Customer Reviews for

Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes

Average Rating 4.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

A great book!

My aunt lives in Atlanta, GA and met the author at a book signing. She got an autographed copy of Pete the cat for my son(5) and my daughter(2) to share. They've had it for about a year now...i didn't realized that it hadn't actually been released yet. Needless to say m...
My aunt lives in Atlanta, GA and met the author at a book signing. She got an autographed copy of Pete the cat for my son(5) and my daughter(2) to share. They've had it for about a year now...i didn't realized that it hadn't actually been released yet. Needless to say my kids LOVE this book and our copy came with a cd that reads the story and teaches the kids how to sing the song (that pete sings in the book). We listened to the cd the first time to learn the song and have read it myself ever since. My daughter has already learned the words and what colors his shoes turn through out the book. My son has learned how to spell the colors. I read it to his kindergarten class this week when I was there mystery reader. My daughter just had a birthday and got a print of Pete to hang on her bedroom wall!

The story has simple but very entertaining artwork and a great storyline that teaches the kids about colors, cause and effect, rhythm and it has a great lesson at the end.

I'd recommend it to everyone!

posted by mommyin04 on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Why charge me for a product that does not work on my device?

Awful. My daughter was excited for this title and after they took my money, I was informed that it would not work on my device and was unable to download. The book is fantastic, I blame B&N for poor customer service. That is the reason for the poor rating.

posted by 8838450 on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book!

    My aunt lives in Atlanta, GA and met the author at a book signing. She got an autographed copy of Pete the cat for my son(5) and my daughter(2) to share. They've had it for about a year now...i didn't realized that it hadn't actually been released yet. Needless to say my kids LOVE this book and our copy came with a cd that reads the story and teaches the kids how to sing the song (that pete sings in the book). We listened to the cd the first time to learn the song and have read it myself ever since. My daughter has already learned the words and what colors his shoes turn through out the book. My son has learned how to spell the colors. I read it to his kindergarten class this week when I was there mystery reader. My daughter just had a birthday and got a print of Pete to hang on her bedroom wall!

    The story has simple but very entertaining artwork and a great storyline that teaches the kids about colors, cause and effect, rhythm and it has a great lesson at the end.

    I'd recommend it to everyone!

    73 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I purchased this for my three year old granddaughter. It is really cute and she loves it. The interaction is fun and she is learning her colors and enjoying to read.

    39 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    contemporary- upbeat with a great message

    Great for any age up through elementary. Kids will sing along and learn the verses the first time through. Interactive visuals hold interest. Overall fun book with great story of looking on the bright side!

    36 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Pete the cat loves his white shoes, teaches colors and more.

    Pete the cat is a cool dude and he has new white shoes. He loves his new white shoes and sings a song about them. But during the course of the day Pete's adventures take him places that turn his shoes first red, then blue,brown and green. Pete, being cool, takes these changes in stride and comes out squeaky clean and sporting white shoes again and singing his song along the way.

    Wonderful story. Great illustration. A character you can't help but like in Pete the cat. A read over and over again book for young children. Highly recommended. Five stars.

    32 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Son loves it

    Purchased for nook color. He loves this book. Read it three times in a row, sings along and is interactive with it. Well worth the money

    28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    Bedtime staple at our house

    My son (age Two) adores this book. We read it every night, and he reads and sings right along with me. He enjoys the pictures and likes to point out something on every page (bird, red car, hot drink, tractor, etc). He has a guitar that he plays while I do the singing about the shoes. He has also picked up on the repetitive phrases of the book (Goodness, No!) and enjoys chiming in with those. It's definitely a favorite in our home. I'd recommend it to anyone with small children for a fun family read.

    25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!

    This is the most adorable and FUN book I've ever shared with my kids. Every child needs to have this book, but make sure you get the CD with it. I bought the book with CD and then got the Nook ebook. The Nook book has a few extra sound effects that really make it extra fun. It only took a few readings and my daughter had the whole thing memorized.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    Why charge me for a product that does not work on my device?

    Awful. My daughter was excited for this title and after they took my money, I was informed that it would not work on my device and was unable to download. The book is fantastic, I blame B&N for poor customer service. That is the reason for the poor rating.

    20 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Pete Cat

    This book is so funny when you hear the singing version

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Not for iPad

    Wish I knew this before I purchased it. How can I find out if the book is only compatible with nook color, before I buy?

    16 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    I am a Pre-k Special Education Teacher in Miami, FL. All I hear

    I am a Pre-k Special Education Teacher in Miami, FL.
    All I hear in my class is "We want to read, Pete the Cat." " I love my red shoes, I love my red shoes"... singing along....
    My students can not put this book down, the vibrant colors and illustration are eye catching to children. My favorite is the simple wording and rhyming phrases through out the story. Keeps kids motivated in the story. By the end of the story the kids were saying the phrases on their own and labeling the colors. I am so happy I found more Pete the cat books. I will be adding to my collection.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Awesome

    I haven't fallen in love with a new book like this in years! It's awesome with the animations and music on NOOK.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Really cute book!

    This is just a really cute kids book. Both my kids love it and they're 5 and 9 years old!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Love it

    We got this as a special of the day on Barnes and Noble.
    My kids love it. I love seeing them read.... I say it's a win win
    I will be purchasing other Pete the cat books soon.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Very fun book!

    Great story, great song, great interaction. My 4 year old saw this in the nook shop and recognized it from preschool. Hearing him sing along with the book is too cute. Expensive compared to some other nook books, but glad i bought it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    My 3 year old grandson loves this book! The read along version

    My 3 year old grandson loves this book! The read along version is well done and the music is catchy. He likes to say the lines with the kids in the book. The interaction pages are fun too. I would recommend this book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    2 year old sings along

    My son adores this book! He asks for it all the time. And the moral? It's all good. ;-)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Good book, kids love it.

    Whether its read to them or the book reads to them, kids love this book. Animations and song they love. My child will replay the song parts over and over.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Love

    I loved these books when they first came out im 8 i love it so much soon i want to be come a singer because of it

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Kids love this book!

    My children love this book. After experienceing it on the Nook, mom reading it is just not good enough anymore!
    They will walk around the house singing the catchy tune.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9