Customer Reviews for

Pet Sematary

Average Rating 4.5
( 254 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is the novel that made me love the horror genre, despite no

This is the novel that made me love the horror genre, despite not loving most of the horror books I have read. It remains in my top ten, and possibly top five. It has made life difficult, as every horror-type book I have read in the twenty-some years since reading Pet S...
This is the novel that made me love the horror genre, despite not loving most of the horror books I have read. It remains in my top ten, and possibly top five. It has made life difficult, as every horror-type book I have read in the twenty-some years since reading Pet Sematary has left me still thirsting. The depth of story is amazing. Characters build into flesh and play off each other's idiosyncrasies, and the pacing of action and suspense - particularly the long, strange walks to the place where the ground is sour - are painted with such realism that you cannot read this without feeling the stickiness of mud beneath your shoes, or feeling the movement of shadows behind you. What can I say? Do not worry about the movie. I've seen it - I love Herman Munster and the guy who played Louis, but it had to be a disappointment in trying to follow the raw energy of that book. It had no choice. But no matter... the book will tear you away from familiarity or comfort, and you'll forget any other perspective. INTENSE.

posted by KVSallis on July 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

By Far His most over rated Book.

Maybe I was Heavily medicated while I was reading this book, and didn't realize it. For those who find this book scary, what can I say? You guys don't know what true Horror really is.

posted by Jjasont on October 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    This is the novel that made me love the horror genre, despite no

    This is the novel that made me love the horror genre, despite not loving most of the horror books I have read. It remains in my top ten, and possibly top five. It has made life difficult, as every horror-type book I have read in the twenty-some years since reading Pet Sematary has left me still thirsting. The depth of story is amazing. Characters build into flesh and play off each other's idiosyncrasies, and the pacing of action and suspense - particularly the long, strange walks to the place where the ground is sour - are painted with such realism that you cannot read this without feeling the stickiness of mud beneath your shoes, or feeling the movement of shadows behind you. What can I say? Do not worry about the movie. I've seen it - I love Herman Munster and the guy who played Louis, but it had to be a disappointment in trying to follow the raw energy of that book. It had no choice. But no matter... the book will tear you away from familiarity or comfort, and you'll forget any other perspective. INTENSE.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    Dude....

    This is by far the scariest King book i've read. the entire book is totally worth reading just to get to the last 50 or 60 pages. it starts out slow, but so does every Stephen King book, when you get 200 pages it starts to get scarier and scarier until it gets to the startling (and very disturbing) end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A very thrilling and suspenseful book!

    Pet Semetary is a very thrilling and suspenseful book. The author, Stephen King tells very good descriptions in all of his books. As soon as you are relaxed, he starts again. The evil is not even what you think it will be, or is it? Louis Creed just moved to maine and now has a perfect job at the University's hostpital, a perfect house, a perfect daughter and son, a perfect wife, and a perfect cat. The road seperating his house and new friend Jud Crandell's house is unmerciful. You can here the huge semi-trucks speeding and raging all day and all night. It has taken so many children's pets' lives. Will Louis Creed listen to what he needs to, or what he wants to??????

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books I've ever read!

    This book contains twists and turns that the reader wouldn't ever expect. It is scary, brilliant, and a good horror story for anyone who loves being scared!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    A Horror story success! In this novel every moment was filled wi

    A Horror story success!
    In this novel every moment was filled with suspense and chilling detail of the horrifying events created chills throughout my body. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. This is Stephen King's BEST book. Louis Creed had just moved with his family to the perfect house. Not far away from their lawn is a freeway for semi-trucks that zoom by. many pets have not had such a good fate. when louis is confronted by fear will he follow what he knows is right or what he thinks is right?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    Great Read....Needs to be available as a Nookbook...

    I really love Stephen King's work, but I don't understand why a lot of his earlier books like "Carrie" and " The Shining" are available as Nookbooks and "Pet Sematary" amd "Christine" aren't. I think all of these books are really good, but I was disappointed to find out that those two books weren't available as Nookbooks, which is one of the reasons I bought my Nook. Please put them in e-book format soon. I really would like to add them to my growing e-book library.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    BEST BOOK!

    This book is by far the most scariest, yet best, book I have ever read. It's full of twists and turns, and you can't put it down. Stephen King has amazed me with this book, and he is my favorite author. I HIGHLY recommend this book to horror fans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Pet Sematary #1!!!!

    This book is just amazing. It is King's best writing yet. This was my third King book I read, and it is my favorite book ever (except The Shining). It is creepy from around page 100 to the end. Yeah, it is a little slow at the beginning, but it is interesting and a quick read. I highly, highly recommend this book!:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    Pet Sematary a Must Read!!

    Pet Sematary by Stephen King is a novel about a doctor, Louis Creed, who moves to a small town in Maine with his family. On his first day at the college hospital a student named Pascow is brought in after being hit by a car. He dies but his spirit haunts Creed throughout the book. After a couple of months of living in the house his wife and son leave to go visit their grandparents and while they are gone the cat is run over on the highway. Creed's neighbor tell him about a mysterious pet sematary that brings anything there back to life. The cat returns the next day after Creed buries it.All is fine until a couple of weeks later his son is killed by an 18-wheeler on the highway in front of their house. Creed makes the gruesome decision to bury his son in the sematary and this leads to a gory filled ending to the novel. When I picked this novel up for the first time I never wanted to put it down. I finished it in about a week of just reading it during my free time. It has an interesting story line and plot that keeps you wanting to read more. I chose this book because Stephen King is my favorite author and I love the far out horror that he writes. The only thing i have against this book would be the strong language throughout the book. It would be a book for a mature reader but I would highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    One of King's best works.  Scary from start to finish, with a mo

    One of King's best works.  Scary from start to finish, with a monster climax.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Worth your time

    very interesting and different. but very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This book is great. It keeps you interested and at parts I felt like I was actually there in the scene with the characters. Some parts of it are sad, but that only adds to the novel's greatness. Personally, I'm not a fan of fantasies like this, but this read kept me going.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    My first Stephen King Novel

    ...it holds a special place in my heart. very creepy and the ending has stuck with me for many years now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    By Far His most over rated Book.

    Maybe I was Heavily medicated while I was reading this book, and didn't realize it.

    For those who find this book scary, what can I say?

    You guys don't know what true Horror really is.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Awesome!

    This is the scariest Stephen King book I have ever read. At first it is kind of hard to figure out the characters but it clears up quickly. This is a very violent book and is sad at parts, but overall is a very awesome. The only thing is there was loose ends mentioned through out the book that are never tied up. If you are looking for a book that will leave you in suspense every time you put it down you will love this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    There Back-k-k

    Your going to read this thinking about your pets you have or did and want would you do, this is one you will keep you into the book thinking what if?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    My Review

    After a bit of a lull in his writing with Christine and Cycle of the Werewolf, King is back to top form with Pet Sematary. Much shorter in length than Christine, King seems to have used a more discerning editorial eye on this novel and it really paid off. Pet Sematary really packs a punch especially in its conclusion. Once again, King takes his time building things up and developing his characters and setting, but there are a few tense moments along the way that keep the plot moving up to the big bang at the end.

    I really, really enjoyed this one. The suspense is great, there's lots of good ole' gore and it's the usual toss-up as to who might come out of this mess alive, although you pretty much know that nobody will come out unscathed. A couple of nice twists and turns at the end complete the wild ride of the climax and put a perfect end cap on this; one of King's best works

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Stephen King RULES!!!!!!!

    I love Pet Sematary!! It is such an amazing book just as it is a movie. If you do not like how the movie skips out on some of the main parts of the book, do not watch the movie. If you love books that deal with romance, drama, comedy, and horror, this is the book to buy!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    grim....but good

    Pet Sematary is a very grim book and not one of King's more action packed stories either. I really enjoyed it though. That's the thing about King; even when his story is on the slow side, his writing and his characters keep me interested.

    When Louis and his family move into an old house right off a trucking highway, terrible things are in their future. Between that highway in front of their house and the old Indian burying ground behind their house, they are caught in the midst of some unearthly mayhem. Whether it's a family pet getting run down in the highway, grave digging, or tales of the dead brought back to 'life', Pet Sematary has it's share of morbid moments. Like I said before, it's a grim tale.

    Pet Sematary gets you thinking about death and what you would do with the power to bring back the dead. Louis makes that decision several times in this book with results that are less than perfect. This is a spooky story definitely worth a read....as long as you don't mind a touch of the macabre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Res 5

    It's res 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13