Customer Reviews for

Persuasion (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)

Average Rating 4.5
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Timeless classic

    It is a beautifully-written book, like all her others. In Persuasion, Anne Elliot is persuaded by a family friend to not pursue a relationship with Captain Wentworth because of his inferior place in society. Many years later, she is reacquainted with him and her love for him has not diminished. She is unsure of how he feels about her. He is now a prestigious and admired captain; his station in life completely changed from before.
    They find each other in the same social circles, but his pride and her uncertainty of his feelings prevents them from reuniting. At some point, it is believed that each of them is attached to another.
    The novel has its funny assortment of characters just like all of Austen's works. And, Austen saves the wonderful union of Anne and Captain Wentworth for the last pages, as in her other books. But, that makes it sweet as you finally read the happy ending. I actually cried as I read the touching letter he writes to Anne at the end.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jane Austen's Best

    I know that a lot of people nowadays believe Pride and Prejudice to be Jane Austen's best novel, and yes it is a great story, but incredibly difficult for the average person to read. Persuasion is just as good in its interesting plot, but... a lot easier to follow. I've reccommended it to a lot of friends who wanted to read Jane Austen but couldn't get through her books. This one is definitely the easiest to get through, and truly a very sweet and romantic story. The main character Anne is very easy to relate to as the ignored and undervalued sister, the people pleaser of the family, who lost her chance of happiness at 19. Or at least, so she thought...Read it! You'll love it!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    My Favorite Austen

    I absolutely adore this book. Why? It doesn't have the sparkle of Pride and Prejudice or the humor of Emma. But what it has is so much more! Anne is now past the age of marriage and beheld as a spinster. She could not have been an old maid. Her brother-in-law had proposed to her before he asked her sister, but she refused. Captain Wentworth is rich from the war, and is ready to settle down. There are many girls he could choose from, no one would suspect he would care for Anne, who had broken his heart years before. I love this story because to me their love is the most sincere of all Jane Austen's couples. They could not have anyone but each other, despite dooming maidenhood, heartbreak, betrayl, misunderstanding. Over all of this comes forgiveness and hope. Their love to me stands the test of time and is the most true of anything I have ever read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Beautiful cover for a classic. Jane Austen lovers - take note!

    I love Jane Austen's books and have various titles in several editions. This one is my favorite - it has a beautiful cover, the font is pleasing to the eye, and it is indexed at various points - these correspond to notes which explain the context a little more. This is something I love about the Penguin Classics. I'm sorely tempted to get other titles in the same series now..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Forgotten Novel of Jane Austen's

    Ms. Austen makes her last novel the most moving one of her short career. I realize that many scholars would disagree with this claim, but it's because "Persausion" seperates itself from the other novels that in part make it so remarkable.
    The ending is not that of a fairy tale, but more along the lines of a changing world with many unscruplous people in it and Anne and her love have finally decided to take life on their own terms.
    Witty humor, is another ingredient that Ms. Austen finds time to include although this is far more of a sober tale. She makes comentary on the choices a woman had available to her and the life of a military wife.
    This is a far more realistic story than the romantic comedy "Emma," although that is great as well, but this is more of a story about lost love and the tribulations, pain, and other endurments that must be faced to reach happiness in ones life. This is a fitting end to a remarkable career.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly refreshing

    In Jane Austen's last novel, Persuasion, we meet the Elliot family: Sir Walter and his daughters, Elizabeth, Mary and the youngest daughter Anne. Over 8 years ago Anne became engaged to Frederick Wentworth, a man with no one to recommend him. After much persuasion from a family friend, Lady Russell, Anne breaks off the engagement. When the reader meets Anne it is more than 8 years later and circumstances have brought her and the now Captain Frederick Wentworth back into each other's lives. Will they be able to rekindle their relationship or did Anne's initial refusal ruin all hope for them to be together...?
    Reading Jane Austen is truly refreshing! The subtleness with which Austen delves into the relationship between Anne and Captain Wentworth among other characters is beautifully done. A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    Persuasion: A Must!

    Praised as Jane Austen's greatest, most mature novel, Persuasion definitely lives up to its reputation. Written in Austen's captivating, witty style, it enhances all the beauty, romance, as well as flaws and negatives of the early nineteenth century England. Anne Elliot, a daughter of a wealthy baronet and Frederick Wentworth, the fortuneless love of her life, find themselves separated by the cruelty of the social rank system of England at that time. Anne, persuaded to end their relationship, lives for eight and a half years regretting the greatest mistake of her life until Captain Wentworth comes back from war, where he has made quite a fortune. Now, revolving in the same social circle and constantly being in each others' presence, both Anne and Frederick face the difficulties of forgetting the mistakes of the past to finally realize that it may be a future together that they truly want. Anne Elliot, a heroine quite unlike Austen's usual witty, beautiful and charming Elizabeth or Emma, portrays the complexity and maturity that Jane Austen's writing has reached. Anne has an aura of kindness and gentleness about her that makes her unique among Austen's heroines. Her character is guaranteed to have every reader sympathize with her as she tries to recover from the past and renew her intimate connection with Captain Wentworth. The Captain, definitely comparable to Mr. Darcy, is the usual dashing, brilliant man that all women adore and want for themselves. All the rest of the characters such as the silly, self-centered Mary and the light-hearted Miss Musgroves make the storyline even more delightful and rich in twists and turns. Once again, Austen gives her readers what she knows they want. There is romance and love, misfortune and jealousies, parties and vanity, and, of course, a happy ending, which the authoress presents is such an amazing style as can only be worthy of a true masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Cutlass

    Padded in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Tiger

    Though l want it to b Vorkuta

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    &Tau<_>&alpha<_>&upsilon<_>&eta<_>&tau<_>&epsilon<_>&r

    Symbols: &alpha &beta &delta &gamma &kappa &epsilon &zeta &eta &theta &iota &lambda &mu &nu &xi &omicron &pi &psi &rho &sigma &tau &upsilon &psi &omega &chi <p> The next are the same symbols in the same order, but I capitalized the first letters: &Alpha &Beta &Delta &Gamma &Kappa &Epsilon &Zeta &Eta &Theta &Iota &Lambda &Mu &Nu &Xi &Omicron &Pi &Psi &Rho &Sigma &Tau &Upsilon &Psi &Omega &Chi <p> To make the symbols if you dont know: <br> & alpha <br> & beta <br> & delta <br> & gamma <br> & kappa <br> & epsilon <br> & zeta <br> & eta <br> & theta <br> & iota <br> & lambda <br> & mu <br> & nu <br> & xi <br> & omicron <br> & pi <br> & psi <br> & rho b<r> & sigma <br> & tau <br> & upsilon <br> & omega b<r> & chi <p> The 'how to make the symbols' are all in the same order as the ones above it. Some symbols might of been

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Extremely Small print edition

    I haven't read this book because the print in this particular edition is extremely small. Other editions of this book contain 288 pages, but this one contains only 100 pages - that should give you an idea of how small the print is in this edition. I have ordered an edition that has larger print and look forward to reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Taunter

    Yep. I just felt like it. I dont tink ur soupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    `^`

    If i knew where the kk camp is then l woukd be rping there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Justice

    Snowclan maybe?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Tiger

    Cool. I don't have a mentor yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Tiger

    Okay! Im putting my face on! She jumps into the murky river and comes out with a black pelt. `^`

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Vorkuta2 to Blackened ~ OOC but important

    Dif is back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Flare

    Heyoooooo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Tiger

    Desertclan! They are at laf res one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Mydtery

    You said you were locked up with a kit and alcholl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15