BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Petals on the Wind (Dollanganger Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 257 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful, intruiging, dramatic and full of betrayal...

In the beautiful lands of greenglenna, virginia, there lived a stunning young woman who goes by the name of Catherine "Dahl" Dollanganger- Foxworth. Once the daughter of a young gorgeous couple (Corrine and Christopher Foxworth), and the loving older sister of two twins...
In the beautiful lands of greenglenna, virginia, there lived a stunning young woman who goes by the name of Catherine "Dahl" Dollanganger- Foxworth. Once the daughter of a young gorgeous couple (Corrine and Christopher Foxworth), and the loving older sister of two twins -Cory and Carrie and the younger sister of Chris Jr., her life was made to be perfect...that is, until her perfect father dies in a crash and she and her siblings have to live in an attic with their rich, evil grandmother. Just escaping the wretched house of a woman who hates them, the children (excluding the one killed at the grandmothers house, cory) find themselves at a doctors house. Cathy soon falls in love with the doctor and a few other guys including her mothers new husband. As cathy journies through a painstaking path to love and self peace, she stops along the way for a treat. She bows to get revenge on the woman who hurt her the most. Her dear old mommy. Taking everything she has one by one, cathy shows her mom what real betrayal and revenge is-- and she wont stop until she gets her fill. Oh yes. Revenge is sweet...but the aftertaste...is bitter....

posted by 6456684 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Nook version has issues

Intriguing tale and part 2 of the Dollanganger series. The nook version is troublesome, though. There are so many spelling and typing errors that it is literally distracting. Several passages were butchered so bad that it's impossible to decipher what was intended...cal...
Intriguing tale and part 2 of the Dollanganger series. The nook version is troublesome, though. There are so many spelling and typing errors that it is literally distracting. Several passages were butchered so bad that it's impossible to decipher what was intended...call me crazy, but I like to be able to read what I paid for, and the numerous errors prevented that. To give you but one example, the title of the book as it shows on the nook is "Petals Won the Wind." They couldn't even get the title right!

posted by PierreLeChat on October 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Nook version has issues

    Intriguing tale and part 2 of the Dollanganger series. The nook version is troublesome, though. There are so many spelling and typing errors that it is literally distracting. Several passages were butchered so bad that it's impossible to decipher what was intended...call me crazy, but I like to be able to read what I paid for, and the numerous errors prevented that. To give you but one example, the title of the book as it shows on the nook is "Petals Won the Wind." They couldn't even get the title right!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Nook edition is just awful

    I love the story - I've been reading this story when the desire strikes for a decade now - but there are so, SO many spelling errors in this book. Words are missing, or are replaced by characters such as dollar signs. How does someone mess up even quotation marks? I'm actually frustrated trying to read in some passages.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    $$$$$$$$$$

    If I were rating just the book I'd give 5 stars, but the errors and symbols in the text are very anoying. Its frustrating getting into a good read and having random symbols and missing words show up! Please fix this!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Beautiful, intruiging, dramatic and full of betrayal...

    In the beautiful lands of greenglenna, virginia, there lived a stunning young woman who goes by the name of Catherine "Dahl" Dollanganger- Foxworth. Once the daughter of a young gorgeous couple (Corrine and Christopher Foxworth), and the loving older sister of two twins -Cory and Carrie and the younger sister of Chris Jr., her life was made to be perfect...that is, until her perfect father dies in a crash and she and her siblings have to live in an attic with their rich, evil grandmother. Just escaping the wretched house of a woman who hates them, the children (excluding the one killed at the grandmothers house, cory) find themselves at a doctors house. Cathy soon falls in love with the doctor and a few other guys including her mothers new husband. As cathy journies through a painstaking path to love and self peace, she stops along the way for a treat. She bows to get revenge on the woman who hurt her the most. Her dear old mommy. Taking everything she has one by one, cathy shows her mom what real betrayal and revenge is-- and she wont stop until she gets her fill. Oh yes. Revenge is sweet...but the aftertaste...is bitter....

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Too many errors!

    I was dying to read this, since I just finished reading the 1st book but I found that there were typos on, like, every chater! Honestly, who the hell editing this and why are there missjng words and $$$ in the middle of nowhere?! I am outraged, there are missing words and it getting so irritating and the editing is so bad up to the point where I couldn't even understand what was happening! Honestly, save yourself the trouble and buy yourself a physical copy of this book instead of wasting your time trying to find out what $$$ means. But I am just shocked that these people didn't notice, like, don't you read over your work and how can you possibly mistaken the work "the" for "$$$". No joke, that literally happened in this book. Other than that, great, but someone please fix this!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great continuation of Flowers In The Attic but in desperate need of editing!!

    I was so excited to read this sequel to Flowers In The Attic that I could not hardly wait to get this book! It was not as good as the first but definitely worth the read to find out what happened in the lives of the children after they escaped the attic. My only complaint ( and it's a biggie!) Who in the heck edited this book? I definitely hope they were not getting paid for their so-called editing skills because they did a poor job! It was so bad and so many mistakes and $ signs where there were supposed to be words that it made it distracting at times to even kerp reading. I thought 'really' they must have gotten a high school drop out to do this job! I hope this is only on the ebook Nook version and not in the paperback. How can mistakes in grammer, spelling and typos like this happen and get published like this? I could only give 4 stars because and it really should have been 3 1/2 but it did not give me that option!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read....

    I thought that this was a great follow up from Flowers in the Attic. I loved how reading the first 2 of this series was like just reading one story. I will be reading the rest of the series later on cause it left me wondering where else this story can go. I def recommend this book to others and have a few of my friends already reading Flowers in the Attic..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Terrible book with a strange and twisted plot. I purchased the

    Terrible book with a strange and twisted plot. I purchased the Nook edition and there were so many typo's it was incredibly difficult to read. I started to highlight all the mistakes but gave up as there were too many.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    It was hard to enjoy this book because of all the typos. Save yo

    It was hard to enjoy this book because of all the typos. Save yourself a headache and get the paper book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Errors

    Did anyone proofread this before publication? There are so many typos, misspellings, etc. And they are very distracting. I am disappointed that Nook woul sell such a shoddy product.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Typos!

    While I am trying to enjoy the story, I can't even stay focused because of the mass typos on the Nook version! Horrible!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Good story, way too many errors

    Overall I enjoyed this book but there were so many errors that it got distracting and at times it was impossible to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Revenge is sweet .

    I loved Petals on the Wind. Full of sex, vengeance, death and drama. I find Cathy irritating sometimes just as I did in Flowers in the Attic. I still love it though. But, if you are buying the book as an ebook, beware that there are a ton of screw ups. Dollar signs and numbers where letters should be, run on sentences, misspelled word, etc. It doesn't mess up the story but is a distraction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    .

    I bought this hoping to relive one of my favorite stories from yeas ago but I was very upset about the quality of this ebook. The spelling mistskes and instead of words you just got $$$$$$$$? It was very disappointing. I've never tried to return a book, but this copy makes me want to. The story itself is amazing, but if you can,t read it than its not worth it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    The story is great. This book was my favorite out of the whole s

    The story is great. This book was my favorite out of the whole series. The errors that are in the Nook version are horrible! Misspellled words, symbols where words should be, etc. Horrible! Someone didn't do a good job editing this version. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Horrible Editing - Review By Kadi'

    Wow. Where do I begin? First and foremost, I love the series. Let there be no mistake about that! The Dresdan Dolls were and have been my favorite of all from the amazing mind and imagination of VC Andrews.

    The typo's in this E-book are just so frustrating to read through. The names are mispelled, the sudden $$Money signs$$ appearring out of nowhere hust ruins the entire read for me. To have to sort through and to figure out what the word is *supposed* to be, borders on the rediculous. Surely, they could have found a better word editor than the one that they used!

    I will be getting the next in line of this series and hope that it is better edited than this one was. Hopefully, there won't be page after page of worthless character key strokes that are truly distracting from what is a really good book.

    I would have given this book 4 stars, but the poor editing equates to a 3 star review.

    Kadi'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    V. C. Andrews sure knew how to tell a story. Wow.

    Revenge was behind every decision Cathy ever made in her life and everything that ever went wrong was blamed on her mother. I can't say that I blamed her and the book would have suffered if it was any different but man if I could learn anything from reading this it would be to forgive and forget. I would never want to live a life consumed by hate. Anyways, this book was excellent. I couldnt put it down. Looking forward to reading the next book in the series and even more from V. C. Andrews. She is fast becoming one of my favorite authors :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Awesome

    I read this book in like 3 days!!!!! I loved the book i just got annoyed by cathy a little because she liked broke one guys heart then she went right on to the next one!!! And all the guys she was with they all died i think shenhas some sort of curse or sumthing

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Great book!!!

    I loved the second book in the series just as much as the first one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    GRIPPING STORY...

    I could not put this book down! What an amazing plot and in depth characters! WOW is the only word for it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13