know that when a love triangle is present, readers pick sides and Personal Demons is no different. And even though Luc gets much more page-time than Gabe, I'm firmly on Team Gabe. There's just something about the underdog that tends to reel me in. Gabe is almost perfect too - I think it's the angel thing - so he was pretty hard for me to resist.

Personal Demons is a guilty-pleasure book with a fairly predictable plot, but stands as an addicting read nonetheless. Frannie got on my nerves some, as did Luc and a few other characters, but overall, I enjoyed how everything progressed and I'm looking forward to reading Original Sin soon.

posted by Nikkayme on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Personal Demons

    Personal Demons, while it wasn't an original concept, was pretty interesting. I liked how Frannie, the M.C., thought. She was funny, and I liked her mind.
    But, if I liked Frannie, I LOVED Luc (short for Lucifer). I prefer the types of novels that are written in boy/girl verse, rather than just boy or girl. Really, I can't read a guy's POV because it's harder to relate to a dude when you're a girl.
    Anyways, the book, if anything, is never short of action. It seemed that something interesting was going on at all times. Be it Luc visiting his demon boss, or something else, you are sure to be sucked in.
    I have little complaints, but one of them is Frannie. I know, I know, I said I liked her. But, here is my pet-peeve: She has to choose between Luc and Gabriel. One minute its, "Ohh, Luc, I LOVE YOU!", two pages later, "Gabriel kissed me and ohh I loved it." Obviously, she didn't really think that (if she did, the book would've earned a spot in my burn pit with the rest of the crappy novels I've read in weeks past), but she did seem to have a wishywashy mind about things.
    The writing was brilliant, and Desrochers did a great job describing situations, places, and people. I felt like I knew the characters by the time I closed the book. And hell, I'm dying for a sequel!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Intense

    This book is non stop from beginning to end. Until the end you don't know what to expect. My only issue here is Franny's hesitation through out the book. It gets old. We know who she picks, so why still hesitate... anyways, I still read it cover to cover in no time and enjoyed every word, so I would MOST definitely recommend this read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One word: HOT!

    If you've been following me on twitter you've heard about my little issue with getting a copy of this. I went to 3 different book stores and 2 different libraries before finally getting Personal Demons. It was worth it with all of that Luc and Gabe though!
    It all starts with a simple task for Luc as he's suppose to tag just another soul for Hell. But when things get a bit out of control with his feelings for Frannie things get hot. Hot like Hell. (Yeah, that was a bad pun) Luc is that guy that turns heads. He's arrogant, dark, as well as being really passionate. When there's one guy there's always another. This guy happens to be Gabe *swoons*, who's literally an angel. He's after Frannie for the same task to tag her soul, but for Heaven. In a way Luc and Gabe are kind of a like. It's just that Gabe is a bit more caring and gentleman-like than Luc. Either way, both guys would give up anything for Frannie.
    The story was told in two points of views, Frannie's and Luc's. While in Luc's point of view I really looked at Frannie differently. I started off thinking Frannie was just going to be some kind of week gal who falls for these two guys. But when I got deeper into the story I found Frannie developing into a different person who's struggling to get out of that secret dark spot she's in.
    Personal Demons was a very enjoyable book that made me laugh and scream and then repeating my strange cycle.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Missy's Reads & Reviews

    I have been meaning to get to this book for quite some time, but had put it on hold for many reasons including other reviews. However, I was sent its sequel by Tor to review so I thought it was in my best interest to read this one first. I'm glad I did.

    I will go ahead and get the obvious con of this novel that I saw - the love triangle. Yes, I was a teenager once and yes, I had a lot of boyfriends... but I never led to guys on at the same time. It just seems wrong to me because, inevitably, someone is going to get hurt - either you, or one of the guys. And either way, it's something that's completely avoidable as long as you don't follow your hormones. Just sayin'....

    With that out of the way, I can say that everything else I really liked in this novel. Frannie is a great character that is very much a teenage girl, which I like, but she also has some spunk that sets her apart from other YA female characters. Her wish-wash lust for both Luc and Gabe is really the only thing I can see as far as character flaws go, but that's not necessarily a character flaw for everyone - just me and my personal morals, really. Luc and Gabe are both equally swoon-worthy. I found their names (Lucifer and Gabriel) to be quite amusing considering where they're both from, but they both lived up to those names... except one little thing. Gabe, who is an angel no less, has this weird habit of saying "sh-t" on several occasions. This just seems a little out of place to me and had me scratching my head as to why the angel from Heaven was the one that had an issue with a potty mouth. But, again, it amused me more than anything. I want to talk about another character but I can't because I'm afraid that will give some unwarranted spoilers to the story, so I will just say that I'm glad he came along and I want to know more about his mysterious issues that he has with Luc. And just so you know, Frannie's grandpa rocks. The villains were pure evil and I liked that their characters didn't sway. I sometimes wish they were a little more evil and vile, but maybe that will come with the next book - or that's me just letting my mind go a little morbid for a YA series.

    The story is good. The plot was well thought out, with many twists that I didn't expect and I'm excited to see where this trilogy is going. If you're a paranormal lover with a thing for angels and demons, this is definitely one you will have to pick up if you haven't already.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Good romance

    I like that ia written in two points of view, Frannie pov and Luc pov.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For all of you who are fans of stories about Angels and Demons w

    For all of you who are fans of stories about Angels and Demons without having the overwhelming ¡§religious¡¨ aspect, you have to read this book. My expectations of this book were low when I found it. Not only because it is a YA book, but I haven¡¦t had much luck with really good books about Angels and Demons. This book was AWESOME! Now when I say this is a YA book, I mean older YA, like 16 + age wise. There are a couple steamy scenes that might not be appropriate for the younger crowd, plus Frannie ¡§main character¡¨ is pretty much trying to have sex with someone most of the book. Who am I to judge? This book has a great story line that keeps you engrossed in the story. There are no areas of the book that ¡§slow down¡¨, which is good because some books start to lose you when the story gets boring. In this book, you have 3 main characters, Frannie, Luc and Gabe. Luc and Gabe are pretty much fighting for Frannie¡¦s soul and affection the entire book. I¡¦ve noticed from reviews that readers have left are picking which character is the one to beat, Team Gabe or Team Luc, I¡¦ve decided that I am Team Both! They are each too yummy for me choose. So back to the book, each character is intriguing. Frannie portrays your typical girl teen character, has all the attitude and indecisions a normal teenager has, except she¡¦s a little special º Luc and Gabe¡¦s characters both portray themselves well as Heaven and Hell, each dealing the consequences of falling for a mortal. There are some great action scenes, romantic scenes and tons of drama. This series is definitely one to follow. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    I'm always nervous about going into books knowing there is angel

    I'm always nervous about going into books knowing there is angels and demons. Because you never know which direction the author is going to go with the religious aspects. I was very pleasantly surprised at how this particular story was approached and enjoyed it.
    One of the things that has been very common in romance books as of late is the love triangle. From the cover it's pretty clear there was a huge possibility this story was going to contain one as well. I think that because the chapters switch perspectives between Luc and Frannie that Gabriel was going to be overlooked emotionally through the majority of the novel as far as romance goes.
    So even though Frannie may think Gabriel's hot and have a miniscule interest in him this early in the series. The triangle may develop later in the series, but really focuses just on Frannie and Luc in this first book. Luc having a huge Pro list as far as romance goes on my list because the reader really gets to know him personally. Gabriel's character is just viewed to us through Frannie and Luc's perspectives and although his character is interesting, I'd much rather see how Luc and Frannie work it out between themselves for now.
    Ok enough of the romance factor! What was a constant confusion for me was who Frannie chose as friends. The relationship that she has between her friends is very unhealthy, competitive and borderline enemy status. Every time they interacted with each other, be it at lunch or hanging out I always wondered why Frannie would choose to hang out with them at all.
    I enjoyed this story, I think it was handled really well and I kind of have a crush on Luc. Can't wait to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Pretty good

    This book was not amazing but it was still pretty good i just fid not really connect with the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This book instantly caught my attention from only reading the 1st few pages. I love that the author gives u the views of both characters....i fell for Luc just as fast, i must say he is my 2nd fav to patch from "hush hush"...sexy, dangerous and bad a**...lol def recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    I mentioned on twitter that I was going to put this book on my TBR list. Almost immediately I received a response from Momo over at Books Over Boys and Katie from Call Me Crazy YA Book Reviews singing this book's praises. A few weeks later I was in a bookstore shopping for Christmas presents when I came across Personal Demons and bought it. A week or two later I was finally able to read it. Now I'm able to tell you that I will start singing with Momo and Katie. This book is fantastic!!! Frannie, the main character is spunky, smart, and she can take someone out with her Judo moves. Frannie is also having doubts about her faith. I liked this element of the story because I think it's something everyone can relate to. The story is told through the eyes of Frannie and Luc. I liked this aspect of the book. It was interesting to see the different points-of-view. Luc is a spawn of the devil. He's evil, conniving and hot in every sense of the word. Then there is Gabe. Gabe is well, Heavenly. He makes Frannie feel safe and secure. Frannie is being hunted by both Heaven and Hell. She has untapped powers that she doesn't even know about. Frannie is also plagued by a traumatic event from the past. All of these elements made a phenomenal, fast passed, don't want to put it down, story. I loved seeing the internal struggles of all the characters. One thing in particular that I appreciated about this story is that Frannie had parents that were present in her life. So many times I've read novels and the parents are nonexistent. I also hope in the next book we get to see a little bit more of Gabe. There were parts of this story that had me screaming "NOOOOO!" and there where parts of this story that made me want to cry. I love books that evoke my emotions. On a side note, when I started to read Personal Demons, Lisa Desrochers tweeted me saying she hoped I liked it. I am happy to say that I really did. Now comes the hard part....... waiting on the next book Original Sin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Enjoyed it.

    It was pretty good. I enjoyed it. I almost wanted second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Would you choose heaven or hell? Which will frannie choose?

    Frannie has to make a choice even though she dousnt know it. She has to choose between heaven and hell. But she thinks she just has to choose between the really hot luc and the equaly hot gabe. Frannie is a senior in high school. She has her future right in front of her but will that future be taken away from her? Why do heaven and hell both want her so much that they are willing to break all the rules? Which will whe choose? I recomend this book to anyone who likes paranormal romance and good clean romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A rollercoaster ride of emotion

    Personal Demons is a darkly seductive fantasy that will capture readers' imaginations from the very beginning. The alternating points-of-view between Luc and Frannie keep the narrative fresh and engaging, though the omission of Gabe's perspective make the triangle feel a bit imbalanced at first. However, over the course of the novel, Gabe comes into his own and becomes as mysterious and alluring as Luc. The boys certainly demand attention, but Frannie is the true star of the show with her distinct and believable voice, air of mystery, and deeply troubled past - not to mention awe-inspiring Judo skills that are a brilliant addition to a paranormal heroine's repertoire. Yet, after becoming so invested in the angel and demon, her perpetual indecision became a little frustrating. This tends to be the case with most love triangles, but honestly there is no wrong choice in this tense and highly-charged novel. Be warned: the teenage hormones do occasionally rage out-of-control. Lisa Desrochers cranks up the heat and the tantalizing suspense will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

    The striking sensory descriptions that pervade the story - and especially the scents representing everything from emotions and souls to Hell itself - will pull readers headfirst into this vividly detailed world. The world-building in Hell is incredible, and the intriguing mythology is something I would like to see elaborated. Personal Demons challenges expectations: it may seem obvious which side to choose, but Luc makes Hell look pretty good...and Heaven has quite a few issues of its own. The banter between Luc and Gabe is comical and cute - in a deadly sort of way - and Luc's wry sense of humor and increasing exasperation offer timely comic relief to the emotionally-fraught tale of angst and desire. Personal Demons is a gripping and entertaining novel that readers absolutely will not be able to put down.

    (Note: This novel contains language and themes that may not be suitable for younger readers.)


    ~Review from thebookishtype[dot]blogspot[dot]com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    Personal Demons

    This book was amazing, I loved it. I really liked reading from Luc's perspective. BUT [spoiler?] I didn't see love, I saw lust and desire. So I wasn't really seeing where all the sudden their in love(From Gabe). But whatever, it was a great book and it's something I would read again just for the hell of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3