Customer Reviews for

Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great story of a great saint

This book was a touching portrait of the great "Maid of Orleans", St. Joan of Arc. It is both inspiring and beautiful, and it is one of the best books I've ever read. It is very accurate in the details of her life, from her life as a peasant in Domremy, to the great w...
This book was a touching portrait of the great "Maid of Orleans", St. Joan of Arc. It is both inspiring and beautiful, and it is one of the best books I've ever read. It is very accurate in the details of her life, from her life as a peasant in Domremy, to the great warrior that rallied France against England. Great book, and a great saint!

posted by TraditionalCatholic on February 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cannot download!

Try as I might, I CANNOT get this version to load!!! I did load a different version of the same book, and am enthralled!!!

posted by DustyRoads on May 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story of a great saint

    This book was a touching portrait of the great "Maid of Orleans", St. Joan of Arc. It is both inspiring and beautiful, and it is one of the best books I've ever read. It is very accurate in the details of her life, from her life as a peasant in Domremy, to the great warrior that rallied France against England. Great book, and a great saint!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2000

    The best book I've ever read

    This book is absolutely wonderful. The tale of the miraculous Maid of Orleans changed me. The story is amazingly acurate and yet is so interesting that it is hard to believe that a peasant girl of 17 could really be the savior of France. I can't describe how great this book is. Critics cut down this wonderful work because they say that Twain portrayed Joan more as a 19th century schoolteacher than as a 15th century warrior. I say to these critics that if they had any taste what so ever they'd appreciate this wonderful book and the years of research Twain put into it. I highly recommend this book and when you read it the poor doomed peasant girl will win you over too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    MArk Twain is always entertaining--altho this one is a bit wordy in the narrative.

    The main fault is with the publisher and the editors---the typos are rampant making it difficult to make out the words at times. Makes for an interesting read--lol.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    Mark's Masterpiece

    Mark's inspiring novel 'Personal Recol- lections of Joan of Arc' is a must for all readers who want to read something that can change their outlook on thigs and their personal life. His accounts of Joan of Arc is chilling and enjoyble. You will find yourself turning the pages without knowing it, or almost trying to find the power to continue. This book has chanded my life in so many ways and I hope it has this impact on you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Surprising and wonderful read!

    I never knew Twain did a book like this. We read the popular ones in school. But I came across this and am happy I chose to read it! Especially as it was free! Give it a try. You will be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Mark twain at his finest

    After spending 12 yrs of researching original period documents, mark twain set to writing what he considered his greatest book of all. The most accurate rendition of her story in english.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    The ARose Books version of "Personal Recollections of Joan

    The ARose Books version of "Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc" has been carefully edited to present a beautiful book with custom illustrations. It is a wonderful story by Mark Twain and this edition is a keepsake.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    great book great subject

    would have been a five if the keyboarding had been edited. But the book was great. I am surprised.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Cannot download!

    Try as I might, I CANNOT get this version to load!!! I did load a different version of the same book, and am enthralled!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Twain doesn't dissapoint

    Although the story is familiar, Twain provides an engaging version, told from the perspective of a village friend of Joan. It reads like a proper period piece (although there are a few anachronistic linguistic items).

    This is not one of Twain's humorous works, but he does slip some tongue in cheek observations into even dark moments.

    The ebook version has a few scan errors, which are a little distracting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    A cream colored she

    Stared at the kit. (Is this a realistic clan?)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    The kit

    She weakly blinked her eyes open, and her white wings quivered.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Chainbreak

    *the she-cat pads in*<p>
    "May i join?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    () wow

    () inced ()

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    FadedStar

    Sorry my charger is lost and my nook died. You all my join

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2