Customer Reviews for

Petals on the Wind (Dollanganger Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 257 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful, intruiging, dramatic and full of betrayal...

In the beautiful lands of greenglenna, virginia, there lived a stunning young woman who goes by the name of Catherine "Dahl" Dollanganger- Foxworth. Once the daughter of a young gorgeous couple (Corrine and Christopher Foxworth), and the loving older sister of two twins...
In the beautiful lands of greenglenna, virginia, there lived a stunning young woman who goes by the name of Catherine "Dahl" Dollanganger- Foxworth. Once the daughter of a young gorgeous couple (Corrine and Christopher Foxworth), and the loving older sister of two twins -Cory and Carrie and the younger sister of Chris Jr., her life was made to be perfect...that is, until her perfect father dies in a crash and she and her siblings have to live in an attic with their rich, evil grandmother. Just escaping the wretched house of a woman who hates them, the children (excluding the one killed at the grandmothers house, cory) find themselves at a doctors house. Cathy soon falls in love with the doctor and a few other guys including her mothers new husband. As cathy journies through a painstaking path to love and self peace, she stops along the way for a treat. She bows to get revenge on the woman who hurt her the most. Her dear old mommy. Taking everything she has one by one, cathy shows her mom what real betrayal and revenge is-- and she wont stop until she gets her fill. Oh yes. Revenge is sweet...but the aftertaste...is bitter....

posted by 6456684 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Nook version has issues

Intriguing tale and part 2 of the Dollanganger series. The nook version is troublesome, though. There are so many spelling and typing errors that it is literally distracting. Several passages were butchered so bad that it's impossible to decipher what was intended...cal...
Intriguing tale and part 2 of the Dollanganger series. The nook version is troublesome, though. There are so many spelling and typing errors that it is literally distracting. Several passages were butchered so bad that it's impossible to decipher what was intended...call me crazy, but I like to be able to read what I paid for, and the numerous errors prevented that. To give you but one example, the title of the book as it shows on the nook is "Petals Won the Wind." They couldn't even get the title right!

posted by PierreLeChat on October 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    GRIPPING STORY...

    I could not put this book down! What an amazing plot and in depth characters! WOW is the only word for it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Emotionally Reeling

    I just finished this book the other day after reading piece by piece for over a month. Andrew's books all seem to have so much content that you really have to stop and contemplate what you just read before moving on to the next part. This book is incredible and extremely emotional. Of course seeing as that my favorite character was Carrie, I was a bit torn up towards the end but never the less the final chapter wrapped it up and sort of healed all the open wounds. In this book we meet the amazing doctor Paul and Henny and see what happens to the despicable mother Corrine Winslow. You'll be on the edge of your seat the entire time! Cathy's character really grows as an adult in this book and I am so proud of her (haha). I would compeletly reccommend this book for all ages (mind you there is a lot of sexual content), and I can not wait to read onto the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    THE BEST SERIES I HAVE EVER READ IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!!! ;)

    V.C. Andrews is one of my favorite authors. I oculdn't put it down. Me and my sister enjoyed this series so much. Its so twisted and ingeniously plotted. The names of the books go so well with books. Everything twists and turns into a great story teller to read over and over. Me and my sister are going to read the series again. I'm 13 and this book got me hooked. My grandma, mom, bght it and i read the fisrt couple chapters and i didnt want to stop reading. This series shook me at times and made me sad at the same time. I will always love this series. Greatest series I've ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    In this book, the dollanganger's children manage to escape the attic.

    Catherine and Christopher have feelings for each other due to the time they spend hidden away. Carrie is mourning the death of her twin brother, with him gone, she doesn't see the worth of time. Their own mother tried killing them, even if she said it was to get an excuse to get them out of there. Paul Sheffield takes the 3 of them in, and soon falls in love with Catherine.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    Best of VC Andrews!

    I read this for the 1st time just after it was published, when I was about 10. Since then I have re-read it countless times, always finding something new. I just read it again as a married adult and found so much I never noticed before. This is VC Andrews at her very best, and I never thought Flowers in the Attic could be bested. Yet this book, number 2 in the Dollanganger series, never ceases to captivate me. The theme of the story seems to be revenge and redemption, as Cathy works hard to prove she is not unworthy, yet at the same time seeks out vengeance for the many crimes committed against her, and her family. I loved the whole book- there were no slow parts IMO. I felt as if I WERE Cathy and fell in love with Paul, Julian and Bart, and always Chris. I didn't care for the next 2 books in the series as much, perhaps because this book was so good. I still think it would've made an incredible mini-series, but Hollywood messed up and tried to make a movie of the 1st book. In any case, this is definitely the best series Andrews wrote, and luckily she wrote each of the books herself. I still read the VC Andrews books that are written by the author chosen by her family after VC died, but never have I been as enthralled with a book as with Petals on the Wind. I've read this book more than any other in existence and it remains my favorite, no matter how many books I read. Definitely a keeper!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I HAVE READ THIS BOOK AND THE WHOLE DOLLANGANGER/FOXWORTH SERIES COUNTLESS TIMES AND IT SEEMS AS THOUGH THAT EVERY TIME THAT I READ THESE BOOKS THEY BECOME MORE AND MORE INVIGORATING...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 1999

    this was a very good book

    This was a very good book. I read flowers in the attic twice before i read this, and Petals On The Wind was just as good. I also recommend the orphans series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Wind

    Worked at lining up the bone parts. When she had done so, she cot a stick and tied each stick end with vines so the bones stayed together. (Correction: broken leg)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Mables bf

    Wals in rips her cloths off and makes out with her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    MAP

    Res one: Welcoming
    Res three: Bios
    Res four: Mystery Shack
    Res five: The town
    Res six: The lake
    Res seven: The pool
    Res eight: The woods
    Res nine and up: Cabins

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Shut up

    Stop spoiling the book by using the movie to do it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Spoiler (the movie)

    Cathy is in dace class. Her instructors son thinks shes perfect,pretty, and decides to take her to a bar. So he asks her to go to new york with him to dance in the best show. He says yes but she comes home and chris goes into her bedroom and asks her where shes been. She tells him about julian and he kisses her and they lay down on the bed and they have s**. Carrie saw them but they dont know she saw. So the next day she goes to new york with julian. They go into his apartment and he starts to kiss her but she pulls away and sits on the couch. He lays her down strips her and kisses her and says "your neck,your collar bone,your belly. Its all mine, say it say your mine" cathy says "im yours" and they have s**. - Haley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    |Apprentace Den|

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    A dark sequel to Flowers in the Attic. Cathy, Carrie and Chris h

    A dark sequel to Flowers in the Attic. Cathy, Carrie and Chris had survived three years, four months and fifteen days in the attic of a sadistic grandmother who tortured them for the sins of their mother. Their freedom which cost them their youngest brother, cost them more then they ever thought. They were haunted by their childhood, locked in the Attic. Carrie most of all haunted by the rejection of their mother, and loss of her twin brother. Chris worked hard built on his practice and became the doctor he wanted to be.  Chris always believed that his mother was in someway innocent of their treatment. This drove Cathy, from love to love, good to bad situations always trying to reject Chris, and the unnatural love they shared. Cathy drove herself so close to her dreams only her bad choices cost her everything. The compounding nature of her mistakes seemed to balance out her hatred of her mother. When she returned to Foxworth Manner seeking her revenge she would never expect what it cost her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Too indecisive

    I felt that Cathy was too indecisive throughout the book. Like she did not know what she truly wanted in life. I felt terrible for Chris because he did could not catch a break for the life of him. Poor guy. And then i watched the movie...the movie completely wrote out Paul and portrayed an entirely different character for Chris to "fall for" other then Cathy. I actually prefered thr movie over the book because the book was just boring in comparison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Can you not

    Please stop with the cat references; i am actually trying to look for helpful reviews that will help me decide on whether this book is worth reading. Thank you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Good read

    The children escaped the attic. But there is truly no escape from the punishment of the attic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    PETALS ON THE WIND by V. C. Andrews is an creepy Mystery/Suspens

    PETALS ON THE WIND by V. C. Andrews is an creepy Mystery/Suspense/Thriller. #2 in the "Dollanganger" series, and I feel you should read "Flowers in the Attic" first. This is the sequel to "Flowers in the Attic". Made into a Lifetime Movie.
    The Dollanganger family saga continues in "Petals on The Wind". Filled with horrific sacrifices, family incense, family abuse, and love between siblings. Do not think this is a HEA story, for it is not. It is very creepy, the issues, while, seem unbelievable, and unrealistic to many are probably more real life than readers want to believe. With secrets abound, love just out of reach for the Dollanganger siblings, and a suicide, readers will be turning pages. The movie was very true to the storyline of the book. If you have not watch the movie,I would encourage you to, as well as read this tale of cruelty, and survival. A psychological thriller by a popular storyteller. Not for the faint of heart. A great read! Received for an honest review.
    RATING: 4
    HEAT RATING: HOT
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Silverstar to Silverfang

    Silverfang bounds up to Silverstar and starts thrusting into her. He lets out a howl and she growls. Mmm ughh hhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Jacob

    Opens the door to a hous that hades had and i whent to a room and locks the doors and screams and cries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13