Customer Reviews for

Petals on the Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 254 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful, intruiging, dramatic and full of betrayal...

In the beautiful lands of greenglenna, virginia, there lived a stunning young woman who goes by the name of Catherine "Dahl" Dollanganger- Foxworth. Once the daughter of a young gorgeous couple (Corrine and Christopher Foxworth), and the loving older sister of two twins...
In the beautiful lands of greenglenna, virginia, there lived a stunning young woman who goes by the name of Catherine "Dahl" Dollanganger- Foxworth. Once the daughter of a young gorgeous couple (Corrine and Christopher Foxworth), and the loving older sister of two twins -Cory and Carrie and the younger sister of Chris Jr., her life was made to be perfect...that is, until her perfect father dies in a crash and she and her siblings have to live in an attic with their rich, evil grandmother. Just escaping the wretched house of a woman who hates them, the children (excluding the one killed at the grandmothers house, cory) find themselves at a doctors house. Cathy soon falls in love with the doctor and a few other guys including her mothers new husband. As cathy journies through a painstaking path to love and self peace, she stops along the way for a treat. She bows to get revenge on the woman who hurt her the most. Her dear old mommy. Taking everything she has one by one, cathy shows her mom what real betrayal and revenge is-- and she wont stop until she gets her fill. Oh yes. Revenge is sweet...but the aftertaste...is bitter....

posted by 6456684 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Nook version has issues

Intriguing tale and part 2 of the Dollanganger series. The nook version is troublesome, though. There are so many spelling and typing errors that it is literally distracting. Several passages were butchered so bad that it's impossible to decipher what was intended...cal...
Intriguing tale and part 2 of the Dollanganger series. The nook version is troublesome, though. There are so many spelling and typing errors that it is literally distracting. Several passages were butchered so bad that it's impossible to decipher what was intended...call me crazy, but I like to be able to read what I paid for, and the numerous errors prevented that. To give you but one example, the title of the book as it shows on the nook is "Petals Won the Wind." They couldn't even get the title right!

posted by PierreLeChat on October 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Awesome

    I read this book in like 3 days!!!!! I loved the book i just got annoyed by cathy a little because she liked broke one guys heart then she went right on to the next one!!! And all the guys she was with they all died i think shenhas some sort of curse or sumthing

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    GRIPPING STORY...

    I could not put this book down! What an amazing plot and in depth characters! WOW is the only word for it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Emotionally Reeling

    I just finished this book the other day after reading piece by piece for over a month. Andrew's books all seem to have so much content that you really have to stop and contemplate what you just read before moving on to the next part. This book is incredible and extremely emotional. Of course seeing as that my favorite character was Carrie, I was a bit torn up towards the end but never the less the final chapter wrapped it up and sort of healed all the open wounds. In this book we meet the amazing doctor Paul and Henny and see what happens to the despicable mother Corrine Winslow. You'll be on the edge of your seat the entire time! Cathy's character really grows as an adult in this book and I am so proud of her (haha). I would compeletly reccommend this book for all ages (mind you there is a lot of sexual content), and I can not wait to read onto the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    THE BEST SERIES I HAVE EVER READ IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!!! ;)

    V.C. Andrews is one of my favorite authors. I oculdn't put it down. Me and my sister enjoyed this series so much. Its so twisted and ingeniously plotted. The names of the books go so well with books. Everything twists and turns into a great story teller to read over and over. Me and my sister are going to read the series again. I'm 13 and this book got me hooked. My grandma, mom, bght it and i read the fisrt couple chapters and i didnt want to stop reading. This series shook me at times and made me sad at the same time. I will always love this series. Greatest series I've ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    Best of VC Andrews!

    I read this for the 1st time just after it was published, when I was about 10. Since then I have re-read it countless times, always finding something new. I just read it again as a married adult and found so much I never noticed before. This is VC Andrews at her very best, and I never thought Flowers in the Attic could be bested. Yet this book, number 2 in the Dollanganger series, never ceases to captivate me. The theme of the story seems to be revenge and redemption, as Cathy works hard to prove she is not unworthy, yet at the same time seeks out vengeance for the many crimes committed against her, and her family. I loved the whole book- there were no slow parts IMO. I felt as if I WERE Cathy and fell in love with Paul, Julian and Bart, and always Chris. I didn't care for the next 2 books in the series as much, perhaps because this book was so good. I still think it would've made an incredible mini-series, but Hollywood messed up and tried to make a movie of the 1st book. In any case, this is definitely the best series Andrews wrote, and luckily she wrote each of the books herself. I still read the VC Andrews books that are written by the author chosen by her family after VC died, but never have I been as enthralled with a book as with Petals on the Wind. I've read this book more than any other in existence and it remains my favorite, no matter how many books I read. Definitely a keeper!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I HAVE READ THIS BOOK AND THE WHOLE DOLLANGANGER/FOXWORTH SERIES COUNTLESS TIMES AND IT SEEMS AS THOUGH THAT EVERY TIME THAT I READ THESE BOOKS THEY BECOME MORE AND MORE INVIGORATING...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 1999

    this was a very good book

    This was a very good book. I read flowers in the attic twice before i read this, and Petals On The Wind was just as good. I also recommend the orphans series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Spoiler (the movie)

    Cathy is in dace class. Her instructors son thinks shes perfect,pretty, and decides to take her to a bar. So he asks her to go to new york with him to dance in the best show. He says yes but she comes home and chris goes into her bedroom and asks her where shes been. She tells him about julian and he kisses her and they lay down on the bed and they have s**. Carrie saw them but they dont know she saw. So the next day she goes to new york with julian. They go into his apartment and he starts to kiss her but she pulls away and sits on the couch. He lays her down strips her and kisses her and says "your neck,your collar bone,your belly. Its all mine, say it say your mine" cathy says "im yours" and they have s**. - Haley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    |Apprentace Den|

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    A dark sequel to Flowers in the Attic. Cathy, Carrie and Chris h

    A dark sequel to Flowers in the Attic. Cathy, Carrie and Chris had survived three years, four months and fifteen days in the attic of a sadistic grandmother who tortured them for the sins of their mother. Their freedom which cost them their youngest brother, cost them more then they ever thought. They were haunted by their childhood, locked in the Attic. Carrie most of all haunted by the rejection of their mother, and loss of her twin brother. Chris worked hard built on his practice and became the doctor he wanted to be.  Chris always believed that his mother was in someway innocent of their treatment. This drove Cathy, from love to love, good to bad situations always trying to reject Chris, and the unnatural love they shared. Cathy drove herself so close to her dreams only her bad choices cost her everything. The compounding nature of her mistakes seemed to balance out her hatred of her mother. When she returned to Foxworth Manner seeking her revenge she would never expect what it cost her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Good read

    The children escaped the attic. But there is truly no escape from the punishment of the attic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2014

    Great book! I didn't have any problem with errors at all I'm gue

    Great book! I didn't have any problem with errors at all I'm guessing they fixed it :) iliked this book even better than the first one I can't wait to read the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Jacob

    Opens the door to a hous that hades had and i whent to a room and locks the doors and screams and cries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Horsecla?

    Wher eis horseclan now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    To all especially Lilywolf!!!

    That is my idiot brother trying to pass as me! He's the one who rped the fake Aurorastar in NorthClan! He does this all under my rper name, Bluepaw. ~Bluepaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Flamewind

    (Who does glittershine rp in rainclan?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Rainpelt

    Is this WindClan?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Navysky

    (Sister's Nook! :D) <p>

    Navysky padded over to Shellpool. "Haven't talked in a while? Areyou okay?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Willowmoon

    She padded in hesitantly. "Uh, hello. May I...join?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Amberspirit

    Amberspirit yawned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8