BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Personal Injuries

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    multiple injuries

    I liked this book a lot. It is the first Scott Turow book I have read, although I have read a number by John Grishum and Lisa Scottoline. The three are similar in the way they approach a story. They do not produce the shocking, high speed tales of a James Patterson, but their characterization and sense of subtle irony is outstanding. I thought the development of Robbie and Evon was fabulous and the ending was very powerful. I will definitely scout out Turow's other books, and I would recommend this book highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2000

    So much better than I expected

    This is another book that, based on less than glowing reviews, I held off reading 'til recently. I am so sorry I didn't get it hot off the press! The main character, Robbie Feaver, is a high-rolling Personal Injury lawyer with a roving eye and ego to match, a Mercedes, lovely home, and terminally ill wife whom he loves dearly. All of Robbie's success comes to a screeching halt when the IRS and U. S. Attorney come down hard on him for bribing judges. Of course, it's the judges the Government really wants, and Robbie has no choice but to become their confidential informant, with a female FBI agent named Evon to babysit him. The U. S. Attorney running the case is as ruthless as they come, perfectly willing to spend enormous sums of money and force his star witness into increasingly dangerous situations to secure the evidence to get his convictions. Robbie Feaver is, among many other things, a pathological liar, and just when it seems there is nothing else he could possibly lie about, he does. Similarly, when it looks like he can't get any more deeply into trouble, he does. Yet, he is a supremely sympathetic character and I found myself rooting for him all the way, wanting him to find a way out of the hole he'd dug himself into and turn his life around. This was a complex story with very real, multi-layered, empathetic characters and an all around great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    Terrific Story - Many twists and turns

    Having read all of John Grisham's and Scott Turow's books, I held off quite awhile purchasing this book because of the previous reviews. I finally ordered it and was delightfully surprised. It was a suspenseful page-turner. The story grabs you from the first chapter. Don't be mislead by the reviews. If you are a Grisham or Turow fan, you will love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    Compelling and Moving

    One of Scott Turow's better efforts, 'Personal Injuries' unfolds slowly and deliberately, like a Greek tragedy. There are no car chases, no shootouts, just a foreboding sense of the inevitable running its course. Those who are looking for a legal thriller-diller will be disappointed, but those who are looking for a character-driven novel with background themes of big city corruption and personal redemption will be more than satisfied. Turow's mythical Kindle County, with all its sleazy politcal infighting and grimy big-city realism is again the backgound for this novel and provides it with an extra note of authenticity. This reader felt that he knew these people and where they lived and worked. In time Scott Turow's work my transcend its genre of the legal novel and become 'real literature.' 'Personal Injuries' is a more focused effort than 'The Laws of the Fathers' and ranks with this author's best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    Personal Injuries, A Good Read.

    I wrote a review of this book for the ABA Student Lawyer national publication. Like so many of Turow's other works, Personal Injuries is based upon true life--not necessarily 'fiction' in the truest sense. Although the facts of the book were messaged a bit from Turow's real-life prosecution of 'Operation Gaylord' in his hometown of Chicago, the book is nontheless thoroughly entertaining, with a sprinkling of evidentiary law for those of you who are attorneys or attorneys to be. Although not quite as stunning a book as, say, Presumed Innocent, Personal Injuries is a great read with a surprise ending. I would recommend it for anyone who enjoys the legal-thriller genre Turow created.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Interesting twists and turns in the court system.

    This novel deals with lawyers, judges, federal law enforcement, and courtroom personnel as it reveals how bribes are handled as a matter of course. Not a nail-biter but okay reading for the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    P

    Is this fiction

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Excellent reading.
    All work from Turow are worth reading; I always learn something significant or important.

    Japurol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    Good legal novel, a little slow in parts.

    I have to agree with another review in that the relationship between Evon and Robbie was very interesting to observe as it grew. There was a lot of plot development and description as the story ( and backstory ) unfolded. I do have to mark the book down in a couple of chapters as it did seem very tedious and overly verbose in some situations. Overall I must recommend it as enjoyable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    Easy to put down

    Mixed book club review - Most didn't finish it. Love the author but other books of his are better. Accurately shows how people respond to stress and choices. Almost too much description.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2001

    Don't take it personal.

    Turow and Grisham two of the best new age legal/mystery writers. I say new age because I started my legal/mystery reading with Erle Stanley Gardner (Perry Mason). Honestly, I like all three writers. I would not call Turow¿s Personal Injuries a legal thriller. The characters are too well developed for this to be a thriller and the pacing seems too slow. In Personal Injuries Turow has given his fans a superbly plotted and methodical yarn. A yarn told step by step much the same way a lawyer would plan and strategize for a case. For me to enjoy a story I have to care about the stories characters. And while Turow has developed his characters very well I didn¿t give a flip about them. Maybe I wasn¿t supposed to care? We all have our own reading preferences so I would not take it ¿personal¿ if you disagreed with me when I say, I liked Personal Injuries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    Pleasant surprise, enjoyable read.

    With the exception of some tedious passages and a little nonbelievability, this was a very enjoyable, worthwhile pastime. I've read all of Grisham and most Turow and I'd rate this in the top 25% of what I've read. Definitely more than worth the ten bucks to download it as an eBook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2001

    Intrigue from the Start

    The first chapter begins in a place we can all relate to and the story quickly sweeps you up. Clever juke box figure of speech at the beginning and funny Descartes reference. Great pathos with the entrance of the family illnesses builds the depth of the story. I thoroughly enjoyed the book so far and plan to finish reading it asap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2001

    worst book of it's kind ever?

    I can't believe I read this all book all the way through. It was only because I was sick and didn't have anything else to do. I was hoping it would get better, but it never did. If you like these types of books, all of Grishhams are much better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2000

    Will it ever end?

    The detail in this book is very descriptive but much is unnecessary. Unlike other books that incorporate all the copius details in the ending, this book did not. I wanted to find out what happened but suffered through the 400 pages to get to the non-melodramatic ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    Better than most

    I have read all of Turow and all of Grisham and this was one of my favorites. The time Turow took on character development was well spent. I can't believe the disparity in the reviews I have read. Maybe it's not a super achievement but it certainly is not as bad as some seem to think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    Intelligent and Well-thought Out

    <P>I don't have much time to read books, so I try to choose them carefully. 'Personal Injuries' was a successful selection.</P> <P>Turow has written a very intelligent, believeable story with a plot that keeps you guessing around all of the little twists along the way.</P> </P>I was suprised by the level of the author's observations about the settings and the characters. The detail was impressive. And each of the main characters felt very well developed.</P> </P>If you're looking for a good beach read, 'Personal Injuries' ought to fit your bill.</P>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2000

    'I Tried to Write a Great Book About Bad Attorneys'

    It is amazing how disappointing this book is. Turow uses every cliche and soap-opera scene ever said and done. Sadly, the events are beliveable, but the characters elicit no empathy or sympathy. After a few chapters they become booooring. Maybe the movie will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    formulaic

    After having read all of Turow's books, particularly his last triumph 'Laws of our Fathers', I was extremely disappointed that this book was a simple formulaic plot, without anything to make it stand out. Turow has obviously settled into complacency and, I do admit, I read mediocre reviews of this novel prior to purusing it, but the critics were correct. Read Scott's previous tomes...He apparently has not motivation to excel anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    A Great Read!

    If you are looking for a simple read with a formula plot, cardboard characters, and a writing style that can be cut-and-pasted into a first grade primer, forget about reading Personal Injuries. This is a novel to be savored like a good chardonnay. Turow¿s characters have flesh and blood. Robbie Feaver is the Willie Loman of the Millennium. Just about everything about him is phony. His whole life has been a string of lies and, what¿s more, he has convinced even himself that they are true. But Turow doesn¿t stop there. He gives us glimpses of Robbie¿s soul and allows the reader to see the spirit of an otherwise merely sleazy man. Likewise, another character, Evon, who is tied up in knots in her own identity crisis, is easy to dislike. But, as Evon's character develops, a vulnerable human being releases itself from the anonymity of layers of camouflage. These people show redeeming qualities that pave the path to redemption for their shortcomings. Personal Injuries is not a fast read. It is advisable not to read certain chapters at bedtime, or (as I did) you will awaken in the middle of the night with the bed light still on and the book opened to the page you were reading when you fell asleep. To those who found it boring, I give this bit of advice: read it again¿this time as an intelligent piece of literature. Appreciate the richness of the plot, the texture of the characters, the craftsmanship of the way Turow puts his words on paper. This was my first Scott Turow novel. If this latest book is an indication of a downhill spiral, then his writing career has many, many years to go before it hits bottom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2