Customer Reviews for

Peter and the Starcatchers (Starcatchers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 383 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(295)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

It's always interesting, at least to me, to read a book that is the retelling of a beloved childhood tale. Whether it be a retold fairy tale such as SNOW WHITE or SLEEPING BEAUTY, or a classic such as PETER PAN, these new spins on old stories usually fall into one of tw...
It's always interesting, at least to me, to read a book that is the retelling of a beloved childhood tale. Whether it be a retold fairy tale such as SNOW WHITE or SLEEPING BEAUTY, or a classic such as PETER PAN, these new spins on old stories usually fall into one of two categories--terribly bad remakes, or truly amazing, imaginative stories with new twists. Thankfully, authors Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson have turned PETER AND THE STARCATCHERS into the latter.

In this rendering, Peter is an orphan about the ship Never Land. He's become the leader of sorts to the other young orphans who have been sold into slavery to King Zarboff the Third, evil ruler of Rundoon. Not long after Peter and his boys board the boat, he meets Molly Aster. The fourteen-year old daughter of the new Ambassador of Rundoon is unlike any other girl Peter has ever met. Actually, the only other girl he remembers seeing in a very long time was the daughter of the Headmaster of St. Norbert's Home for Wayward Boys.

Peter's increasing infatuation with Molly is challenged when she lets him in on a secret--she is an apprentice Starcatcher, one who guards the magical starstuff from the Others who would use it to do harm. Starstuff is magic that, when it falls to Earth, it brings about increased intelligence, happiness, and even the ability to fly. Although Peter is, at first, quite skeptical of Molly and her Starcatcher business, he soon learns that she's being nothing but truthful.

Add to the story the dreaded Pirate Black Stache and the evil pirate crew of the ship the Sea Devil, and you have an interesting story. Throw in the a shipwreck, a missing cargo of starstuff, mermaids, a flying crocodile, and island dwellers that just may be cannibals, and the story goes from interesting to amazing. This is a remarkable retelling, or possibly even a prequel, to the well known story of PETER PAN. Kudos to both Mr. Barry and Mr. Pearson for a highly entertaining and thoroughly engrossing read!

posted by TeensReadToo on November 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever

It is a good start to this epic series

posted by 11334149 on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 384 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    It's always interesting, at least to me, to read a book that is the retelling of a beloved childhood tale. Whether it be a retold fairy tale such as SNOW WHITE or SLEEPING BEAUTY, or a classic such as PETER PAN, these new spins on old stories usually fall into one of two categories--terribly bad remakes, or truly amazing, imaginative stories with new twists. Thankfully, authors Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson have turned PETER AND THE STARCATCHERS into the latter. <BR/><BR/>In this rendering, Peter is an orphan about the ship Never Land. He's become the leader of sorts to the other young orphans who have been sold into slavery to King Zarboff the Third, evil ruler of Rundoon. Not long after Peter and his boys board the boat, he meets Molly Aster. The fourteen-year old daughter of the new Ambassador of Rundoon is unlike any other girl Peter has ever met. Actually, the only other girl he remembers seeing in a very long time was the daughter of the Headmaster of St. Norbert's Home for Wayward Boys. <BR/><BR/>Peter's increasing infatuation with Molly is challenged when she lets him in on a secret--she is an apprentice Starcatcher, one who guards the magical starstuff from the Others who would use it to do harm. Starstuff is magic that, when it falls to Earth, it brings about increased intelligence, happiness, and even the ability to fly. Although Peter is, at first, quite skeptical of Molly and her Starcatcher business, he soon learns that she's being nothing but truthful. <BR/><BR/>Add to the story the dreaded Pirate Black Stache and the evil pirate crew of the ship the Sea Devil, and you have an interesting story. Throw in the a shipwreck, a missing cargo of starstuff, mermaids, a flying crocodile, and island dwellers that just may be cannibals, and the story goes from interesting to amazing. This is a remarkable retelling, or possibly even a prequel, to the well known story of PETER PAN. Kudos to both Mr. Barry and Mr. Pearson for a highly entertaining and thoroughly engrossing read!

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Read for All Ages

    I'd seen this book many times at book stores and never given it a second glance. One day I decided to read the summary on the back and decided it looked slightly interesting. When I read it, I absolutely loved it. I've never really been into Peter Pan, but I thought these books were amazing. They had a perfect balance of fantasy and action. I'm only twelve, but I could see myself enjoying this if I was either much younger or much older. It's not violent when there's action and it's never to wordy or long. I would reccomend this book to anyone!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Someone Unknown Here?

    WOW! Best book EVER!!! It's my top favorite! I don't know what to say because I'm speachless! I love to read and this book was the best book that I've read since I was three! (I was three when I started reading.) That's why it deserves 5 of the brightest stars! Everything in it was good! It's good for anyone that can read! I'm eleven and I enjoyed it SO much!



    WARNING: there's some violence in this book and it says one swear word so be careful with what you read!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    YOU HAVE TO READ THIS ONE AND THE SEQUELS!!!! IT IS THE #1 OF MY

    YOU HAVE TO READ THIS ONE AND THE SEQUELS!!!!
    IT IS THE #1 OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS!!!! YOU WILL ABSOULUTLY LOVE IT!!!!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Good

    This is an excellent book. I reccomend this to readers in middle school and above. It is a little boing in the beginning but other than that its really good. It is confusing in the beginning because you dont know whats going on until one of the later chapters. Its also a page turner because it really keeps you guessing until the very end. Read this book!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Peter and the Starcatchers is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This seems like a very interesting book that I can't wait to read! It is adds a cool twist to the classical Peter Pan story.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Perfect Peter Pan Prequel

    Well written and fun! This is a book for any age reader. It begins the story of the Lost Boys with a look at their humble Dickens-like beginnings. Their adventure takes off and weaves the reader through a make- believe world filled with characters for the ages. I look forward to the rest of the series and will make sure to see the Broaway version in 2012.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sure to Captivate Your Mind and Steal Your Heart!

    "Peter and the Starcatchers," by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson is the first novel in the best-selling "Starcatchers" series. The series centers around world-renowned hero Peter Pan and answers all mysterious questions surrounding him: How did Peter come to Never Land? Who is Peter Pan, truly? Where did he come from? Authors Barry and Pearson do a fantastic job of making the story exciting and impossible to put down, as they reveal the full story of Peter's past in a cool, never-before-imagined way! Filled to the brim with mystery, suspense, humor, and everything else that makes a book worth reading, this amazing adventure is sure to captivate your mind and steal your heart!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    The Greatest book ever!!

    A definate page turner I did not want to put the book down. There is a suprise on every page!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Wow

    That is all i can say. Wow. Wow...wow....wow......wow!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Read this book

    I could not put this book down

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Hna student

    I read all four of the books. U think u knew the famous peter pan wel u know very feq about peter if u have not read these books. It starts before peter ever meets tinker bell or captain Hook. It doesn't end with Hook either. There is more friends and enemys u ever knew about. If i got my twin sister to read this and love the book then u well love it too. I was all ways running to get the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Cant wait to read it!

    I am definatly going to read this im ten, finished the hunger games at 9 years ( lol ) , read the whole ink heart series at 9 and 10. Don't you think I can handle it?



    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Great!

    This is a great and entertaining read for those of all ages. WONDERFUL.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Loved it!

    So I was in the mood for something light and just a bit brainless, and dove into my daughter’s shelves for the first book in Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson’s Peter Pan prequels, called “Peter and the Starcatchers.” And oh, what fun this was.

    The story is essentially the adventure that got Peter and the Lost Boys to Neverland, introduced his pirate nemesis (here called The Black Stache, as he’s pre-hook), and birthed Tinkerbell. Barry and Pearson did an awesome job of creating characters full of personality and a thirst for adventure, and villains worthy of the name.

    This book was a joy to read. It’s absolutely suitable for kids (for whom it was written) as well as adults craving light, fun adventure.

    4 of 5 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME!

    I read this book a while back, and it has been one of my favorite books since then! I have always loved Peter Pan, so the prospect of a prequel was amazing! Peter and the Starcatchers, along with the other two books i the trilogy, were all fantastic. I love the adventure, the action, the humor, and the little bit of romance. The ending of Secret to Rundoon made me cry (in a good kid of way). If you love fantasy, adventure, Peter Pan, or just plain a really good big book trilogy, READ THIS BOOK. And if you don't, READ THIS BOOK! :) My point: It rocks!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Starcatcher

    Peter and the Starcatchers is a thrilling adventure that takes you through the many stages of how Peter Pan came to be. When Peter is sailing on ships he makes a new exciting friend named Molly. Peter and Molly have to go through many phases to protect a treasure that everyone wants. The only reason that Black Stache (Captin Hook) wants the treasure is because it has some magical quality about it. So start reading the books so you can get your magic to fly you through the exciting adventures.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Peter and The Starcatchers begins with Peter, an orphan raised a

    Peter and The Starcatchers begins with Peter, an orphan raised at St. Norberts Home for Wayward Boys. Peter is an adventurous but nosy teen. 
    A leader at heart, Peter is the head of all the boys at St. Norberts. Peter and the other orphans are shipped off on a boat called the Neverland for five weeks with very little to eat. Peter meets Molly, the headmasters daughter, a starcatcher after the treasure.
    My favorite part in the book is when Slank and Little Richard try and talk to the &quot;she-fish&quot; but they swim away.
    I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys more mature retellings of fables.
    Finally, Peter and The Starcatchers is a perfect retelling of Peter Pan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    OK so far, but the text is messed up.

    The chapter "The Messenger" is all messed up. It keeps repeating the same pages and never lets me get past the page with the picture. If I do it keeps going back 3 pages as if on a loop. I had to go to Contents and just start with the next chapter.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Amazing

    Get this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 384 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20