Customer Reviews for

Personal History

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    An Amazing Life

    I really did not know much about Katharine Graham until reading her personal history. Quite an amazing story. She writes with such honesty about herself it was sometimes heart wrenching. Well written and most interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    Truly Inspirational!

    As a female journalist in a male-dominated industry, I was captivated by Katherine Graham's "Personal History." Graham was at the helm of one of the nation's largest newspapers at a time when very few women held positions of power. Everyone, regardless of their gender, can learn much from the way she handled herself in various situations, both professionally and personally. The historical insight and personal details added so much to the book. This is one of my all time favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    Inspiring

    This book changed my life...amazing. What a woman. Everybod should read this book; it is absolutely gripping. An insider's view of a certain period of American history - it will leave you with a different spin on the world (if you are anything like me).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2001

    A story of will, determination, and perserverence.

    Katherine Graham will always leave a legacy that will be an indelible mark upon the publishing/writing world. Her dedication and perserverence in making the Washington Post and its enterprises into what they are today is a testimonial to the willpower and dtermination of this wonderful woman who shall be sorely missed in the literary and journalism world. Katherine Graham was thrust upon the scene in a time when the United States was in the process of undergoing one of the worst upheavels in our history. Fate would have it that two reporters on her staff would make the key discoveries that would lead to the downfall of a president. However, what is often overlooked in that story is that while the threat of collapse was upon her, Katherine Graham stood by her staff and doggedly pushed them on, even when faced with the downfall of her growing enterprise, should the story have been not what it seemed. This was typical Katherine Graham. A woman who knew what she wanted out of her life and strode to get it. The life of this great woman should be viewed as an example of perserverence. Most times remarks like that are made about ficticious characters. True, as the author of Strike Hard I found that when creating fictional characters, we all have a sense of success and achievement. However, this story is not fiction, yet shines as a beacon to any and all who have a dream, desire, or goal in their life. Katherine Graham had a determination to make something out of her life and out of the Post, and she did both with elegance, pride, and an unwaiverable determination that allowed her success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2001

    Most Remarkable Woman I Ever Knew

    When people say she is 'brutally honest', in reviews, they are correct and at great pain to herself. As Ben Bradlee said at her funeral, 'She was a spectacular dame, and I loved her very much', as did all of us who had the honor of knowing her. You can only learn from this book as you travel a most interesting life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2001

    Dynamic woman and extraordinary life!

    The tapes are an abridged version of the book, which I didn't know prior to purchasing. Nonetheless, this was a fantastic tale told by a remarkable woman. A storybook life told with brutal honesty. A Pulitzer Prize was well earned and the world has lost a phenomenal woman. A book I will make my daughters read someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    Dowdy Housewife

    Of course, she is anything but how she originally felt about herself, dowdy and dull. It's an amazing story about how she fought back to capture her abilities and become well known for power among freinds, family and the bigwigs. I wish she would tell a little more about herself on a lighter note. She really bashes her self-esteem, what self-esteem? Personally, I think she deserves every bit of the praise she has finally received and fought so hard for. Her children should be proud and continue to enlighten the public with her hopes, goals and love of getting out the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2001

    Let Us Honor Martha Graham As She Passes

    I read Martha Graham's PERSONAL HISTORY a couple of years ago while making some very big changes in my life. I continue to believe that her very honest story got me through the difficult journey. I will also always feel honored that we shared the same birth date, June 16th. What a gal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2000

    Who's who

    This book is the next selection my book group, See Jane Read has selected. I decided to read the first chapter online. As I read, I immediately thought of Eleanor Roosevelt's biography. Did these two families know everyone! Incredible-makes you want to keep notes on your own life and be gracious to welcome strangers into yours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1