Customer Reviews for

Persuasion

Average Rating 4
( 507 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(276)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Truly Tremendous

Persuasion is a powerful book that strongly impacts the mind of any reader. I read this book for a research paper I had to write this year in high school, and I fell in love with it. Apart from the fact that I experienced the emotions described in this book, Jane Austen...
Persuasion is a powerful book that strongly impacts the mind of any reader. I read this book for a research paper I had to write this year in high school, and I fell in love with it. Apart from the fact that I experienced the emotions described in this book, Jane Austen presents the material in such a way that the reader can comprehend, and fully grasp, the struggle of Captain Wentworth and Anne Elliot. This is truly a tremendous masterpiece. I strongly recommend it.

posted by 5913451 on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book, buuuut....

The formatting for this book was half hearted at best. Made a great book difficult to get through with odd page breaks and typos.

posted by 17052294 on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 510 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Truly Tremendous

    Persuasion is a powerful book that strongly impacts the mind of any reader. I read this book for a research paper I had to write this year in high school, and I fell in love with it. Apart from the fact that I experienced the emotions described in this book, Jane Austen presents the material in such a way that the reader can comprehend, and fully grasp, the struggle of Captain Wentworth and Anne Elliot. This is truly a tremendous masterpiece. I strongly recommend it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Great Book, Ok, Formatting

    This is one of my all time favorite books. I have read it several times in paperback and after having to sell almost all of my books for a move I was excited to see this free version. The formatting is fairly decent. There are random numbers and letters throughout and some of the line breaks are odd but it's not hard to read and really isn't annoying. Some of the paragraphs run on but that was how my other copy of the book was. I could be coming from a different perspective on the reason the formatting really doesn't bother me. I was a history major and some of the things that I had to read from this time period (and others) were not edited for ease of reading. Good copy if you are interested in reading it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Enjoyable and satisfying

    A great satirical description of class prejudice and privilege. The virtuous overcome the contemptible and the reader is happy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Great Austen novel

    It is a pleasure to. read or to rereadan. Austen nvell,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    I love this book however, I was sincerely disappointed with the

    I love this book however, I was sincerely disappointed with the number of typos in the Barnes & Noble Classics series nook book verison. After reading a couple more Jane Austen book from the Barnes and Noble Classic nook books, I kept finding more typos to the point that I went and purchased a different publisher's version and archieved the B&N version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Check it out.

    I could read it over and over. I love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Love to read

    Another great Jane Austen story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Listen

    I found the book rather sweet. It teaches you to follow your heart and not the decisions of others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great book, buuuut....

    The formatting for this book was half hearted at best. Made a great book difficult to get through with odd page breaks and typos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    A great book once you get into it!!

    I will not lie; Persuasion is a book that took me a really long time to get into. This book is what we would classify as a "chick flick" but in book form (so for all the real men in the world read this book). The only thing that kept me reading it for the longest time was that I had read the inside cover and was intrigued with what could happen in this book. This book is about two hundred years old so the text used can be somewhat confusing at times. The spelling is definitely different along with the grammar use. During this book the reader will experience drama, sadness, jealousy, happiness, shock, and many more emotions. The story first takes place in what I assumed to be England. The war had just finished and many army personnel were coming home. One part that I had a really hard time understanding was the very beginning, it seemed like the narrator was the father of Anne Elliot. He seems to be trying to write his will or making an autobiography of himself. I could not figure out who the narrator was or what they were trying to tell the reader. After I got past that part I just had to keep telling myself to keep on reading because it would get better. When Anne (the main character) first comes across her long lost love Captain Wentworth the reader wants them to just get back together and for everything to be good. Fortunately, that does not happen and the reader has more to read. Later in the book Anne meets her cousin Mr. Elliot and they soon become acquainted with one another. I did not know if I wanted them to get married or if I still wanted Captain Wentworth to come back and marry Anne. The setting of this book wanted to make me have a English accent and begin telling parts of this story to some of my friends. It is a story that has its ups and downs but it definitely a phenomenal book with a wonderful ending that I will not give away. This book is a book that you could read in book clubs, on rainy days, give as a gift, and should have in a library. Once I got to the end of this book I wanted it to keep going on. The way that Anne now feels about love and about Captain Wentworth may be a tear jerker for some so make sure to keep some tissues handy. The ending will make the reader go back in time and switch places with Anne if the reader is female. Another thing about this book is that it is one of the all time classics and if modified could easily apply to this day in age. This is a book that I am definitely giving a thumbs up and recommending to my friends because of how well if rapped up and did not leave you hanging. I loved this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    typos make it difficult to read

    It was ok. Frustrated with the typos transferred when they scanned the document.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    DarkKnight

    Name: Darkknight Age: 19 moons Rank: Warrior Looks: Ink black tom with a silver streak running down his pack, and has snow white paws.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Fancy

    Bio will be up when i have the time!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Tiger

    Crush is Swift.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Swift

    Name.swift or swiftkit gender tom age 6 moons apperence. A black and white patched with green eyes speckled with gold and has really long legs. Crush none history ask symbol"_"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Tiger

    Tiger she kit orange with black stripes stormy gray eyes siggy: &#8729&#8710&#8729

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    &nu&sigma&real&kappa&upsilon&tau&alpha

    Name • Vorkuta<br>
    Rank • med and assassin<br>
    Gender • femme<br>
    Personality • seems angry often, and often is, and attacks anyone and anything. She is also a good friend to have if you can get her on your side<br>
    Themesongs • John Doe, Bob et Priscilla et Laterns, Birds of Tokyo<br>
    Siggies • &nu&sigma&real&kappa&upsilon&tau&alpha et &upsilon<_>•&upsilon<br>
    Other • mdr means morte de real means dying of laughter, so basically lol or lmfao. You choose. I also say 'duck' instead of
    'f<_>uck' because I can. Plus i talk alot of French so you may need to ask for some translations. I also post only two stars. Now, bai!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Mirror

    Age: unkown. Gender: she cat. Personality: she is intelligent and cunning but hardly talks to others. Looks: silver fur with grey eyes that have gold flecs. Crush: no. History: nothing that should concern you.~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Silence

    Name:Silence ~
    Female~
    Rank:Assasin
    Apperence: A grey-white furred she cat which fur has a hint of red from stained blood. When she closes her eyes and mouth it looks like there sewn shut.
    Crush:No Love aloud
    Themesong: The Darkness by Hardstyle
    Symbol: #-#

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 510 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26