Customer Reviews for

Persuader (Jack Reacher Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 396 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

One of the best of the Reacher novels

This is #7 in the series and I've read them in order. This is my favorite thus far; Without Fail (#6) was a disappointment and Child bounced right back with a winner here. The plot has much greater depth, there is a host of characters who all play significant roles...
This is #7 in the series and I've read them in order. This is my favorite thus far; Without Fail (#6) was a disappointment and Child bounced right back with a winner here. The plot has much greater depth, there is a host of characters who all play significant roles in the story, it roars with plenty of action and Reacher gets all the bad guys. If you want an excellent escapism-type book, one where good wins out over evil and you don't mind the violence that comes with it, then this is a book you'll love. The Jack Reacher series is one of my favorites - along with the Camel Club, Harry Bosch, Lucas Davenport, etc.

posted by SlapShot62 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A little slow...but still entertains

After reading "The Enemy", I expected the same sort of fast-paced, tension filled thriller for this book as well. I was a bit disappointed. What started off promising left me disappointed throughout the book. While the storyline itself is solid and Jack Reacher is his s...
After reading "The Enemy", I expected the same sort of fast-paced, tension filled thriller for this book as well. I was a bit disappointed. What started off promising left me disappointed throughout the book. While the storyline itself is solid and Jack Reacher is his same dry, witty self, the story line lacked the heart pumping action I experienced in "The Enemy". The ending was predictable. However, the book still entertained and kept me engaged.

posted by spinspinnsuga on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 398 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best of the Reacher novels

    This is #7 in the series and I've read them in order. This is my favorite thus far; Without Fail (#6) was a disappointment and Child bounced right back with a winner here. The plot has much greater depth, there is a host of characters who all play significant roles in the story, it roars with plenty of action and Reacher gets all the bad guys. If you want an excellent escapism-type book, one where good wins out over evil and you don't mind the violence that comes with it, then this is a book you'll love. The Jack Reacher series is one of my favorites - along with the Camel Club, Harry Bosch, Lucas Davenport, etc.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Excellent

    I cannot say enough good things about Lee Child and his Jack Reacher series. Old fans will enjoy this novel as much as the others, new fans will rush out to buy the rest of the series.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A little slow...but still entertains

    After reading "The Enemy", I expected the same sort of fast-paced, tension filled thriller for this book as well. I was a bit disappointed. What started off promising left me disappointed throughout the book. While the storyline itself is solid and Jack Reacher is his same dry, witty self, the story line lacked the heart pumping action I experienced in "The Enemy". The ending was predictable. However, the book still entertained and kept me engaged.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    JET PROPELLED ACTION

    With the publication of his initial Jack Reacher thriller this author made it clear that both he and his protagonist were forces to be reckoned with. Lee Child's early promise is abundantly fulfilled in his seventh Reacher adventure. As readers of earlier works in this series know Jack Reacher is a former Army cop who travels like a turtle - his home is on his back as are his possessions. He has no family, and has made no promises. What he does have is a penchant for facing down big time trouble. A chance encounter on a Boston street more than rekindles memories, it sets them on fire as Reacher sees an old enemy he believed to be dead. It's been some ten years but he hasn't forgotten the one who apparently got away with murder. The jig is now up, and it's time to pay the price. But, what price is Reacher willing to pay for bringing the guilty to justice? Jet propelled action from cover to cover and realistic dialogue propel this can't-put-down thriller.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific wild ride

    Jack Reacher is minding his business when he sees the cop and others go after Richard Beck in what appears to be an abduction attempt. Deciding in a nanosecond to become involved, Jack kills the cop and the others kill Richard¿s bodyguards. Jack takes Richard with him as they escape the bloodbath. Richard persuades Jack to take him to his home in Abbot, Maine where he swears his wealthy father, an oriental rug vendor, will reward him. Reluctantly, Reacher agrees only when Richard shows a missing ear sliced off from a previous kidnapping. However, what is obvious is not always clear when it comes to Reacher. The kidnapping was a ploy staged so that Reacher could infiltrate the impregnable home of Beck, who deals in a lot more than just rugs. Jack knows that Beck is his mark to finding the dead Quinn. Though not one to normally become involved, Reacher has unfinished business with a man reported dead for some time. The seventh Reacher novel is the usual terrific wild ride along side a macho maniac who fears nothing including a game of Russian Roulette in which he is the only player. The story line is exciting becauuse nothing is what it first seems although Lee Child always clarifies the obvious with a new obvious quite quickly. The audience never fully knows who is doing in whom with Reacher dissecting the middle. This testosterone thriller will persuade the sub-genre throng to reach out for this novel and once readers know Jack the previous works too. Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Good book.

    I love all his books they are all so good and crime like. I actually like crime books and i am only eleven years old and love these books. You rock Lee Child.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Thia is a book about a man called Jack Reacher, as written by a man named Lee Child.
    After reading the first page, I read another page. I continuew in this manner until there were no more pages to read, at which point I stopped reading. i think I may read another book about a man named Jack Reacher, as written by a man n amed Lee Child. It is likely that I will read one page at a time, just as I did this book. I recommend this method to any and all who may choose to read these (or any)books.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    JACK REACHER SERIES

    Jack Reacher series is always exciting and keeps you on the edge while trying to figure out the mystery. Really enjoy all the books in this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Another real good Jack Reacher book

    As always Jack Reacher keeps his life interesting and exciting. Stayed up way to late to finish it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Jack Reacher

    What can I say . You have to read this series of books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Best yet

    I have read all in order and so far this is the best one yet. Without Fail was the worst I have read yet but this book made up for it in a big way. I had a hard time putting it down. Enjoy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2015

    outstanding

    outstanding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    excellent read

    another great Jack Reacher book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    Good read, lots of action.

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    Extremely good writing

    Lee Child has again kept the pages turning. Hate to put it down, even to eat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Must read!

    Like all Child books, well written. Can't get enough Reacher action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    River

    "May i join?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Chaos

    Im so sorry!! I fell asleep and then i was really busy in rl. So sorry!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Quest

    Are you on?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    The Best Series I've ever read . Top Notch

    *****

    I began to read Jack Reacher 2 months ago and I am hooked !! I now have read all
    books in the series and I can't wait for more. Lee Child is amazing , his details are so explicit and interesting , and the action keeps you addicted page after page. I find myself unable to stop - using every spare minute of my day with my nose in these fabulous
    dramas. Jack Reacher is human and superman rolled into one. Please Lee Child
    keep writing !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 398 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20