Customer Reviews for

Peter Pan in Scarlet

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!

This is the only "authorized" sequel of Peter Pan. I wasn't sure about reading it at first becuase some things are precious and should never be tampered with. This book couldn't be more different from the first but has the a child-like nature. By child-like I mean, r...
This is the only "authorized" sequel of Peter Pan. I wasn't sure about reading it at first becuase some things are precious and should never be tampered with. This book couldn't be more different from the first but has the a child-like nature. By child-like I mean, remember when you were a kid and every time you went into make-believe it was so real and so serious that you were truly in another world? Well this book takes you back to that place, it so childishly real and serious that I was lost in it... A lost girl if you will, I forgot where I was, who I was in the best possible way. Read this book you won't regret it.

posted by curled-up-with-a-book on March 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fairly Trite

It's too bad that Geraldine McCaughrean has to say that she is the 'official' author to the sequel to James Barrie's original story of 'Peter Pan' because it's just not that good. It's certainly not as entertaining OR as well written as Dave Barry's sequels whether 'of...
It's too bad that Geraldine McCaughrean has to say that she is the 'official' author to the sequel to James Barrie's original story of 'Peter Pan' because it's just not that good. It's certainly not as entertaining OR as well written as Dave Barry's sequels whether 'official' or not. It just smacks of one-up-man-ship on the part of the author. Let the book speak for itself. This reviewer is glad to say that I can't wait for yet another of Dave's sequels to hit the shelves! You will actually like this book if you liked 'Hook'. Somewhat similar in that the characters are grown up and go back to Neverland.

posted by Anonymous on March 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!

    This is the only "authorized" sequel of Peter Pan. I wasn't sure about reading it at first becuase some things are precious and should never be tampered with. This book couldn't be more different from the first but has the a child-like nature. By child-like I mean, remember when you were a kid and every time you went into make-believe it was so real and so serious that you were truly in another world? Well this book takes you back to that place, it so childishly real and serious that I was lost in it... A lost girl if you will, I forgot where I was, who I was in the best possible way. Read this book you won't regret it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Christina Tsichlis for TeensReadToo.com

    PETER PAN IN SCARLET by Geraldine McCaughrean should be read by every fan of J.M. Barrie's PETER PAN. <BR/><BR/>The reader will return to the age at which they first read the original and re-experience the wonder of seeing the world through the eyes of Peter Pan and his gang of comrades in adventure. It is the first approved sequel to the original tale, and the author manages to capture the style and excitement of Mr. Barrie's classic. It is remarkable in every sense of the word and, like the original, proceeds go to the Great Ormond Street Children's Hospital and not to Barrie's estate. <BR/><BR/>Set in the 1920s, nightmares are slipping out of Neverland and into the real world to find Wendy and the original Lost Boys, who are now respectable adults with children of their own. They revert to children in a magical way and the adventure begins. <BR/><BR/>Neverland is no longer a land of eternal summer. It is currently Autumn, something that has not happened before. When Wendy and the Lost Boys make it back to Neverland, they meet Peter, who is alone but still the essence of Boy. After fighting through the denial of Peter, who loves Neverland in reds and golds as much as he does in shades of green, it is up to them to save it. <BR/><BR/>They face their worst fears, remember who they once were, and deal with the sadness of loss and the joy of love with a youthful exuberance that J.M. Barrie would be proud of. His creations are treated with the utmost respect and tenderness by an author who is truly in love with her story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    peter pans mine!!!!!!!

    perer is my disney boyfriend so ha ha. This book is awsome i feel like i wanna be wendy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    LOVE IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I tried to read it in second grade but it was too big. I tried again the summer before 4th grade amd loved it. I took the book everywhere because I couldn't stop reading it. It's the best book ever !!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    I love this book.

    This book is great but it does get kinda scsry. The basis of the story is that wendy snd the lost boys return to neverland because something had gone wrong. Towards the cend of story they find a great treasure but be warned. When vhence you put on someone elses clothing in neverland you become that person. Oh and you musnt trust the one who owns the carnival for that who is thought to be dead is not. The book might be kinda intense for younger kids because peter pan turns into cap- whoops. Almost gave away thr secret. Hee hee hee.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    Fairly Trite

    It's too bad that Geraldine McCaughrean has to say that she is the 'official' author to the sequel to James Barrie's original story of 'Peter Pan' because it's just not that good. It's certainly not as entertaining OR as well written as Dave Barry's sequels whether 'official' or not. It just smacks of one-up-man-ship on the part of the author. Let the book speak for itself. This reviewer is glad to say that I can't wait for yet another of Dave's sequels to hit the shelves! You will actually like this book if you liked 'Hook'. Somewhat similar in that the characters are grown up and go back to Neverland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I love this book

    This author does a really great job with using the real story of peter pan and putting a cool realistic/science fiction twist on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Wassup!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book it is epic!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Peter pan is my husband so sorry 2 dissapoint u all out there who like him but he is mine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    A good sequel to Peter Pan

    This book is a great follow up to J M Barrie's classic novel.The plot had alot of twwist and turns which was perfect for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Legend Lives On!

    J.M. Barrie is my favorite author and I don't believe anyone could match his ability to make his readers smile, sniffle and think hard all at once. "Peter and Wendy" appeals to people of all ages because it deals with the conflicts we have faced, are facing or will soon face as we move through the stages of life. "Peter Pan in Scarlet" does not accomplish the same objective, but McCaughrean's writing is faithful to many aspects of Barrie's. Children will laugh at her book, adults will smile, and betwixt-and-betweens who appreciate Peter Pan's character and struggles will understand what the story accomplishes for him. It does not pretend to be as psychologically revealing as the original novel, but in it Peter Pan and his Legend are developed in a delightful way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC

    I LOVED this book. When I first picked it up, I wasn't so sure, because some things shouldn't be messed with. But this book was amazing, written truly in the spirit of the original J.M. Barrie, but it makes a bit more sense. :D It was a wonderful story, that I already can't wait to reread!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have to say that there are some really great snippets of writing in here that tap into the mind of a child. Everything has its own personality, whether alive or not, and reading those parts made me feel like I was five years old again and snuggled up with my favorite picture book. However, it took me about six months to finish this book because it was almost TOO sweet and I wouldn't pick it up again until weeks later. Plus, I did not like the direction the author took the characters--I feel it ruined the storybook magic of Peter Pan. I would recommend it for those little bits of clever writing, but not if you are looking for a book you can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2