BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Petals on the Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful, intruiging, dramatic and full of betrayal...

In the beautiful lands of greenglenna, virginia, there lived a stunning young woman who goes by the name of Catherine "Dahl" Dollanganger- Foxworth. Once the daughter of a young gorgeous couple (Corrine and Christopher Foxworth), and the loving older sister of two twins...
In the beautiful lands of greenglenna, virginia, there lived a stunning young woman who goes by the name of Catherine "Dahl" Dollanganger- Foxworth. Once the daughter of a young gorgeous couple (Corrine and Christopher Foxworth), and the loving older sister of two twins -Cory and Carrie and the younger sister of Chris Jr., her life was made to be perfect...that is, until her perfect father dies in a crash and she and her siblings have to live in an attic with their rich, evil grandmother. Just escaping the wretched house of a woman who hates them, the children (excluding the one killed at the grandmothers house, cory) find themselves at a doctors house. Cathy soon falls in love with the doctor and a few other guys including her mothers new husband. As cathy journies through a painstaking path to love and self peace, she stops along the way for a treat. She bows to get revenge on the woman who hurt her the most. Her dear old mommy. Taking everything she has one by one, cathy shows her mom what real betrayal and revenge is-- and she wont stop until she gets her fill. Oh yes. Revenge is sweet...but the aftertaste...is bitter....

posted by 6456684 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Nook version has issues

Intriguing tale and part 2 of the Dollanganger series. The nook version is troublesome, though. There are so many spelling and typing errors that it is literally distracting. Several passages were butchered so bad that it's impossible to decipher what was intended...cal...
Intriguing tale and part 2 of the Dollanganger series. The nook version is troublesome, though. There are so many spelling and typing errors that it is literally distracting. Several passages were butchered so bad that it's impossible to decipher what was intended...call me crazy, but I like to be able to read what I paid for, and the numerous errors prevented that. To give you but one example, the title of the book as it shows on the nook is "Petals Won the Wind." They couldn't even get the title right!

posted by PierreLeChat on October 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Beautiful, intruiging, dramatic and full of betrayal...

    In the beautiful lands of greenglenna, virginia, there lived a stunning young woman who goes by the name of Catherine "Dahl" Dollanganger- Foxworth. Once the daughter of a young gorgeous couple (Corrine and Christopher Foxworth), and the loving older sister of two twins -Cory and Carrie and the younger sister of Chris Jr., her life was made to be perfect...that is, until her perfect father dies in a crash and she and her siblings have to live in an attic with their rich, evil grandmother. Just escaping the wretched house of a woman who hates them, the children (excluding the one killed at the grandmothers house, cory) find themselves at a doctors house. Cathy soon falls in love with the doctor and a few other guys including her mothers new husband. As cathy journies through a painstaking path to love and self peace, she stops along the way for a treat. She bows to get revenge on the woman who hurt her the most. Her dear old mommy. Taking everything she has one by one, cathy shows her mom what real betrayal and revenge is-- and she wont stop until she gets her fill. Oh yes. Revenge is sweet...but the aftertaste...is bitter....

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great continuation of Flowers In The Attic but in desperate need of editing!!

    I was so excited to read this sequel to Flowers In The Attic that I could not hardly wait to get this book! It was not as good as the first but definitely worth the read to find out what happened in the lives of the children after they escaped the attic. My only complaint ( and it's a biggie!) Who in the heck edited this book? I definitely hope they were not getting paid for their so-called editing skills because they did a poor job! It was so bad and so many mistakes and $ signs where there were supposed to be words that it made it distracting at times to even kerp reading. I thought 'really' they must have gotten a high school drop out to do this job! I hope this is only on the ebook Nook version and not in the paperback. How can mistakes in grammer, spelling and typos like this happen and get published like this? I could only give 4 stars because and it really should have been 3 1/2 but it did not give me that option!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read....

    I thought that this was a great follow up from Flowers in the Attic. I loved how reading the first 2 of this series was like just reading one story. I will be reading the rest of the series later on cause it left me wondering where else this story can go. I def recommend this book to others and have a few of my friends already reading Flowers in the Attic..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Revenge is sweet .

    I loved Petals on the Wind. Full of sex, vengeance, death and drama. I find Cathy irritating sometimes just as I did in Flowers in the Attic. I still love it though. But, if you are buying the book as an ebook, beware that there are a ton of screw ups. Dollar signs and numbers where letters should be, run on sentences, misspelled word, etc. It doesn't mess up the story but is a distraction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    V. C. Andrews sure knew how to tell a story. Wow.

    Revenge was behind every decision Cathy ever made in her life and everything that ever went wrong was blamed on her mother. I can't say that I blamed her and the book would have suffered if it was any different but man if I could learn anything from reading this it would be to forgive and forget. I would never want to live a life consumed by hate. Anyways, this book was excellent. I couldnt put it down. Looking forward to reading the next book in the series and even more from V. C. Andrews. She is fast becoming one of my favorite authors :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Great book!!!

    I loved the second book in the series just as much as the first one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    In this book, the dollanganger's children manage to escape the attic.

    Catherine and Christopher have feelings for each other due to the time they spend hidden away. Carrie is mourning the death of her twin brother, with him gone, she doesn't see the worth of time. Their own mother tried killing them, even if she said it was to get an excuse to get them out of there. Paul Sheffield takes the 3 of them in, and soon falls in love with Catherine.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    PETALS ON THE WIND by V. C. Andrews is an creepy Mystery/Suspens

    PETALS ON THE WIND by V. C. Andrews is an creepy Mystery/Suspense/Thriller. #2 in the "Dollanganger" series, and I feel you should read "Flowers in the Attic" first. This is the sequel to "Flowers in the Attic". Made into a Lifetime Movie.
    The Dollanganger family saga continues in "Petals on The Wind". Filled with horrific sacrifices, family incense, family abuse, and love between siblings. Do not think this is a HEA story, for it is not. It is very creepy, the issues, while, seem unbelievable, and unrealistic to many are probably more real life than readers want to believe. With secrets abound, love just out of reach for the Dollanganger siblings, and a suicide, readers will be turning pages. The movie was very true to the storyline of the book. If you have not watch the movie,I would encourage you to, as well as read this tale of cruelty, and survival. A psychological thriller by a popular storyteller. Not for the faint of heart. A great read! Received for an honest review.
    RATING: 4
    HEAT RATING: HOT
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Silverstar to Silverfang

    Silverfang bounds up to Silverstar and starts thrusting into her. He lets out a howl and she growls. Mmm ughh hhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Ashwinter

    Nodded and padded out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Icefire

    Icefire padded in. She stepped up to Velvetstar. "May I speak with you soon?" She meowed. Her white pelt shone. She turned to Willow. "Hello! I am Icefire. I will take you, if I can, that is." She said. Her eyes were bright and happy.
    <br>
    <p>
    ~Icefire

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Dawnpaw

    /•\ Dawnpaw lunged, barreling Spottedpaw out ofthe currents' path, and nudging him. "Flowerpaw's fine! She's with Velvetstar!" The Silvery Tabby yelped, the cold water pooling mid-leg. "Go!" /•\

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Very entertaining page turner. I saw the movie Flowers in the at

    Very entertaining page turner. I saw the movie Flowers in the attic and then read Petals On The Wind and now I wish I would've read the whole series first. Only thing is that Cathy (the main character/narrator) can get a bit annoying every here and there. She is so needy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Good story just always sad

    These kids can't catch a break. Theres a lesson to be learned and that is you should learn to forgive and not seek out revenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    abigailparker0123123@gmail.com

    Add me. And I like the author's and companies work. RIP V.C. Andrews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    I really enjoyed this series. It's disturbing the way Cathy beh

    I really enjoyed this series. It's disturbing the way Cathy behaves. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Thrilling with a fast plot!

    This book was fast paced, full of suspense. I felt that Cathy learned from each of her relationships, and we still saw how much her past affected her. We learn how people are products of their experiences. I read the book always hoping for a better future for the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cathy's life

    This book starts as the siblings leave the attic, and continues for another 11-12 years. It is very good - I suggest reading it if you enjoyed Flowers in the Attic. There are some technical errors (such as ages of characters) but all in all it kept my attention as well as the first book. It really shows the lasting effect that parents can have on their children. Sometimes I couldn't believe Cathy could be that stupid, though I could see why she wanted vengeance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    Petals on the Wind book 2

    This book seemed a bit disturbing during the first few chapters. After escaping from their attic prison, Chris, Cathy, and Carrie are taken in by a doctor and that's where the planning begins with Cathy slowly being pulled towards the dark side of taking revenge against Corrine and Olivia. Surprising book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3