Customer Reviews for

Pet Sematary

Average Rating 4.5
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is the novel that made me love the horror genre, despite no

This is the novel that made me love the horror genre, despite not loving most of the horror books I have read. It remains in my top ten, and possibly top five. It has made life difficult, as every horror-type book I have read in the twenty-some years since reading Pet S...
This is the novel that made me love the horror genre, despite not loving most of the horror books I have read. It remains in my top ten, and possibly top five. It has made life difficult, as every horror-type book I have read in the twenty-some years since reading Pet Sematary has left me still thirsting. The depth of story is amazing. Characters build into flesh and play off each other's idiosyncrasies, and the pacing of action and suspense - particularly the long, strange walks to the place where the ground is sour - are painted with such realism that you cannot read this without feeling the stickiness of mud beneath your shoes, or feeling the movement of shadows behind you. What can I say? Do not worry about the movie. I've seen it - I love Herman Munster and the guy who played Louis, but it had to be a disappointment in trying to follow the raw energy of that book. It had no choice. But no matter... the book will tear you away from familiarity or comfort, and you'll forget any other perspective. INTENSE.

posted by KVSallis on July 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

By Far His most over rated Book.

Maybe I was Heavily medicated while I was reading this book, and didn't realize it. For those who find this book scary, what can I say? You guys don't know what true Horror really is.

posted by Jjasont on October 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Funny smelling cat. Wow, scary. Really, there is nothing scary a

    Funny smelling cat. Wow, scary. Really, there is nothing scary about this book. The writer, who claims to be an awesome writer of horror, injects lectures about funeral home practices that have nothing to do with the plot. I can only assume they were included because the writer had done extensive research and wanted to make sure the reader knew it. Very amateurish writing overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    Love love loved this novel! Builds up gradually and literally kn

    Love love loved this novel! Builds up gradually and literally knocks you off your seat! The ending is sick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Pet #1

    Awesome not to be dublicated ! #2 not as great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Towleg

    The dohs ate wind rush and windrushs spirtit went to starlit res1 starclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Fireblazekit to twoleg

    Female twoleg at house res six

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is very good, but it's not for those with a weak stoma

    This book is very good, but it's not for those with a weak stomach. You'll feel like you red a great book, by one of the better writers of this generation, but you'll also fill like you have a hole in your spirit. Tread lightly. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    IDK...

    Why you crazy people like scary stories. Call me a scardy cat, but the movie Soul Surfer gave me nightmares for a week. I might read Firestarter by stephen king but that would be it. Kings work is scary and disturbing. Enough said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Love

    Love... Love ... Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Could not stop reading

    This is one of my favorite novels by perhaps teh best horror writer out there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pet Sematary

    Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    PET SEMATARY

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ ALONG WITH "MISERY"!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Terrifying!

    Very frightening, and descriptive which only made it scarier. I had to arm myself with a shoe. Subsuquintly knocking the wind out of my room mate. But she understood. The movie however did in fact do this Stephen King book justice. Unfortionatly I did jump everytime my cat hissed or growled. So worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    Hey-ho, let's go!

    Pet Sematary's content, while entertaining and thought-provoking, does drag on exceedingly in some sections (i.e. Louis deciding whether to dig up Gage or not). Its ending seems rushed with little detail as compared to the rest of the book. It spares its readers all the gory details and lets the readers' imaginations work but the lack of details is a very obvious change. Not to give away too much but, the ending chapters are somewhat disappointing. Various places throughout the book host great repetition yet the climatic ending could use some to give off a psychological thrill. Previously, hints had been given as to how Jud and Rachel would react to the Gage-thing that comes back, but it gypped the readers of their thoughts and horrific anxiety as the action takes place.

    Additionally, having seen the movie version prior to reading the book, Pascow's lack of involvement leads to further disappointment. In the movie, Pascow serves as a ghoulish comic relief but, sadly, as he is desperately needed to break up Louis' monotonous and half-crazed ramblings and indecisiveness, his black humor is nowhere to be found following his graphic death.

    The Wendigo's presence adds a very King-esque supernatural feel that does not necessarily add anything believably worthwhile to the plot. (Not that a dead kid coming back to life is believable either, but hang in there.) The creepy sounds and spine-tingling eeriness while walking through the woods, yes. A devilish-looking, mammoth-sized creature tearing down forests, no. The Wendigo part of the book practically comes out of nowhere. It'd be better to have left it merely mentioned because it breaks the readers' building tension and concentration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pet Sematary

    Amazing, just blown away! Thrilling, pure Stephen King! If your looking for a book that has thrills and chills, this is the book for you!! 10/10, nothing yet has beaten or will beat this timeless classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    A Must Read

    This is an good book that every one should read whether you are new to Stephen King or an old fan this book is a page turner that is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    Long and Drawn Out

    This is the first Stephen King novel I have read and I have to say I am very disappointed. The plot and characters where great but the story was just really drawn out. There was much that could have been left unsaid and it would have flowed a lot better. By the end of the book I was just relieved to have finished it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    FANTASTIC!!!

    This is by far one of King's greatest novels. The story never fails to capture one's attention and never slows down. Even when you think everything's going to be all right, something just goes terribly wrong that you would never have expected. Worth the price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    i'd give it ten millon stars but it only goes to 5

    Problaly the best King novel ever of the Creed family i'm only 13, but i can tell you from the many Stephen King's books i've read this is one of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Pet Semetary

    Absolutely the best Stephen King book i have ever read. I'm only 16 years old and i have read about 80% of his works and this has to be the absolute best yet. It takes you on an adventure through the woods like you used to do when you were a child but its more than that. It takes you into a world where the dead can become living once again. 5 starts. Greatest book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Great and Insane

    This is a book about a family who moves to Maine, and discover a Pet Semetary. Anything that goes into it returns to life as a zombie. This story was great and insane in the same breath. It did all the tricks in the book, and was a new kind of horror story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13