Customer Reviews for

Persuasion

Average Rating 4
( 507 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(276)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Truly Tremendous

Persuasion is a powerful book that strongly impacts the mind of any reader. I read this book for a research paper I had to write this year in high school, and I fell in love with it. Apart from the fact that I experienced the emotions described in this book, Jane Austen...
Persuasion is a powerful book that strongly impacts the mind of any reader. I read this book for a research paper I had to write this year in high school, and I fell in love with it. Apart from the fact that I experienced the emotions described in this book, Jane Austen presents the material in such a way that the reader can comprehend, and fully grasp, the struggle of Captain Wentworth and Anne Elliot. This is truly a tremendous masterpiece. I strongly recommend it.

posted by 5913451 on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book, buuuut....

The formatting for this book was half hearted at best. Made a great book difficult to get through with odd page breaks and typos.

posted by 17052294 on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 276 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    I love anything Austen, but this is possibly my favorite. It is

    I love anything Austen, but this is possibly my favorite. It is lovely to watch the characters develop and begin to understand the reasons behind their actions. The mixture of humor, romance, and a hint of the tragic makes this a wonderful read on a rainy afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    My Favorite Austen Book

    Once I retired and got a chance to really star reading, I only thought Jane Austen had done Sense and Sensibility plus Pride and Prejudice. I didn't know about the others, but made sure I read them all. I had never heard of Persuasion, nor had I heard of a major motion picture of it like the other two I mentioned, so I was surprised when this became my favorite. I have read it many times now, in the past 20 years, and watched the English version of the story, and when I have trouble getting to sleep at night, I just start telling myself the story over again and it gets my mind off of other things and puts me pleasantly to sleep. It's become like a favorite fairy tale to a child. Love lost, 2nd chance at love, love conquered ... all with the delicious background of a Jane Austen afternoon and evening of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Her best work

    Though it is often eclipsed by the more popular Pride and Prejudice, Persuasion is Austen's most sensitive and intellectual work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Love Captain Wentworth

    I Love this story. Jane Austen is a legend. This is my favorite story. Captain Wentworth is just lovely. His letter to Anne is my favorite.
    "I can listen no longer in silence. I must speak to you by such means as are within my reach. You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope. Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone for ever. I offer myself to you again with a heart even more your own, then when you almost broke it more than eight years and a half ago. Dare not say that man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death. I have loved none but you. Unjust I may have been, weak and resentful I have been, but never inconstant. You alone have brought me to Bath. For you alone I think and plan. ---Have you not seen this? Can you fail to have understood my wishes? --- I had not waited even these ten days, could I have read your feelings. As I think you must have penetrated mine. I can hardly write. I am every instant hearing something which overpowers me. You sink your voice, but I can distinguish the tones of that voice, when they would be lost on others. ---Too good, too excellent creature! You do us justice indeed. You do believe that there is true attachment and constancy among men. Believe it to be most fervent, most undeviating in
    F.W. (Captain Frederick Wentworth)
    I must go. Uncertain of my fate; but I shall return hither, or follow your party, as soon as possible. A word, a look will be enough to decide whether I enter your father’s house this evening, or never."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Tvqrbh

    Jfcr
    Gbesh

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    Very Good

    Beautiful story. This book is one of my favorites of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My Second Favorite Austen Novel

    Next to Pride and Prejudice, this is my favorite Austen novel. I loved Anne and held my breath until I found out that she and Fitzpatrick ended up happily ever after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    loved it.

    always a good read. I thoroughly enjoed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Classic

    This was my first Jane Austen novel, and once I became comfortable with her linguistic style, I became fully engrossed into the story. Do you marry the sailor you fall in love with at 19 without the approval of your family, or do you marry your cousin (Eeeew!) for his money, title, and family approval? Thankfully Anne never even really considered the cousin, but if only Frederick had known sooner..!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Delicious

    Usually Jane Austen's books take chapters to get to the plot, but I was enthralled from the first. The story is so beautiful. It made me cry and laugh. As always, her characters are well portrayed. Anne Elliot is one of her best heroines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    persuaded to love it...

    Wow. i really loved this one. I had read mansfield park before it, and was disapointed in how slow that went...while this one took a bit to get into, once you did, it was amazing. I was practically squealing in the end! it was fabulous! oh wentworth...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    Every emotion satisfied

    If I could live in a story, it would be this one. Ms. Austen's astute observations into the subtleties of human nature are complete genius. Your world will delightfully dissolve into hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2001

    Austen is a literary genius

    This is not a book that will enthrawl younger readers, but the same can be said for most of Austen's works. Austen spends a great deal of time on detail which might bore some people. The plot of 'Persuasion' is classic. If you enjoy a well written love story, you will enjoy 'Persuasion'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2001

    One of her best!

    This is deffinatly an under-rated book! I love it! (But then I love Austen)The romance did take some time to develope, but there was enough wit to amuse in between, and really I think that it really made one apprciate it Annes'feelings to a much greater extent. Anne is the main character. She's lived a rather sheltered and 'dull' life, up to the point in which we are introduced. Deffinatly just as good as P&P, S&S, and Emma, if not better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    Absolutely brilliant!!

    I love Jane Austen!! All her books are great, but 'Persuasion' is one of her best. The characters are so life-like and realistic, you can recognize them as being like people you know. Captain Wentworth is the perfect gentleman and Anne is a great character, good but not perfect. A Must-Read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2000

    a very great book

    This is a very enchanting book that i enjoyed very much. It just shows that true love conquers all. A must read for all Jane Austen fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 276 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14