Customer Reviews for

Petals on the River

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

i loved it...

i loved it.i liked everything about the story.i was so happy for shemaine when she got married,and it was so exiting to see that maurice came to her rescue...my favorite part was the ending.i recommend this book to all.

posted by Anonymous on January 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I've read K. Woodiwiss for years and always enjoyed her books, until this one. I pass all of my books on to others - when I finished this book (by skimming) I was angry that I took the time to do it - and I dumped the book in the recycling can.

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    KEW fan, but I hated this book

    Shanna and A Rose in Winter are my two all-time favorite romance novels. I have reread them several times over the last twenty years, and I have several other Kathleen Woodiwiss novels that I own and like. I consider myself a fan of her writing. But I hated this book. The plot was entirely predictable, and I thought most of the book was boring - I skipped long passages. I knew exactly who the good and bad characters were as soon as she introduced them, and I even knew what the plot twists were going to be. Maybe the problem is that, unlike her other romance novels, the characters don't dislike each other when they first meet and find some way of keeping apart, so there's no palpable spark between them.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've read K. Woodiwiss for years and always enjoyed her books, until this one. I pass all of my books on to others - when I finished this book (by skimming) I was angry that I took the time to do it - and I dumped the book in the recycling can.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    i loved it...

    i loved it.i liked everything about the story.i was so happy for shemaine when she got married,and it was so exiting to see that maurice came to her rescue...my favorite part was the ending.i recommend this book to all.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Hanna

    Im bored

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When outspoken Shemaine O┬┐Hearn arrives in America her life is f

    When outspoken Shemaine O’Hearn arrives in America her life is far from the privileged one she held back in England. Wrongly accused by her enemies and now an indentured servant to a man with a shadowy past, Shemaine needs to escape her confides and return to the life she knows. Gage Thorton was in need of a nanny but Shemaine was not what he was expecting nor did he expect the desire that came with her.

    Once again Woodiwiss does not disappoint in this enigmatic tale of conspiracies and attempted murders. Gage is a hero to love with his mysterious past but easy going manner and Shemaine is a strong lead in this male dominated time. Woodiwiss lets Shemaine’s own character shine through creating an adventure and love standing against lies and betrayal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Again, Awesome!

    Still the best fanfic ever! Continue, now!!! I wanna know what happens to Rosekit!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Epic

    Very awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Violet

    Lovely! You use your talent well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Awesome!

    Keep Going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    TMS

    Awsome!!! Keep going!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Breaking Away ~ Chapter 1

    Rosekit fluffed out her brown pelt, as the flaming sun began to rise in the morning sky. Petalkit, Tigerkit and Flamekit were curled up next to her, still sound asleep. Rosekit was to excited to slep another blink, her apprentice ceremony was to be preformed today! The kit almost exploded th excitment just at the thought of it! She prodded her only sister, Petalkit, with a paw,"Wake up!" She whispered,"Wake up!" Petalkit groaned,"Rosekit, it's barely morning, go back to sleep," Rosekit huffed in frusteration, gazing through the nursery brambles at AmberClan's main camp. It was an empty clearing of grass, and the occasional tuft of fur. A blast of sun shot into the camp, causing the clearing to explode with brilliant light. Sjades of green and brown circled Rosekit, as she stared in awe. Suddenly, a sheet of blackness swept over her eyes. Rosekit blinked, utterly confused. A cold, menacing voice met her ears,"Darkness, blackness, cold, ice... death." Roskit let out a small scream, trying to claw at the blackness. Her heart raced as it closed in on her...
    <br>
    ~ ~ ~
    <br>
    "Rosekit! Rosekit!" The voice of Rosekit's mother, Sandcloud, met her ears, as her vision began to return to normal. Sandcloud licked Rosekit's ears,"What's going on, Rosekit? Do you feel well?" Rosekit blinked a few times, hazily gazing at the claw marks that she left on the nursery walls. The blackness. The frigidly cold, dark world that some mysterious cat had taken her to. She shook her head quickly, trying to rid her mind of those ghostly thoughts,"Umm... yes," she felt dizzy for a moment, and started swaying unsteadily on her paws,"Rosekit?!" Gasped Sandcloud, as Rosekit collapsed to ground in a heap of cream and brown fur. ~Liv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Wing

    ...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Stella

    Avalon, you made Nightshade, right? I rped Emily there. O.o

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Soraya

    Embrace
    Pawed
    The
    Ground.
    "Bien. Comme
    Ci
    Comme
    Ca."
    She
    Said
    In
    French.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Avalon

    *highlighted a few words in her book and stood up, climbing onto a tree*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Made me fall in love

    This is the first book that I ever read by Kathleen Woodiwiss, she is now my all time favorite author, and I have read all of her books MANY times! You will enjoy this book and then I suggest you read Shanna (also by Kathleen Woodiwiss) because some of the characters inter-mingle a little.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Very Good Read....Kept me going.

    This book was based on happenings long ago. Very good story.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    You wil fall in love with all the characters!!

    I am an avid reader and I go through several books in a week. There are only a few that really make me stop to reread them more than once. I have read this particular book four times and find it well written with witty humor and strong lead characters. I found the love to be enduring and not cheezy like most romance novels are. I yet to read any more books by this author but she is now on my favorite list!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Best Romance Book

    It is one of my Best. I read it twice. I recommend that you give it a chance. I wish they would make it into a movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    Not Recommend but not Disappointing

    I have liked all of Woodiwiss's other works of art and was excited to read Petals. I liked the characters and how she wrote the dialogue but the story was too complex. With problems from England and America hounding the heroine. With rumors and in-laws riding the hero it was almost too much to take in, almost. But like all of her other books they are good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4